We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ylem(Houston)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Moody Manor(Houston)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (340)
    Filter reviews
    340 results
    Traveler rating
    94
    104
    72
    42
    28
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    94
    104
    72
    42
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsnrg stadiummedical centertexans gameattending an eventshuttle servicehotel restaurantcommon areaswould stay againfree shuttlehotel staffchecking inreliantrodeokirbyandersonlivestockrates
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    197 - 202 of 340 reviews
    Reviewed October 7, 2013

    Stayed here within the last two weeks. The waitresses in the bar, Elizabeth and Monica, are very good. The black guy bartender, not so much -- not friendly at all. the prices of the drinks have gone thru the roof, as have the menu items. Also, the menu does not have any nachos, quesadillas, buffalo wings, etc....typical bar food. If you are trying to be an upscale bar, it's not working. Little flies always buzzing around too.

    Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    Thank Elaine S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

    Dear Elaine S,

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was disappointed to read that when you visited the bar you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guests in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced due to the service received.

    We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

    Sincerely,

    Jaime W
    Case Manager
    IHGCare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 27, 2013

    Thank you to the entire staff for being friendly and welcoming to us throughout our stay. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Good job all the way around. What a well managed hotel. We highly recommend it.

    • Stayed: September 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LLLLLT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sergio O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

    Dear LLLLLT,

    Thank you for your nice and generous feedback. It was a our pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your experience.

    We hope to see back again if your travel plans bring you to Houston.

    Kind regards,
    Sergio

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 22, 2013

    My husband and I stayed here Sat. Night before the Texans/Titans game. Upon check-in, Anthony was very friendly and helpful. The lobby and bar area are very appealing. After exiting the elevator on the 3rd floor, my opinion changed. The musty smell started there. The musty smell in the room was terrible. The room was clean, but was outdated. The air conditioner in the room was inconsistent and very humid. It was either too cold or too warm. We could never find a comfortable temp.
    Sunday morning we decided to eat breakfast in the restaurant. There's no continental breakfast. The buffet is $13.95 per person. It was terrible! The biscuits were hard, the fruit had mold on it, and the bacon tray was empty and never re-filled. I'm not one to fuss about a meal to the waitress, but after telling her, she comped our meal.
    The convenience of being able to leave our car in the secure hotel parking lot for no extra charge and walk through the back gate onto Reliant property was awesome, but over-all, I would not choose this hotel again.

    • Stayed: September 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank carrie0514
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sergio O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

    Dear Carrie0514

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback i TripAdvisor, and thank you for your well-balanced review.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed the welcome hospitality of Anthony, and we are sorry that you were disappointed with the rooms as well as the restaurant.

    While the hotel is very clean and well-maintained, indeed it could use some updating. In fact we're in the initial stages of planning a full renovation.

    As for the restaurant, not certain was it was not properly communicated but we have a daily Continental breakfast buffett in addition to a hot full breakfast with fresh eggs, fresh waffles, and many other items. There is no excuse however for the quality to have been less than excellent, so we are using your obsevations as a time to review our procedures to ensure the food always stays fresh, hot and delicious..

    I hope you do give us another opportunity to regain your trust and confidence.

    Kind regards,
    Sergio

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 12, 2013

    Closest hotel to Reliant Stadium. Really needs to be updated some. It was ok but not quite up to Holiday Inn standards. Disappointed in mattressed-also not typical Holiday Inn- very worn and saggy. BUT you cannot beat being able to walk out the back door and into Reliant parking lot and not having the hassle of parking etc! Staff very nice!

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank wpdaniel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sergio O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

    Dear Wpdaniel

    Thank you for your comments. Indeed our location is excellent for Reliant as well as Medical Center.

    We are in the initial planning stages of a major renovation which will update the entire hotel. Although the hotel is very clean and well-maintained, it could use an update.

    Indeed our staff is very nice; we enjoy taking care of our guests, making everyone feel at home and welcome.

    We hope to see you back soon.

    Kind regards,
    Sergio

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 8, 2013

    My husband attended a seminar in the Medical Center for a few days and I relaxed in the hotel most of the time. Wonderful pool and absolutely pristine, and lovely landscaping. Very relaxing. we thought the hotel rooms were a little dated but the place was impeccably clean and seemed to be well-maintained. The employees were extremely nice and friendly. Bruce at the bar and Elizabeth were always around in the evenings and knew what we liked to drink. The food was surprisingly good for a hotel, though on the expensive side, but we didn't mind because it was really sooo good. Our maid was always smiling and though her english wasn't very good, she always said hello and good morning. One of my best friends's daughter is getting married near Pearland and I will recommend that they have their wedding there. I assume the food is as good for a banquet than at the restaurant or bar. All in all, we really enjoyed being there and can't wait to next year when we have to come back to the area again. we will definitely stay there. Keep up the great work and thank you for a wonderful week away from home. Our only complaint is that their business center only had one computer which was always being used. They should add another one (at least). Also put movies in the rooms besides HBO.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. They also have an amazing pool of the Astrodome.
    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Steiner13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sergio O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

    Dear Steiner13

    Thank you for your very generous comments and for sharing your feedback in Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our beautiful hotel and our staff.

    Thank you also for posting such great photos of the restaurant. We do have a wonderful culinary and service team. I am glad you had an opportunity to enjoy it.

    We hope to see you back soon.

    Kind regards,
    Sergio

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews