We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #63 of 504 Hotels in Houston
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I have made several trips to Houston and stayed at a few of the area hotels. We found the Crowne Plaza to be the best. The staff are all extremely courteous and efficient. The rooms are clean and well decorated. While it is on a major freeway, the noise level is not an issue. Being near the freeway however gives excellent access to the property. The resturant serves an excellent breakfast buffet. The noon and evening meals are well prepared and the prices are compatable with the area resturants. A 25 minute ride to Houston Hobby airport is very convenient. If you are in the area, we recommend that you drop by and talk to Mandy the hotel Concierge. She goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navenr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello navenr_13,
Wow!! Reviews don't get much better than yours!! We appreciate you raving about our hotel, staff & location! It is great to hear that we exceed your expectations every time and that you continue to come back! We are honored that yo have chosen CPRO as your Houston hotel. I will pass on your gracious comments to Mandy & I am pleased to hear that you she does such a great job.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    313
    163
    75
    60
See reviews for
245
185
105
586
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is a little past its prime, no serious problems, but it could use a refresh. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and deserves high marks. My experience was marred by several trash items under the furniture that had not been removed, including a used disposable diaper. There are any number of good restaurants near by and the hotel will drop you off and pick you up within a three mile radius. Breakfasts at the hotel are fairly medicocre.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello DaveT48,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you don't feel that we should be ranked #2 in the city. We earned our spot at the top because we have exceeded many of our guest expectations. A huge part of our compliments are based upon our shining staff. I will pass on your complaint to our director of housekeeping and will make sure it is investigated. I sincerely apologize for that and I am so sorry that you did not leave completely satisfied. I hope that we get another chance to take care of you.
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stay at this Hotel every time I come to Houston- Ms Jackie and Debbie are always there with friendly smiles and really cater to your requests and needs- Mandy spearheads the PC night, and it is very well attended and has a lot of energy and fun- the restaurant food is excellent- mr Jimmy and his staff are all very friendly.

This is an excellent place to stay if your in Houston - location / amenities and staff are second to none!
BH

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hello Bobby H,
Thank you for such awesome feedback! We are honored that you frequently stay with us. It's great to hear that you attend the Wednesday receptions and that you love our staff! We really appreciate you being a priority club member and we appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your return.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stay at this hotel at least every 3 weeks. im here with md anderson & the dhuttle is convienent for my appointmentd. Mandy always assists me with a smil. From the bellman to everyone in the hotel I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike2764917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Mike2764917,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are really glad you recognize our hospitality service and our convenient location. It’s always nice to read praise like yours, and happy that the Crowne Plaza River Oaks stands out amount other hotels. Please back and see us real soon.
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and have been very happy with the service and location. It is close to Rice University and Village which has endless great food and entertainment choices. I would like to see a better cycling machine in the fitness room that is better quality and with a narrower seat set-up for road biking. Come on this is Texas home of Lance Armstrong and many othe cyclists...this should be a given! :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Showmetraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Showmetraveller2,

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and so pleased to hear a positive experience with us. Our hotel is very proud of our level of service, cleanliness, and quality of it's product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thanks for your comments.
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staff was great and very accommodating. Mandy, Angie and Jorge were great. They made Houston feel like home; as a frequent traveler it was a welcome change to have people genuinely care. Best hotel in Houston!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark196601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Mark196601
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding you recent experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and level of service we provide. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and provide another great stay! Thanks especially for recognizing our staff. It made their day.
Best,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and Mandy (concierge) was always available to give great advice. We also used meeting space and the service was just as good with the banquet staff. great reception on Wednesday nights for priority rewards members.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeden7871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello breeden7871,
Thank you so much for review and recommendation, We appreciate hearing from you and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. We hope to see again in the future. Take care.
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Modern B&B
#67 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing