We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drugs, hookers and a shamrock green pool” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston
Ranked #431 of 501 Hotels in Houston
NYNY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Drugs, hookers and a shamrock green pool”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place should be condemned. I stayed 3 nights with no hot water. They have a no refund policy, so be warned. The room stunk like rotting meat and cheap perfume, the sheets did not fit the bed and the 1 towel I did have should have been tossed out 25 years ago. There was never any ice and there was some crazy doped up old lady with 2 small dogs that walked around in her bathrobe and slippers that thought because she loves her dogs everyone else should as well. She let them crap on the sidewalks and it was never picked up. Every single time without fail on the way to my car I would be hit up for money or cigarettes. I watched several drug dealers work with full immunity from the staff. The place is gross to say the very least. Another big negative is that it is not an American owned/ran motel, which explains everything.

Room Tip: Anyplace but here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adraina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    6
    5
    22
See reviews for
6
7
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed one night here. It's cheap but it's not worth the money you save. Checked in front desk was ok room looked ok at frist. They have roaches, no phones, if your room has no bath towels you have to walk back to front desk and get your own. And the biggest deal breaker was NO HOT WATER & your wasting your time complaining cuz there's no refund they tell you that up front. So stay next door at super 8 save yourself the trouble & frustration. I will never stay there again !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truckergale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Staying here now, i'm 6'3 and a bodybuilder so i'm not overly scared for my safety but there are some seedy individuals who i assume live here. It's white trash bonanza and the pool looks like a cat fish pond. Oh and had no maid service after 4 days i finally complained one came today 6 days after i checked in.. cheap but scary and bad service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was put into this hotel by United Airlines last week for an overnite due to a flight delay. They gave me a voucher for a place called "Park Inn and Suites" and told me to call them for a shuttle to their hotel. I looked up the hotel online and it looked pretty nice! Got their phone umber off their webpage and called their main number for a shuttle. The phone was answered "Park Inn". I told the woman who answered that I was at the Houston airport at baggage claim and how might I get a shuttle. She got quite irate at me immediately and told me that I and everyone else would just have to be patient and we should just quit calling and look for the white van, which was supposed to come around every few minutes. She further told me to look around and find the other impatient people waiting and get them to quit calling and just wait. Needless to say, I was quite taken aback by her tone and her words.
I chalked it up to her having a tough nite and went out to wait for the shuttle. After about 15 minutes, a white van labeled "Ramada". the driver stopped and got out and asked if I was going to the Park Inn, and when I said yes, told me this was the van. That might explain why people could not find the van in the first place, as it was labeled "Ramada" and we were told to look for a "white van" which we assumed would be labaled "Park Inn".
Nonetheless, the guy was polite and helpful, picked me up and several others at different baggage claim doors, and took us to the hotel. When he drove up, the hotel was indeed "Ramada" and several of us asked why we were there when we were to go to the Park Inn. The reply was that it was the same hotel. We were told that again at check in, so we all checked in.
The whole hotel was pretty seedy looking - uncared for with peeling lettering on indoor signs, a musty smell to everything including the lobby and halls, and a VERY shabby room with very old tube type TV and in need of lots of repair.
instead of the "Sam Houston Steakhouse the website had touted, the only restaurant was a space open to the lobby with a bunch of tables and a buffet line that had coffee, salt and pepper and not much else. The tables had white tablecloths that were stained from prior diners, and nothing else except a vase with fake flowers.
The single wait person brought a menu and was attentive enough. I ordered a T-bone steak and soup with bakjed potato. Worst steak I've had in years - fatty and very low quality and not cheap at $19.
I asked about dessert and was told with a snicker they don't do dessert there.
The room, which was decently clean, at least was musty and the AC was not working, though at least the bed was very comfy. Shower worked well.
Went down for their included breakfast buffet and it was really quite awful - dead steam table food and not much to choose from. No condiments out for either meal, too. Gave up and went to the airport 2 hours earlier than planned just to get a decent meal and some non-musty air.
After leaving the hotel, I did find out that the two hotels are not the same. The Park Inn is quite nice and is in a totally different location. The airline may not even know they were sold the old "bait and switch" - gave their customers a nite at Park Inn and customers were swapped to a seedy dive.

Room Tip: Don't choose ANY room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for several nights when shifting jobs to Houston. Our new company had been using this place so that's where we ended up. Expected a lot more, but found it to be poorly maintained, dirty, and erratic service. Will not go into detail, rather just not recommend it.
To top it off we contacted Ramada HQ about the place and were told it was no longer a Ramada franchise despite the Ramada Trade Mark being used in their signage etc. Be warned - no comeback with the Ramada HQ, they did not want to know.

Room Tip: Anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The rooms are passable but the service and food at the 'restaurant' is horrible. We barely got the rude young man behind the counter to take our order and then we were told that they did not have "this or this or this" on the menu, which meant we had 3 choices of bad food. When we went to pay he told us he could not give us the bill and we would have to wait 10 minutes! He was not busy, just stood there and told other customers the same thing. We tried to complain at the front desk but the manager was not in.

Room Tip: Lots of luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoulderCityGypsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband was bringing me back to Austin to be with our two boys and we decided to stay in Houston for at least a few days so my husband could potentially find a job. We lived in Cypress for a few years and LOVE the Cypress, Spring, Humble, 1960 area. We got an incredible rate compared to ANYTHING you could hope to find near Oak Hill (SW Austin) and we were completely thrilled with our entire stay. Hassain, Shiraz, Maneer, Chima, Ali, Josh, Jessica, Cash, are among some of the people we were acquainted with and although the phones are down temporarily, we were able to make a lot of new friends and contacts. The room was clean. Microwave, refrigerator included. King size bed, nice restrooms. Nobody bothered you. It was truly like living in an apartment. Very cool experience. If we end up back in Houston and need to stay somewhere again, I would absolutely want to stay there. Ali asked me too! :) www.linkedin.com/in/bridgettaylorvoiceovers

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetRadioAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
5.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Platinum Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Houston North I-45
Super 8 Houston North I-45
#360 of 501 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Inn & Suites
Grand Inn & Suites
#315 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Houston North/Aldine
20.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Houston / Katy Fwy
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Houston FM 1960/I-45
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston

Property: Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston
Address: 16510 North Fwy, Houston, TX 77090-5102 (Formerly Ramada Inn & Suites North Houston)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Enjoy a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. All guest rooms include microwave, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and alarm clock. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off North Freeway, 5 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport, and are near to local attractions such as Mercer Botanic Gardens, Wet 'n' Wild Splash Town, and Screamworld. Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston is your best choice within the southeast region of Texas. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Austin or Galveston. At Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn I-45 North Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn North Houston Hotel Houston
Ramada Inn Houston
Ramada Houston
Houston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing