We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Events Made Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Ranked #71 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Group Events Made Easy”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our Italian club has used your hotel for several events, Christmas party, Mother's Day luncheon, etc. Jeana Auger has been especially easy to work with and has given us such wonderful experiences. Also, I have personally worked with Dimples Boettcher in connection with Crowne Plaza River Oaks being the Host Hotel of our 34th Houston Italian Festival. This is the second year to have them as our Host Hotel and we are so pleased that our out-of-town guests have been treated with kid gloves. We expect to continue this association for many years to come.

Margie D

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hello Margie D,
Thank you so much for recognizing my sales team! I loved reading your comments and I am thrilled that our team takes such great care of you. Our sales team takes great pride in their jobs. We really appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to your next event!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    320
    172
    76
    62
See reviews for
255
194
106
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Last fall, I was in charge of booking rooms for several college buddies getting together to see some Astros games. I found the reservation process easy, the rates wonderful, and the help confirming arrangements close to the check-in date was particularly helpful. Dimples and her staff took care of our every need. I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The bar was a great place for us all to catch up with each other. Should I have the opportunity to visit Houston again with a group, the Crown Plaza would be a top choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello Bob T,
Thank you for your comments & for making us your #1 hotel choice in Houston! I am happy to hear that not only did Dimples take great care of you but you enjoyed everything that the hotel has to offer. We appreciate your business & we hope that this season you will come back to visit. Go Astros!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Dimples Boettcher was a life saver! She provided excellent service, given the limited amount of time to prepare. She assisted me in making arrangements for a major celebration with over 200 guests. The food was amazing, the setting was elegant and the wait staff very attentive. It all made for a wonderful experience leaving our guests more than satisfied.

Kathy E.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kathy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello Kathy e,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! I am happy to hear that the entire staff was able to work together to make sure you had a flawless event! Dimples has many years of experience and always does a great job with her attention to detail. The Banquet staff we have here is top notch and we look forward to taking care of your group again!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have been using this hotel now for several years and have always been pleased with the level of performance by the staff. Angie Techmanski has always been very helpful even with last minute changes. Lucas is always ready to help. and Kieth Parks has done a wonderful job even when I have even the slightest of issues. Everything is handled and communicted in a wonderful professional manner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello David S,
Thank you for sharing your comments and for being such a loyal guest! I am thrilled to hear how hard our sales team works to make sure your event happens with no mistakes or delays. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again soon!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was my first experience arranging this large an event. From beginning to end the staff was absolutely amazing. Starting with Angie Techmanski who arranged the event and gave me the who's who to work with. I met with Harold Lucas who was simply wonderful and fully understanding of my needs. Harold was very gracious in helping me with any questions I had at any time. The accomodations, food was fabulous. Juan Rovira the Banquets Director took care of every detail in our meals and refreshments. They took away any stress or worry about being able to have a productive meeting instead of worrying about the accomodations or meals. I felt as though we got the royal treatment from everyone on your staff. I can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello Mary b,
Thank you so much for recognizing our sales staff! They do such a great job and sometimes get overlooked. I am thrilled to hear that they were able to make your job easier while planning such a large event. I will pass on your compliments to them. We look forward to having Affiliated Power Services back!!
Take Care,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I book rooms here often and the staff is always very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, July 6, 2016
Thanks for the nice feedback! Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, AL
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I was in Houston for an important interview. The staff at the Crowne Plaza River Oaks were uniformly friendly and outgoing. I'm not talking about just the folks you expect to be friendly at the front desk. Everyone was friendly and approachable. I was on the elevator with a maintenance worker. He asked me how my stay was going and told me not to hesitate to call his department if I had a problem. Each one seemed genuinely interested in making sure my stay was a positive, helpful experience. The facility is gorgeous. I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhollier, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello Tim B,
Your review put a huge smile on my face! I love hearing such nice stories about how our staff makes a difference. Customer service is our #1 priority and our job is to make sure guests leave completely satisfied. I see that we have done that! I am thrilled to hear that our hotel gave you what you always hope to get! Thank you for your review!
Safe Travels,
Debbie Hollier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Property: Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
Address: 2712 Southwest Fwy, Houston, TX 77098-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#49 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the best location in Houston! The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is centrally located in the center of it all! You are a short ride to the Galleria area, the Texas Medical Center, Reliant Park, Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Central Business District. There are also dozens of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance or take the hotel shuttle anywhere in a 3 mile radius. Guest rooms are very spacious and well appointed with microwaves and micro-fridges in every room. Throughout our hotel, you will encounter eclectic yet elegant design. Comfortably relax in restyled conversation areas and let us take care of you with warm Texas hospitality. To enhance your stay please know that we are prepared to cater to your every need, and we are proud to offer the Sleep Advantage, Quiet Zone & Guaranteed Wake Up Call programs to help ensure you get the best sleep possible and start your day right. For your business needs you can count on complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, a full service business center, complimentary shuttle service to nearby offices and coffee in the lobby. The Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is located near Greenway Plaza, Occidental, Koch Industries, Chevron, Fugro, University of Houston, Rice University, TSU, Houston Baptist University to name a few. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing