We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems; great location for TMC, Rice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District
Ranked #13 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a pretty standard Marriott property, no better, no worse. It is connected directy to the Texas Medical Center/Methodist via a skybridge. The fitness center is bright, pretty modern, with an adjacent indoor pool. You are right in the Medical Complex, with the Rice Campus a block down. TV, internet worked fine, typical Marriott rates. Most of the negative reviews seem to be from people under stress dealing with medical issues; my experience was fine, and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 708 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of Marriott Hotels from coast to coast in the U.S.and this one is one of the best.Not just for the rooms,because I hav'nt had a room I did'nt like in all the Marriotts I've stayed,(The beds are very comfortable)but for the exceptional service provided by the staff at the front desk,and the conceirge. The conceirge floor was over the top!(No pun intended)Evelyn and Jose were amazing to say the least,They do an exceptional job at making their guests comfortable and meeting all thier needs and more,The food was excellent ,and Jose and Evelyn were like family.I will miss them,and I hope to see them again next year.Also,the breakfast in the conceirge is very good.The staff is very friendly,and the omlete guys are fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've stayed here several times, and the problems I note here are consistent. The heat/ac in the rooms is not auto adjustable, so it is difficult to make comfortable.

The hotel is very noisy. There is audible, almost industrial, hum in all of the rooms I have stayed in.

Internet and cable tv works poorly, weak, flakey signals.

Bedding not comfortable and furnishings seem old- rooms are generally unattractive.

There have been elevator repair issues several times, sometimes it can take a while to get out of hotel.

I frequent Marriott's all over the world. This one needs some attention, or perhaps it should rebrand.

Staff is pretty good though, i've always been treated well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JrMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is an update on an earlier review that I did on this hotel in April 2012. Everything about that review is still accurate, but I wanted to add that this time I used the free shuttle to go to MD Anderson. It was very convenient and the wait was short, even though this was in the morning when they were busy and I had to wait for a 2nd shuttle since the first was full already. Also, in the afternoon, it was a short and easy 10 minute walk back from MD Anderson to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I had breakfast and charged to my room, but when I checked out 10 minutes later, the charge was not on my bill. Rather than delaying my departure to get the charge added, they simply waived the cost of the meal, a nice and thoughtful gesture and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice place to stay with courteous staff and extra perks. The evening concierge staff (Evelyn and Jose) are great. They make you feel very welcome and look forward to coming back. They are always willing to help. The breakfast staff in the concierge lounge are also very courteous. The omelete is made to your specifications. I am there every 2-3 weeks for work.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and had a pleasant stay. Room was clean, small bathroom but clean so not a deal breaker just surprising. Gym was nice, had a good selection of weights and cardio equipment. Great location. i was in a hurry and left my flat iron in my room when I had to leave for the day. I was coming back to the hotel because I had them keep my bags. I called the hotel and they directed me to lost and found, they went to look for my flat iron and called me back saying they in fact found it and would be at the front desk when I come back to get my bags. Eased my mind and very helpful, thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekahsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was here for only one night so not too much to tell. The room itself was typical Marriott. Nice, clean and rather large actually. I will give the following observations

Parking seemed difficult. Its basically valet and it bottlenecks to one or two lanes. If you are trying to get in and out quickly or often, think twice. It took me 10 minutes to get my car from valet. Nothing against the valets who were fast and profesional but I think there hands are tied.

The restaurants were large and had above average food. I was not there long enough to use the gym so unfortunately I can review that.

I would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurphOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 517 in Houston
485 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District

Address: 6580 Fannin Street, Driveway Entrance on 1730 Dryden Road, Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#40 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#85 Business Hotel in Houston
#87 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $172 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly across from the largest medical center in the world, Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District provides incredible convenience to top health care institutions including MD Anderson Cancer Center, Texas Children's Hospital and Houston Methodist Hospital. Our hotel in Houston, Texas is the ultimate retreat, featuring sleek guest rooms with high-speed internet and luxury bedding. During free time in Houston, get your heart rate pumping at our nicely appointed fitness center, then cool down with a tranquil swim in our indoor pool. Explore the best of Houston on the MetroRail just outside our front door or take a quick ride to top Houston attractions such as the Hermann Park, Museum of Natural Science or the Children’s Museum, all less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott Medical Center/Museum District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Medical Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing