We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houston Marriott Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Ranked #63 of 500 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first stay at the Marriott Medical Center. It is ideally situated on Fannin, with easy walking distance to all the hospitals in the TMC complex. As noted by other readers, there's a light rail station immediately in front of the hotel, so you can zip downtown or to the Reliant Center. And if you're here for visiting or treatment at any of the hospitals, this is an ideal spot. And if you like coffee, well, you've come to the right spot. There's a Starbucks in the lobby of the hotel. And there's a Starbucks in the next block, and for good measure, there's a Starbucks three blocks away. But you can't live on coffee alone. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. The breakfast was good. We ventured to the restaurant for dinner after an exhausting day of appointments and had some rather good crayfish bisque followed by a salmon dish. when the waiter asked how was the salmon, we said a little overcooked. The staff then asked to replace the item but we had eaten most of it, so we were complaining with a full stomach. The maître d insisted on offering us a complimentary dessert - vanilla ice cream, very good, and then discounted our bill. The salmon wasn't that overdone, but they were insistent and wanted to leave us with a good impression. They succeeded.
The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel room was not large, but it was a comfortable bed and very clean. We had a quiet night and would consider a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    173
    84
    29
    13
See reviews for
114
56
33
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed in $59/night motels with more amenities. The only advantage I can identify is location. The train is right out front. It was clean; however, our room didn't get cleaned until 3pm or later, except the day we were checking out. They knocked before 9am that day and it was the only day we could sleep in a bit. The air conditioning in the room blows so hard that it seemed cold even when it was heating. At this price, there should at least be a magnifying mirror in the tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The young lady representing the brand and probably her genuine personality was refreshing. I only wish I could recall her name to properly acknowledge her level of professionalism worthy of exemplary praise.
The facilities were only fair and dated. Marriott should put their best face or facility available in a world class med center, and in near downtown Houston. The price for the accommodations were excessive for the "only average" experience. The facility was clean,however; and the staff was excellent. I would probably not stay there again unless rates were more in line with class of hotel or should the Marriott Company invest in this property's improvement and at a level commensurate with the rates charged to the consumer. Moreover, if Marriott cannot provide the special rates associated with those advertised for MD Anderson patients they should sit on the bench as uninvolved and non-supportive of their medical neighbors and community. In other words if you cannot fulfill a commitment...don't commit, Shameless.

Room Tip: Shop around, for only a little more money you can stay at the Four Seasons and only blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
637 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the medical center. Across the street from Methodist Hosipital, walking distance to St. Luke's and Childrens and easy access to all other hospitals. Also the Light Rail station is in front of hotel "TMC/Dryden stop" which makes easy access to Reliant Stadium. We were in town for the rodeo and used the light rail. Parking is $9 a day in the Scurlock Tower garage (self park). Valet parking is $22 (ugh!). Check in was easy but our keys did not work the room. Made a trip downstairs and they did the cards again -- still didn't work. The front desk responded quickly (especially since they knew we were trying to get to the rodeo) with Security (who let us in). When they realized the lock had problems they quickly moved us to another room on the same floor. Great service. The conceirge lounge is small (they use for evening service but use one of the restaurants in the morning) but the service was nice. Complimentary water bottles! Internet is $12.95 a day (ouch) but free to gold and platinum members of Marriott Rewards. The bathroom is tiny! Difficult to manuever for two people getting ready at the same time. The bed was comfy and the room has a refrigerator (although it hummed overnight). The service outweighed the other issues and the hotel met our needs for a rate of $107 a night. Wouldn't pay over this for the size of room you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting any of the hospitals at Texas Medical Center. The front desk staff are exceptional. My flight to Houston was cancelled at the last minute which caused me to miss one night's stay of my booking. The hotel staff graciously changed my booking without any fuss or charge. They were very friendly and informative. When I arrived, my key card to my room did not work, and for the inconvenience they waived the internet fee, without me even asking! The room itself was clean and comfortable. The staff working at the valet / taxi / shuttle area are very polite and courteous. The free shuttle is a great service which not only takes you to the hospitals, but several nice restaurants in the vicinity (e.g Rice Village area), and pretty much anywhere within a 2 mile radius, including the Holocaust museum. The front desk will provide you with a list of all the restaurants the shuttle can take you to. The only downside, is the Starbucks in the lobby has limited hours, however, there is another Starbucks outside, literally 30 seconds away. Also, the wireless internet connection was a little unreliable, but I was able to connect to the Methodist Hospital wi-fi from my room. THere are computers in the lobby from which you can print your boarding pass. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a mid-level floor (not too high) as it can take a while for the elevator if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RP_traveller_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Weekend trip to Houston for the Houston LIvestock and Rodeo with an added plus, The Band Perry Concert. Made reservations at Mariott Medical Center and was very pleased with this hotel Was greeted by a caring person that handled the checkin with professionalism. They also let us check in early which was a plus due to we had luggage in the auto and was hesitate about leaving it in the auto with the large crowds. Check out was a plus also, the desk clerk asked if there was anything to make our stay more pleasurable. Room was very clean, only was on a fitted sheet for the pull out couch, I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here with my son to visit Rice University. The location was excellent with easy access to the university. We also went to Reliant Stadium for a football game. The best part was the light rail, which stops right out front, also stops down by Reliant, so no traffic to fight! The concierge floor was closed for the weekend, but other than that, a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
University Place
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center

Property: Houston Marriott Medical Center
Address: 6580 Fannin St, Houston, TX 77030-2708
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#85 Business Hotel in Houston
#87 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing