We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area
Ranked #184 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I was a little hesitant to stay at this hotel after reading the reviews, but I had a meeting at the hotel to attend.
The hotel has been recently renovated and is beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the restaurant had nice service. I will certainly stay at this hotel again when I visit Houston.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank lpalBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 322 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2007

Stayed here for the Broncos/Texans game and frankly..was worried a bit about it due to other reviews I've seen. The fears proved to be totally unfounded.

We had a room on the 11th floor which had a pretty good view of the city. The room itself was very spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom, like the rest of the room, looked as if it had been recently remodeled.

Another pleasant surprise was the food. We had decent room service with food delivered in a timely fashion. The quality was very good as well. The hotel bar sees little action except on gameday but that isn't necessarily such a bad thing as it became an ideal place for a quiet evening drink.

Speaking of gameday, this hotel is right next to Reliant Stadium with a back gateway to exits right out into the stadium's parking lot...you can't get much more convienent than that.

Another myth to dispell here is that this hotel is supposedly in a "bad" neighborhood. This may have been the case when a lot of the people displaced by Katrina were living in the Astrodome, but that situation is long over with by now. We walked about to nearby restuarants unhassled and without fear.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Handoverfist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

My girlfriend and me booked this hotel for three nights. The kingsize room on the 2nd floor was nicely decorated and seemed clean at first sight. After some time I saw some ants on the desk and the floor. Tired as we were we didn't bother and went to sleep.

Next day there were ants all over the room, and we requested another room. The staff was very friendly and gave us a room on the 7th floor. Sice we directly found ants in the bed in that room as well, we went back to the front desk. Again the staff apologized and transferred us to a room on the 11th floor (executive level). This room was spotless.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel except for the nights so I have no opionion about the pool, bars or restaurants.

If there would have been no ants, I would have considered this place as OK. But now I will not returm in future.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ralph82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Location is great if you need to be near Reliant Center, Reliant Stadium or even the Medical Center. But there were roaches and the front desk staff didn't seem surprised about it (as they gave me a very small discount off my room rate). Other than that, this property seems pretty well maintained for an older property. Complimentary high speed wireless internet is a plus. But if I return to this area I will check out some of the other nearby, affordable properties.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tbtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dstephens, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2008

We have completely renovated the entire hotel in the last year and the rooms are fantastic. Previously the hotel needed the renovation and now the hotel features granite shower wall surrounds, granite countertops, granite floor, new carpet, drapes, bedding, and furniture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

This hotel is practically in Reliant Stadium's parking lot. It is maybe an 1/8 of a mile walk to the stadium. The hotel itself seems a little out of date but fairly clean for the most part. We stayed in an executive room. Other than a great view of the stadium and a mini fridge, I didn't notice anything special about the room. The bar and lobby are nice and the staff although a little slow at check in was friendly. If your going to an event at Reliant Park and don't want to drive, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank justices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Nice stay at this hotel. Management was very accommodating with large group attending a family reunion. Very convenient location with easy access to freeways and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NKTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Selected this Hotel due to its LOCATION next to Reliant Stadium ,an easy & safe walk across a parking lot. Room on Club Floor was clean & comfortable with a resonable rate that included discount coupons for breakfast..
On the negative side: Front Desk service was inconsistant , water was shut-off from 11am-5pm one day, Restaurant not open for all meals & due to a Dog Show in town , felt like I was living in a kennel on the final (thank goodness!!) day of my stay.. Overall not that bad of a Hotel but due to its LOCATION,will only consider returning when attending another event at the Reliant..

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr. Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Houston Near Reliant - Medical
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#204 of 517 in Houston
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- near NRG Park/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area

Address: 8111 Kirby Dr, Houston, TX 77054-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $134 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area is one of Houston's favorite hotels. The hotel is conveniently located off Loop 610 and Kirby Dr, just off the Upper Kirby District, with exclusive back gate access to NRG Park and NRG Stadium making us the most convenient Houston hotel near NRG Park. In addition, our Holiday Inn Houston hotel is minutes from the Museum District, Texas Medical Center, Galleria, Rice University, Rice Village and downtown. Catch the 'Metro Light Rail' located less than a mile from the Holiday Inn Houston NRG Med Center hotel for easy access to downtown as well as entertainment areas. Our hotel features the fun and friendly SIDELINES Lounge, TRELLIS Restaurant with excellent food, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a fitness center, large courtyard pool and a hot tub, business center and over 2320 square feet of meeting space. The Holiday Inn - NRG/Medical Center Area is the perfect choice for so many reasons. Come find out why we are the perfect Holiday Inn Houston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing