We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #71 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If I could, I would give this a 4.5. 4 seems a little too low but 5 is overshooting it.

The pros: clean room, beautiful lobby, excellent shuttle service to/from Medical Center, friendly & caring staff. If I could isolate any things that made my trip great, one would be Magdalena - room service attendant and the various shuttle drivers who went out of their way to help loading & unloading passengers that had difficulty.

The cons: this may seem petty to some but gets under my skin. When checking in the two young women behind the desk were speaking Spanish back & forth to each other. When talking to me, English. It makes me wonder what had to be said in my presence so that I could not understand them. There are a few small signs of the hotels age here & there. It certainly is not enough to be concerned about but I was a little surprised this brand/chain let it show.

Other misc info: there is a pool, a spa that is a separate business but on the premises, fitness room looks well done. There is also a little gift shop that sells gifts but also some toiletries, snacks, etc. each morning a newspaper is waiting for you right outside your door. There is coffee maker, & supplies, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, magnifying mirror & one of those curved shower curtain rod so you don't feel cramped in the shower.

All in all, it was a great place to stay. It's also very easy to get to. I would recommend it to any friends or family.

Room Tip: Parking & breakfast are not included so be sure to factor those costs into your travel budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Christine L,
I want to sincerely thank you for writing such a detailed and honest review! I am very pleased to see that you had a very pleasant experience with us and that many aspects of our hotel were accommodating to you! Thank you for personally mentioning Magdalena, she is a wonderful asset to our hotel and I will certainly pass on your gracious comments to her! We are also very blessed with an outstanding valet service and it makes me so happy that you found them to be so helpful! Thank you for bringing up the issue that you faced while checking in. I understand it can feel uncomfortable when others are speaking in another language in front of you, that you don't understand, when there doesn't seem to be a purpose for such a shift when everyone involved was speaking English to begin with! I have addressed this issue and can assure you that there will not be another incident like this in the future. Thank you again for such a wonderful review, and we look forward to your next visit!
Best Wishes,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    317
    169
    76
    62
See reviews for
251
189
106
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent hotel!!!!!! The best part of My stay here was the incredible concierge Susie!!! Everyone was great, but she Really took care of me, she went above and beyond!! I Will be back and tell Everyone to do the same!!!!!!! Ana María was so sweet and did a stellar Job at Check in!!!! Love this place!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grit334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Grit334,
Wow, what an enthusiastic and wonderful review! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay; it looks like Susie really took very good care of you! Thank you for personally mentioning Susie and Anna Maria, I will certainly pass on your kind words to them! Excellence is our standard and I am thrilled that you felt like you are as important to us as you truly are! Please visit us again the next time your travels bring you this way!
Best Wishes.
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stay in hotels at least two nights a week and sometimes up to five nights a week. I do my best to stay at a hotel associated with the Intercontinental Hotel Group so I can acquire points for vacation travel. This particular trip I was fortunate enough to book a room at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks. I have stayed at Crowne Plazas all over the USA and have never received the level of hospitality I have received here. Everyone here has done their best to make sure I am comfortable. The valet staff does an awesome job and Susie Bull goes out out of her way to make sure your stay feels like you are staying with friends. The hotel is convenient to downtown without the congestion of being downtown and has several restaurants within walking distance. If walking is not your thing than you can eat at the restaurant located in the hotel. I recommend the American Club. The outdoor pool is perfect for the wretched heat that is pouring down on Texas right now or you also have the ability to end your work day and bury your toes in the sands of Galveston within an hour of the hotel. I ended my day by driving to NASA since I had never seen it and it was too close to pass up. I will certainly make this my hotel of choice when doing business or pleasure in the Houston area.

PMay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Pmay33,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am so glad that you were able to experience our River Oaks location and thoroughly enjoyed your entire stay! Our staff works very hard to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and I couldn't be more happy that you received such a high level of hospitality! Thank you for personally mentioning Susie, I will make sure to pass on your gracious comments to her as well as our valet staff! It is so wonderful that our hotel is so convenient to so many attractions and I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of such a perk! I hope we have the opportunity to have you as a guest again!
Best Wishes,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

PROS: The location was very convenient, and in close proximity to my client at the Greenway Plaza. The breakfast is decent and the breakfast staff VERY friendly and accommodating.
CONS: Throughout the stay and after, with the exception of maybe 1-2 times, I found various front desk workers to be some combination of rude, unaccommodating, placing me on hold and forgetting me there, forgetting to follow-through on calling up the bellboy, and lacking in common courtesies. Sometimes, I got the snappy tone of someone who sounded overwhelmed/tired. On the other hand, the front desk manager was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chidinma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Chidinma O,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments. I happy to read that our location works well for your traveling needs. I am very disappointed that you were not pleased with the attitude of some front desk employees. I sincerely apologize for that and I will investigate your complaints. We strive to make sure all of our guests leave completely satisfied and I am so sorry to read that yo did not. I hope that you will give us another chance the next time your travels brings you to Houston.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The staff was very helpful. The room was very clean. I orded room service, the food arrived on time and was very good. This hotel I would say is the cleanest I'v been in a long time. I travel 3x a week average fir business so that should say something,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Brandie D,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! I am so pleased to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel! Cleanliness is extremely important and I am thrilled that you felt as though we met your standards! Thank you for mentioning the prompt room service and how delicious it was! Your comments are very valuable to us and I will pass on your kind words to our room service department!
We hope you come back as our guest again soon!
Best Wishes,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We live in the suburbs of Houston and wanted a place to stay while we had a night out in the city. Had a great overnight getaway. The bathrooms are clean and stocked with nice toiletries. Perfect location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Tonya B,
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza River Oaks for your overnight getaway! I am so thrilled that everything went so well for you, and furthermore, that you took the time to write such a great review about it! We always make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their rooms and amenities and it pleases me so much to know you were taken care of! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we look forward to your next "getaway" with us!
Best Wishes,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have spent the weekend at the Crowne Plaza River Oaks on several occasions and have always had a great experieince. The rooms are always clean and the staff is attentive to any needs that are requested. Glenn Fuller, the Guest Services Representative, recognizes me and greets me by name whenever my girlfriend and I arrive and always makes sure we get the accomodations that we desire. I would recommend the hotel to anyone for the great service and the convenient location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello Carlton L,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am so glad that you have stayed with us several times and have seemed to really love each visit! Thank you for personally mentioning Glenn; he works very hard to take excellent care of our guests and I will make sure your kind words are brought to his attention! I also want to thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends! We truly look forward to your next visit when your travels bring you this way!
Best wishes,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Modern B&B
#65 of 508 in Houston
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing