We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Ranked #16 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The level of service was exceptional. The car service for example was wonderful. The pool was great. Gym very nice. As others note, my room was fine and bathroom was just average. But, they made me feel very welcome- not something you can say about many hotels anymore.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandriava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    300
    105
    46
    23
See reviews for
217
309
66
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've visited Houston many times over the past decades and this hotel is always my last choice for a high end hotel in the area. This month I'm unfortunate enough to visit during the OTC so hotels were packed and this was a last resort (pun intended).

Here are some of the things that have made this stay less than good:

Food - the food is expensive for the minimalist plates you get. As an example I paid 47 dollars for 2 plates with 3 eggs, wet toast, and ice water. However, if you feel adventurous order from the chef... They seem to think adding novel greens to any plate makes it better dining....

Rooms - updated a bit with many in-room reminders of the actual age of the buildings construction. Light switches and some furniture is circa 70's while others look like the room was last refurbished in the 90s

It sounds like I'm complaining more than mentioning that it simply could be better with minimal effort, so here's my suggestion:

Stay a night here, then stay a night at The Houstonian (cheaper for similar rooms) or The ZaZa you will notice the run down nature of the hotel in comparison and the difference in the disposition of the service staff.

Basically, this is the last place you should go for the true "Four Seasons" experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Ben L,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I was sincerely sorry to hear you felt as if we didn't live up to your expectations of a luxury hotel, and assure you that we take your comments very seriously as we always strive to improve ourselves. The other hotels that you mentioned are great hotels as well, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Philippe Larrieu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I love Four Seasons, as they make business travel less painful and leisure travel more pleasurable. Their manners are impeccable without being affected, and all of their appointments are high quality. I had one minor complaint regarding the TV signal in my room, but I never bothered to mention it until I left, or else I'm sure someone would've addressed the situation immediately. Great meeting facilities, and an excellent lounge for upwinding. The Tuesday night Burger, Bourbon and Beer special is a great feature on all fronts. I was greatly pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrr2ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is located in downtown Houston, two blocks away from the Convention Center and four from a train station. The area around it is not very animated in the evening, few eateries and except for one or two bars with music and TV there is not much in terms of entertainment.

The hotel itself is quiet, immaculately clean and welcoming. The staff is exceedingly courteous and helpful. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom and associated amenities plentiful. While some details show some wear and tear they do not detract from the overall charm of this facility.

The only disappointment was the overpriced breakfast. For a cup of tea, a cup of coffee and two oatmeal servings we were charged over $41. I understand that the hotel is a luxury establishment but I also think that there has to be a certain awareness of cost vs. benefit. Suffice to say that this was the only meal in the hotel.

I have not visited the SPA or the pool but I rate highly The Four Seasons for the overall ambiance, elegance and style. Should you be on a business trip and have meetings in the area I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights while in town for a wedding. The staff was wonderful during check in and check out. The complimentary chips and salsa brought to our room were a nice touch and I loved the L'Occitane products in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable and they switched our pillows to polyfill from down and would have done the duvet insert but we said it wasn't necessary. Wi-Fi was slow. Parking fees are very high here although they were very efficient. Had a large group for breakfast in the dining room and that was the only low point - it took an hour before we were served our food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becontree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had a corporate booking and there was no breakfast included in the price of the room. The Wi Fi was not working at the 9th floor and the size of the room was not that great. Also, I was surprised to know that the hotel does not have a loyalty program nor any affiliations with any loyalty program.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankitjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations and certainly take your comments very seriously, as we want to make adjustments where needed. We hope you give us another chance to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Philippe Larrieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is top notch and first class. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite apt and lived the life of luxury. The hotel staff were more than helpful and gracious. The complementary car service was perfect for our short stay in the city of Houston.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helainew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Address: 1300 Lamar St, Houston, TX 77010-3017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#5 Spa Hotel in Houston
#10 Business Hotel in Houston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#18 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown and just steps away from Houston's renowned cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Houston
Four Seasons Houston
Houston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing