We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Ranked #15 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has amazingly friendly staff who are more than willing to make you feel so welcomed and comfortable. For the price, the room is very nice and the beds comfortable. Be sure to request foam pillows through the concierge service - the regular pillows are too flat. I'd recommend this hotel for its location, amazing staff, and proximity to downtown Houston and the Houston Medical Center. Paladora's restaurant/bar is okay but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 688 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. My father was having surgery at the Methodist Hospital, which was connected to our hotel. Upon check-in, everyone was pleasant from valet parking, to walking in the door & being greated with water, to checking in to our room. We were suprised how big the rooms were, we had a room with 2 queen sized beds! I was totally surprised by the gym that was in the hotel. It had 4 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 stationary bikes that all had their own tv's attached to the machine. There were 10 different weight machines, as well as free weights to use! There was water, fresh fruit, newspapers, earphones, and the best part was nice cold towels to use after your workout! Right off of the gym is the pool area! It's a decently sized pool which is indoors, but there is a patio that you can walk out onto if you'd like to catch some rays! All in all, it was a great experience & will definitely stay there again and again! Also, the zoo is a 10 minute walk from to hotel- if you are looking for activities to do!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When I provided the feedback below to Marriott, the operations manager called me and discussed the issue. He personally committed to correcting their processes in the future. He also made adjustments to my charges. The response from the hotel management was excellent and they appear to be committed to correcting the problem but it did occur..
On the first night (about 5 pm), I checked into the hotel and checked our room. I then went across the street to the hospital where my son was a patient. Later that evening (about 9) my wife went to the hotel room to rest. Someone else was in our room! My wife contacted the front desk and was assigned a different room.
We were told this was due to us not leaving any belongings in the room (we were traveling lightly and keeping most of our belongings in my son’s hospital room across the street). The housekeeping staff reported the room empty and it was assigned to someone else.
The next morning I reserved the room for another night. I told the front desk we would be at the hospital most of the day and the room would appear to be empty but we did need it in the evening. That evening (after 10 p.m.), I was asleep in the room when another guest used a key to enter the room. He promptly left and went to the front desk to get another room.
Again the management responded extremely well and appears to be committed to preventing future occurrences like this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcrbcsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel has the most amazing staff. From the valet/shuttle service people to the front desk people...all was outstanding. The restaurants were good with tasty food that is reasonably priced, as well as convenient. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and bedding. I have only good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestotravel5272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This centrally located Marriott is walking distance from Baylor College of Medicine, UT Medical Center and MD Anderson cancer center and the "Museum District". It does not have the remote, impersonal feel of many airport Marriotts - the staff are welcoming and friendly from the moment you step out of the car. The rooms are nicely configured with a very comfortable bed. No minibar in the room, but the hotel bar on the 2nd floor is nice, with sofa seating near the bar. Fitness center on the 4th floor is small, but has several treadmills, ellipticals and weights. Small swimming pool and jacuzzi is in the next room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk61-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are visiting the Texas Medical Center, this hotel can't be beat for its convenience. The room was nice and the hotel was in decent shape. Good hotel for business travel. The cell service in my room was a bit spotty, but the wireless internet was fast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelikiespi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travel for business 25-35% of the time and I stay in a lot of hotels. It is important to travelers to come to a hotel with friendly service and a smile. That is EXACTLY what this hotel displays! It is hot outside, I had a long trip and a long meeting...I was greeted with a smile and felt like they went the extra mile for me even though I have never stayed here before.

I was very impressed and I am coming back into town next month, guess where I am going to stay....right here.

What a difference customer service and a smile makes.

This is one of the best Marriott crews I have met, and I stay at a lot of Marriotts! Especially Melissa at the front desk...she is service with a smile and totally has the gift of hospitality! Thanks for making a bad day into a good one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LnicoleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
468 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District

Address: 6580 Fannin Street, Driveway Entrance on 1730 Dryden Road, Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#85 Business Hotel in Houston
#87 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $169 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly across from the largest medical center in the world, Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District provides incredible convenience to top health care institutions including MD Anderson Cancer Center, Texas Children's Hospital and Houston Methodist Hospital. Our hotel in Houston, Texas is the ultimate retreat, featuring sleek guest rooms with high-speed internet and luxury bedding. During free time in Houston, get your heart rate pumping at our nicely appointed fitness center, then cool down with a tranquil swim in our indoor pool. Explore the best of Houston on the MetroRail just outside our front door or take a quick ride to top Houston attractions such as the Hermann Park, Museum of Natural Science or the Children’s Museum, all less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing