We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not more than that....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #71 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay but not more than that....”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Okay hotel offering the normal facilities. The hotel does need a make over and update on the bathrooms. Service at the reception and restaurant is good. Internet connections not everywhere in the building good signal and high speed not as high speed as you might expect. Location of hotel is okay but you do require a car to get somewhere. Some restaurants on walking distance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank glasbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello ,
Thank you for your candid comments! I am a little disappointed to read that you only liked our hotel and did not love it. We are constantly updating our hotel and just got approved for a new wifi system. We do offer a complimentary shuttle that goes to the Galleria, medical center and within a 3 mile radius of the hotel so there is no need for a car if you plan on staying in the area. We also just hired a new transportation service that has Mercedes shuttles. I hope that you give us another chance so you can see our great new updates our hotel and staff has to offer.
Take Care,
Mandy Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    320
    170
    76
    62
See reviews for
253
192
106
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have had a pleasant stay, the staff is courteous, friendly, and always smiling. The wednesday reception is great and i had a chance to meet the staff. Mandy was so helpful. She has good recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello Clay,
Thank you for staying with us! I am happy to hear that you love our hotel & staff. The reception is always a great time so I am glad you were able to attend. We appreciate your review! We look forward to your return!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Arrived staff friendly and cooperative. Got to room all good. Then grabbed shuttle to go to surrounding area to have fun. Came back to hotel again everyone friendly. Went to sleep and had a great sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ldrewgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Idrewgerard,

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff. They are our most important asset and we post these comments to make sure they get the recognition they deserve.
We are so glad that we will be able to welcome you back in the future and create another great stay!

Best,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles La
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stay here at least 2-3 days a week on business and also with my family while in Houston. Several of my co-worker's stay here also every week also. The location works well for my traveling needs. This hotel has a great restaurant but there are also other great places to eat near by. Mandy is really great to deal with and will take of all your needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello pbevey,
Thank you for your fantastic feedback!! It is so nice to hear that you stay with us frequently and that our hotel works for your traveling needs. We appreciate your loyalty and your recommendation. I am glad that Mandy takes good care of you and offers you assistance whenever it is needed. We look forward to your return.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stay here for business. The staff is always very professional, super friendly and efficient with wake up calls, letting us know the best restaurants and of course their restaurant is delicious. One of my favorite layovers!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafekutie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kafekutie 19,

Thank you Kafekutie for your candid review and compliments regarding our Hotel staff and Service. We greatly appreciate your business nad taking the time to share your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and provide another great stay!

Best,
Sid Siddiqi.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is clean, parking convenient close to great food. The best part is service and of you have priority club, there is a great wed night social. I would definitely recommend this place for value service and quality. Great place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tctm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tctm,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the Hotel hospitality service. It is always nice to read praise about the quality of service Crowne Plaza River Oaks provides.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and provide another great stay!

Best,
Sid Siddiqi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at Crowne Plaza in Houston, Texas, for a work meeting. Good location to walk to great restaurants. Room was very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, order your own omelette, waffles, fruit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieHim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Juliehim

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay to the Crowne Plaza River Oaks. We love to hear you possitive feedback. Your remarks about the hospitality you received has been shared with our team members. We hope that you decide to stay with us again We want you to feel like a member of the Crowne Plaza family!
Best,
Sid Siddiqi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing