We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crowne Plaza stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #75 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Being a loyal IHG brands customer I have stayed at many Crowne Plaza's over the years and this particular CP stands toward the top of favorites .
The staff are absolutely great,always friendly and helpful.
All of the perks are fabulous as well ie:wifi,breakfast etc...
The location is also a big plus imo...

Room Tip: ask for club floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Hello CarolinaCoopers,
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hearthat you enjoyed your recent stay with us! It's great to hear that you are an IHG rewards member and that you take advantages of all the perks associated with it! We appreciate your comments and your loyalty! We look forward to your return!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stay at this property every 2 months. Seriously, it's like coming home, they even know me by name! I have utilized the shuttle service, dining, lounge and spa - all are great. Try the hand made pizza in the lounge - I recommend pineapple and bacon!
If you are traveling to Houston I'd recommend this property in a heartbeat.
Thank you Crowne Team, espically Mandy, you have won my allegiance and deserve a crown of your own!

Room Tip: I like upper rooms, away from the elevator!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello Pam D,
Thank you so much for such a fabulous review!!!! I am thrilled to here that CPRO is your home away from home! I job is to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I will pass on your comments to Mandy and the rest of the staff. We really appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

These guys at this Crowne Plaza..... Such a lovely group of people! Super friendly and really trying hard to make their guests feel at home! From the moment we arrived, to the time we checked out, everything was enjoyable. Lovely pool area and the friendliest RoomService staff. I've travelled the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels, and rarely have I experienced such a lovely and courteous customer service. You excel! Thank you, River Oaks!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Hello Chorini,
Wow!! Thank you so much for sharing such amazing comments on our hotel and staff!! I am thrilled to hear that we exceeded all of your expectations! We have a great staff and I know they will appreciate you recognizing their dedication to service. We can't wait to take care of you again!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It's an OK hotel, the bed is comfortable and the room is not awful. OTOH it's a dumpy, uninspiring hotel. Feels like 20 years since a renovation. Some things can't get fixed, like the narrow windows and dark rooms. Everything's musty. The ceiling in the bathroom is low. Other things the hotel just doesn't much seem to care, like the ice machine being broken or 2 of the 4 elevators not running or the single ply toilet paper in the bathroom or the room doors that slam shut all hours of day or night. The swimming pool, lobby, and hotel restaurant are sad and dingy. The staff is friendly and the location is convenient (even if it's optimistic to call it "River Oaks") but it's really just not a very happy place to be. I aborted my stay early to move to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Hello Nelson_Mi,
We appreciate you sharing your candid comments with us on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that you did not leave completely satisfied. It saddens me to read that you we did not meet your expectations. I know that one of our hotel representative has contacted you to discuss your situation. We hope to hear back from you and I hope that we get another chance to take care of you.
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The chef was great...all the food was wonderful. The entire team in all departments were helpful. We look forward to our next visit to Houston and plan to stay at the same hotel. Zara and the morning crew made breakfast truly enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor and the view of Houston at night was nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hello Bill P,
Thank you for your review! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. I will pass on your comments to Zara and the rest of the staff. We look forward to taking care of you the next time your travels brings you to Houston.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We checked into this hotel later this past Friday night. I got a deal through Hotwire but they accommodated my wife and I who were traveling with our infant son and switched us to a King room over the phone before we arrived. We wanted to stay near the Galleria because of the proximity to the museum district/zoo and shopping off Kirby. I have driven past this hotel many times but never noticed it. When we arrived the garage was packed but we found a place to park. Make sure you are aware that this hotel is in the city and there are people that might just be hanging out in the garage - stay aware and stay safe. This doesn't detract from the hotel but it is something that should be noted.

Check-in was smooth and there was plenty of staff near the front door keeping the area secure. We checked in to our room on the 16th floor and we had a lovely view of the Williams Tower, the Galleria, etc. Also, the linens and decorations were all first class. The bed was a little hard but comfortable, there was also a pullout sofa with a nice coffee table to eat on. There was also a microwave and a fridge. The bathroom was super nice and the toiletries (including salt rubs) were available to use. This is something that I don't regularly see in 3.5* hotels!

Needless to say, everything was nice, quiet and comfortable.

The only problem... around 2:30 AM, someone was banging on the door next to ours and shouting. A security guard was promptly on the scene but the noise woke us up (and our baby). The man obviously had too much too drink and was demanding to enter the room. The security guard was not letting down and forced him to go downstairs to verify his ID matched up with the room (he refused to show his ID upstairs) or they could call the police. The man shouted more obscenities at the guard and they left for the night. We went back to sleep but I notified the front desk the following day and we were offered a free future weekend stay, with breakfast and parking included. Brenda was beyond helpful and I believe Grady signed off on the future stay, so despite feeling a little uneasy from the confrontation outside our room the Crowne Plaza went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of for this incident.

Anyways, I have stayed in many hotels and despite this occurrence we are looking forward to staying here again in the future. It is a truly nice hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: A higher floor will avoid the noise form 59.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russcular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hello Russcular,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid comments on our hotel and staff. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel & staff. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance that you experienced from a noisy neighbor. I am so glad that Grady and Brenda took such great care of you. We really appreciate you making us aware of the situation so we had a chance to make things right. We look forward to taking care of you the next time your travels brings you to Houston.
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stay at this Crowne Plaza several times each month for business. The service is outstanding in all areas. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff makes it a point to take care of all of you needs. I recommend this hotel mostly due to the service but also because of it's great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hello Kent A,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation!! It's nice to hear that you love our hotel, location and staff! We have an amazing staff so thank you for recognizing their dedication to service. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $102 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing