We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #59 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I read the reviews on this site before our stay, and was looking forward to a good experience - I was not disappointed! The staff was very friendly and attentive, and the room elegant and comfortable. I had the opportunity to speak with Debbie Hollier regarding a personal concern, and I was pleased with her above and beyond accommodation for me. This hotel definitely understands hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello Julie S,
Thank you so much for sharing your Crowne Plaza experience with us. We are so happy that we have won you over with our incredible service. Our team is always happy to hear from our satisfied guests! It was my pleasure to assist you and we look forward to your return!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    308
    162
    73
    59
See reviews for
243
183
102
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a few times, staff is always very nice and helpful. Mandy at the front was very accomidating. I really love the size of the rooms, they are huge. I hate paying a lot of $ for a room and getting into it and barely being able to walk around he bed, that is not an issue here. Would deffinitely reccomend to a friend and I will be staying there again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello Phil,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you continue to come back. We love hearing from satisfied guests and we appreciate your loyalty. I will pass on your kind words to Mandy. We look forward to having you back!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel this past Saturday night with some of my close girlfriends for a mini reunion and a much-needed night out in our hometown. As soon as I pulled into the driveway, the staff were already extremely attentive and very service-oriented. They immediately made me feel welcome! Mandy was especially helpful in giving us suggestions of where to go and how to get there. We initially went to Rice Village (just about 1.5 miles) for dinner and a few drinks, and we ended up in Midtown (about 2.5 miles). Cabs were easy to catch, and very inexpensive to and from the hotel. The hotel has a great location, wonderful staff, clean/comfortable rooms and if you're a Priority Club member, you get complimentary cookies and milk in your room! Boy, was that a nice treat! I will most definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have great views of the downtown city lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Kassie K,
Wow!! Thank you for such a great review! We appreciate you sharing your recent Crowne Plaza experience with us! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your girls night out and got a chance to explore some of our great nightlife hotspots.I am glad that Mandy was able to help you with your plans and I know she will be happy to hear that you had fun! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Houston!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Houston, our room was spacious and clean. We were on 15th floor with a corner window. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The shuttle bus is an excelent service. can't comment on food as we did not eat here. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Heather D,
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza on your first trip to Houston! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the rest of our staff. Have a great day!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had booked a couple of rooms in a wedding block and they could not find 1 reservation. Since they were sold out we could not get a 2nd room, thus we bunked up 4 people in 1 room together (2 queen beds so it was not that bad) . Fine. Understandable. Things happen. However what really bothered us was that the heater would not work. Only blew out cold air. We got in late the first night and ended up turning the heat(ac) off that night. Woke up in the morning to the room at 70 degrees. Informed the hotel front desk. They say theyll take care of it. They sent someone to fix it. Come back after lunch. Still does not work. Call front desk. They said they will take care of it. They send someone to fix. Attended my cousins wedding. Get back at 2am. Room is still at 72 degrees. Still too cold for my wife. Heat still blowing cold air. Went down to inform front desk. They give us extra blankets. Tell us they will take care of it the next morning which does us no good since we would be checking out the next morning. Wake up to thermostat at 72. All four of us caught a cold. Thanks Crowne Plaza River Oaks. Also, they could not guarantee a shuttle to the wedding venue that was .8 miles away. We ended up calling taxis to ensure we got there on time. Horrible experience here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank injdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello injdog,
Thank you for sharing your story with us. We appreciate all feedback and I will definitely investigate the complaint about your heat. When it comes to your reservation...I looked into it and since you booked your reservations through a third party we had no control over it. If it is not in our system it means that it was not made on their end. I am so sorry for the inconvenience of sharing a room and I wish that we would have had an extra room available. We do offer a shuttle within 3 miles and it is a first come first serve basis so we can not guarantee the exact time if you call ahead. It is usually available but sometimes it leaves for a few minutes here and there. On a positive note, I am happy that you gave us 5 stars for our location. I know that you had a few small issues during your stay but I hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to Houston.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great hotel. Complimentary shuttle to MD Anderson and Galleria Mall. Great staff, very accomandating and most helpful. Mandi and staff will help you navigate local Houston restaurants and places to go and see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello vicki l,
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, staff & amenities! We have a great staff and they love making suggestions on the must see spots in Houston to ensure our guests have the best stay possible. We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you soon!
Get Well Soon,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is quite the surprise. From Mandy the concierge to Carlos and Diego behind the bar...top notch. Great hotel. I especially appreciated the corporate sales department. Debbie really went the extra mile.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank episodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello episodes,
Thank you for your kind comments on our staff. They are the most important asset and we post these comments to make sure they get the recognition they deserve. We strive to make sure that our guests leave satisfied. It was my pleasure to take of you and we appreciate your business.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Modern B&B
#61 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing