We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #79 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The rooms are clean and have fridges and microwaves. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We attended the Priority Club reception and met Debbie, Mandy and Jorge. The food and drink was great and it was a great night!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljbink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Hello ljbink,
Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza while traveling to Houston! We are delighted you gave us a try and thrilled with your review. The reception is always a great time and the chef always prepares great appetizers and Jorge makes the best drinks! The company is always great as well. You get a chance to mingle with the staff & all of our priority club members. Guests are always making new friends up there. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza the 3rd week of June for 4 nights. I travel alot and I know how hard it is to love any hotel for 4 nights. This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. Their front desk agents on the first day I arrived were awesome. The bell captain was patient and courteous. The bar and banquet staff were astounding. The DOS and the concierge were very helpful to me as I had not been in that area in a long time. The Wednesday reception was one of the best I have ever been to in a hotel. Room service meal and waiter were perfect. The guestroom was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed. I would stay at this hotel again and again and have recommended it to several people already. I hope the GM and the owners appreciate the staff they have at this hotel - it is hard to come by. I hope the owners appreciate the GM and how he leads his staff. I hope the staff appreciates their bosses. You can tell that this is a full circle of excellence! Job well done!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccbeachhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Hello ccbeachhotels,
Wow!! I don't think your review could get any better!! Thank you so much for taking the time to rave about our hotel, staff & location. Our team members truly enjoy their jobs and it puts a smile on their faces to know that our guests leave completely satisfied. I am thrilled that you were able to attend our welcome reception and had a chance to meet Mandy & the sales team. Thanks to TA, our owners get a chance to read all of our success stories. Our GM does a great job and he stands behind us 100%! Thank you so much for your review & for any referrals you send our way!!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel and room was very nice. Every employee and management staff were not only very professional and helpful, they were exceptionally friendly. Mandy Bates the concierge was awesome. She took care of all of our requests, set us up with a taxi, and made us feel like queens. I will recommend the hotel to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Hello MichelleR,
Thank you for your review! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, staff & services! I am happy to hear that Mandy helped make your evening a memorable one. She is a great asset to our team and I will pass your compliments on to her. Thank you in advance for any future referrals that you send our way!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had great service - Mandy the conceirge - bent over backwards to make our stay (girls night) awesome!!! Would stay there again in a heart beat! Rooms were nice too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Hello Trish1020,
Thank you for your comments! I am glad to hear that you stay was great & that Mandy was able to give you such great service! We really appreciate your review & thank you for choosing the Crowne plaza for your recent trip to Houston. We will see you soon!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I recently stayed here for a company meeting. The accommodations for the meeting were really nice and comfortable an professional! Angie Techmanski wa ou sales person from the hotel and put together a really nice package to accommodate our small group.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Hello KellyC,
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your corporate event! We have a great sales team and they work extremely hard to make sure our guests get well taken care of. I will pass on your gracious comments to Angie. Thank you for your review & any referrals you send our way!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel was ok, centrally located between shopping, downtown and the medical centre. Free shuttle was excellent. Mandy, the concierge, was outstanding - very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Food ok; lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Hello Marguerite,
Thank you for your review. I am a little disappointed that you feel our hotel was just "ok". I would love for you to give us another chance next time you are in town so we can exceed your expectations. I am thrilled to hear that you think so highly of Mandy. I know that she will be happy to hear that she was acknowledged for her hard work.
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have to say my experience was outstanding. Every one is very pleasant and helpfull. Especially Mandy Bates and Shalia, and Jon Coleman stands out. They go out of there way to help.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralphf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Hello Ralphf123,
Thank you for taking the time to share your story. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay & that you feel that the staff is outstanding. We have a great team and I will pass on your kind words to them. Have a great day!
Best Regards,
Debbie Hollier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
#51 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $85 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing