We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Weekend in Downtown Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Ranked #19 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This luxury hotel is located at the southern end of the downtown area of Houston. It is located just a couple of blocks away from the George R. Brown Convention Center and the Toyota Center (home of the Houston Rockets, Houston's NBA franchise). A magnificent restaurant is located on the third floor of this hotel, Quattro, featuring a wide variety of Italian influenced dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomAg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We are quickly becoming Four Seasons hotels/resorts brand loyalists!

After spending 8 nights at their location on Hawaii's Big Island "Four Season Hualalai" you would understand why (that resort should be on everyone's bucket list).

We are well traveled and so are our 3 children: current ages of 10 (twins) and a 7 year old. The Four Seasons makes 1st class family travel a pleasure. It's nice to find a brand who embraces traveling families rather than considering children a 'problem.' In addition - the Four Seasons knows how to cater to adults only as well!

Here are our thoughts regarding the downtown Houston location:

1. Heart of downtown - right across from the Toyota Center. Not just great for business but fun on weekends for families especially if attending a basketball game, concert, etc. Two different professional basketball teams were staying at the hotel the weekend we were there it my kids had fun spotting the players and speaking to them.

2. It does need a modern update --- even the font used on its name on the outside of the building is very outdated. It's NOT in bad shape - just seems 'old' and 'tired.' It reminds me of an old European hotel in style.

3. The rooms are great (a bit 'tired' looking) -- the beds are super comfortable, the bathroom amenities are great, very clean, etc.

4. We are AMEX Platinum holders and enjoy using the extras when going to The Four Seasons. We got an upgrade for our room, the kids had a snack when we walked into the room, and we got $85 toward dinner and free breakfasts. The hotel did make a mistake with our room but the manager, Matthew, was very understanding and we were taken care of with Four Seasons' excellent customer service.

5. Our wedding anniversary was the same week and my husband asked Quattro (restaurant) to do something and the manager of Quattro (we believe, Paul) went above and beyond after we had dinner with our kids.

6. Quattro: my kids and I had breakfast the first morning at Quattro's on AMEX (my husband was at a CME meeting). It was so GOOD! I had this whole wheat tortilla/quesadilla with eggs and fresh avocado. It was so simple and delicious! My kids loved their food, too. That night we had dinner at Quattro (only restaurant) and it was good, too. Our waiter was amazing - I wish I could remember his name. Note that although AMEX states an appetizer, entree, and dessert for 2 -- it's really just an $85 credit. Lastly, we had Sunday Brunch with our kids and it was excellent - an amazing amount of food that was all excellent. Our only complaint was that the roasted chicken was a bit dry. Plan on spending a couple of hours at this brunch - also included are some delicious fresh juices - don't forget to ask for some!

7. Kids: when you arrive, your children will get to choose between a stuffed horse or armadillo...so cute. They will find some food treats in your hotel room as well.

8. The gym is very nice and the pool is heated and on the same level. Great place to workout. Hint: always some fruit/tea/coffee and water bottles located in the gym!

Overall, we recommend this hotel - just wish the owners would update the look a bit. I'm sure it's great for business travelers due to its location.

Just my husband and I will return in February to attend the Sting/Paul Simon concert. We can't wait!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewistexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Me and my wife had a great stay at the Four Seasons, great location and excellent rooms. The staff was very helpful. We were only there for one night to see a show across the street at the House of Blues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Four Seasons is spot on with taking care of you before you even arrive. The executive suite was very nice and we booked a weekend special that gave us 1 night free. Location was great, just a few blocks from the Toyota center. With lots of celebs there like the Mavericks team, Charles Barkley, Joe Rogan, we had fun celeb spotting, Also got my picture with Dana White in the mall that connects to hotel. He is awesome and always gracious with fans. Bar was popping after the fight and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussU2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Rooms no better than an average holiday inn...okay location, average attendant service, blah restaurant/bar..only2 poor pillows on an average bed with average towels and amenities that you can get at a holiday inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkuyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your observations regarding your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is important to us as it's a guide for us to better serve our clients. However, it was certainly disappointing to learn of our failure to meet your expectations in many areas, and I wish to offer my sincerest regrets for your dissatisfaction. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in Four Seasons Houston.
Kind regards,
Philippe Larrieu
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for almost a week in November with the family while I was on a work trip. I was very impressed with the staff in general from the phone reservation to the reception and housekeeping. They were genuinely helpful and very family friendly, helping out my wife and kids while they were in the hotel. The popcorn gift for the kids was the highlight of their day after a 10-hour flight.

The hotel is smack in the middle of downtown Houston which is ideal for work. Beds were amazingly comfortable and the executive suite I was in was spacious and comfortable. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is definitely one of the best hotels that I have stayed in US. My room had a pool view and an entrance directly from my room. The best was very good. I really liked the in room facilities provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,498 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Address: 1300 Lamar St, Houston, TX 77010-3017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#10 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#18 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $279 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown and just steps away from Houston's renowned cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Houston
Four Seasons Houston
Houston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing