We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #79 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great breakfast and nice people!! Love the priority club reception! Clean rooms. Great transportation. Lots of stuff to do around the hotel! Walked to freebirds and some nice authentic mexican food. Can't wait to come back!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello mschaad,
WOW!! Thank you for such a great review and recommendation! So pleased to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle and had a chance to visit some great restaurants in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to share your nice commensts on our hotel, staff & services. Have a wonderful day!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was an excellent stay! Was not planning on staying in Houston for a whole week but it was an enjoyable time! The Wednesday managers reception was a pleasant surprise! Staff was very friendly and helpful!! Rooms were nice and very clean! Internet access was a little slow that was my only complaint.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamgilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello Tamgilliam,
We are honored that you chose the CPRO for your extended business trip! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you like our hotel, location & services. Your remarks about the hospitality you received has been shared with our team members. I am sorry for the internet problems that you experienced. We do have 24 hour tech support in case you ever need assistance with the internet. I hope that next time you will use them so they can speed up your connection. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you back very soon! Thank you for your review!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a popular business hotel in the direct the highway 59. The room are functional with a double bed seating area desk tv coffee corner and refrigerator furnished. The bathroom has the bathtube and with a shaving mirror equipped. Good snacks from the bar with draughht beer, high reccomended is the other side of the highway with restaurants hooters, cafe and drug store.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello Michael T,
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay! I am so glad to hear that you enjoy our location, hotel & services! We are near the highway which makes traveling to and from our hotel very convenient. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed our bar and the great restaurants and shops in the surrounding area. We look forward to taking care of you next time!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were visiting our daughter in Houston and its always a challenge to find an affordable hotel in a good location. This hotel seems a little older, but it is clean, comfortable and close to everything.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank maggiekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello Maggiekid,
Short and sweet & to the point! I am glad that we offered you such a great value and amazing location during your visit to Houston. We are honored that you chose the Crowne Plaza River Oaks and we look forward to your return! Thank you for your review!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I travel extensively for business and this hotel is the Whole Package.
The staff is fantastic. Shaila at the front desk, Mandy the Concierge, and Debbie & Claudia who manage Sales are all very professional, kind and interested in making your visits most enjoyable. The hotel management will look you up at the Wednesday Mgr Reception. Nice! They care.
Within walking distance are plenty of restaurants of all star ratings and cuisines so no need to drive. The River Oaks area has a great neighborhood feel and a small park is across the street from the hotel.
This is the best central location to access all highways heading any direction around Houston.
All the amenities and decor are very nice quality and nightly rates are reasonable.
This is the best place to stay in Houston and I look forward to my next visit.

Darin E.

Room Tip: High floors have a nice view of downtown, the Med Center, and Galleria areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello Darin E,
WOW!!! Reviews don't get any better that yours...THANK YOU! I am delighted to hear that our team exceeded your expectations. I love reading that you love everything about our hotel. Our team truly loves their jobs and it puts a smile on their faces to hear from satisfied guests. Thank you so much for acknowledging all of our employees that make your stay a memorable one. I will pass on yor gracious comments to them. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return!!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Maybe because I booked on priceline? Idk but the clerk was very dry. No one offered me any assistance or directions. Neither was I given a gift baggie upon check in.
I had to ask for directions to the elevators but I heard all three telling the other guests where hotel services were. Both my son and I asked that our rooms be as near as possible, I am recovering from a serious health issue; he was in 1509 and I was in 1709. Si much for adjourning rooms....which is why we booked at this particular venue. Smh...
The room service tacked on about 3 extra charges that were not mentioned on the menu...2.50 service fee and a 2.50 Room service fee. LOL! Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hello charmilla,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that during your check in you felt that the front desk agent was not friendly to you. I appreciate you giving me your room numbers so I can investigate this situation and I will make sure that this is never repeated. We treat all guests the same no matter how you book your reservation. I am sorry that you were under the impression that we pass out gift bags at check in. The gift bags that you saw being passed out were bags left specifically for out of town guests by a wedding party. I sincerely apologize and I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you travel to Houston.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I didn't realize I was a rewards member, but when I checked in they not only added my rewards to my stay, they upgraded me to a suite for free. Staying two nights and in town for a wedding, that was a big help and made the stay so great. I did have a little bit of trouble with the cold temperature in my room, but they sent someone right up to fix it.

Especially want to thank Marcela Mejia at the front desk, who gave me the upgrade and helped me out a couple of times during my stay. Her beauty, charm, and helpful attitude made this a rare memorable stay at any hotel in my travels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hello Javi P,
I am so pleased to hear of your positive experience with us at the Crowne Plaza River Oaks! Thank you for sharing your story about your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that Marcela took such great care of you. I know that she will be thrilled to hear that you recognized her for her hard work. Thank you for being a priority club member and we look forward to your return.
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $83 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing