We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the call of duty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Ranked #19 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was taking my wife and mother to brunch on Mother's day 2013. Quattro was way over prescribed and since we, unfortunately, didn't have any reservations....they were unable to accomodate us.

Raul, the restaurant manager, apologized to my wife. Candidly, he had done nothing wrong. But he did go absolutely out of his way. He called a good friend who manages a very upscale restaurant in midtown Houston....and they squeezed us in at 10:45 am prior to their noon brunch avalanche.

We had a perfect mother's day brunch. The food and ambience were fabulous..and it all happened because Raul went the extra mile.

You don't find this type of customer service very often any more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed here several times, most recently earlier this week. Sad to report this location is not of the same high quality level as others in the chain. The rooms are nice but a bit dated and not as big as you'd expect in Texas. There are few electrical outlets (inexcusable in this day and age where everything needs a charger) and 2 of my outlets didn't work. Instead of fixing them the hotel simply brought a powerstrip. The bathrooms are luxurious and include updated shower/bath combo. The bed was disappointing, not very firm. When I requested a firm foam pillow (tempurpedic) I was told that the hotel doesn't stock them. Really? All kinds of athletes and celebrities stay here and the hotel can't afford to stock a few high end $70 pillows?

To be fair the pillows may not have mattered as there is always a lot of street noise here. I was on the 6th Floor and could hear the freight trains passing through the night, as well as trucks and traffic noise. On a prior visit there was noise from people leaving the arena after night games, and even a concert at a nearby park. This is not a good location if you are a light sleeper as the windows are not soundproofed.

The staff was uniformly friendly and did their best with what they had. Alas the restaurant bar was closed Sunday evening (not sure why - people still need to eat) but room service was available and the food was great and priced better than you would expect. The hotel has free car service to downtown Houston which is another plus and will pick you up at the end of the day, too. The pool and exercise room are excellent, as others have noted.

Overall, this is not a bad place to stay, but certainly does not meet the standards you expect for a FS luxury property. Next time I visit Houston I will probably return to the Hyatt, which has a nice bar and Starbucks in the lobby and much less street noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear guest,
We’re grateful for your candid feedback. We’ve shared your helpful comments regarding the electrical outlets, the tempurpedic pillows and the disturbing street noise with the appropriate managers. It wouldn’t be a bad idea for us to keep more of those items in stock. We greatly value this feedback, as it allows us an opportunity to make improvements where necessary.
Thank you again for your insight. Now that we know the areas that could have improved your experience, we will work diligently to ensure we meet these expectations on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Philippe Larrieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great place to be pampered! You can't walk through the front door without someone opening it for you. When we made reservations, they asked if we were celebrating anything. (our son graduating from law school) They upgraded our room to a suite so our other son would have his own space on a very comfortable pull out couch in the attached living room. The staff goes above and beyond to make everyone feel special. Kara was most helpful. From the bell hop to the pool staff, very attentive! High-class all the way! Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed just for 1 night. Lovely big room. Very comfy bed with excellent sleep quality. As I only stayed for 1 night I didnt get to check many of the facilities unfortunately. There are many decent restaurants close by so would recommend saving money by eating outside the hotel. I would return

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is an unusual Four Seasons; with views of parking lots, odd floor plans, and low ceilings, it struggles to feel special. There is only so much they can do, but some of the front desk staff try very hard to make up for the dumpy building in a poor location. Room service, not so much. The pool looks nice, but if the weather doesn't cooperate that's no help. My hope is someone builds a new hotel and this one becomes what it looks like, an Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe L, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations from your recent stay at Four Seasons Houston. Please allow me to extend a sincere apology for the disappointment you felt regarding our hotel. As our hotel is located in the convention and entertainment district of downtown Houston within walking distance of the George R. Brown Convention Center, Minute Maid Park, and the Toyota Center, some of our hotel rooms regrettably overlook the parking lots that service these facilities.

While I am glad the front desk staff tried to accommodate your requests, I am concerned about your comment regarding your experience with Room Service. Our staff is typically a very dedicated and caring group of people devoted to pleasing our guests, and I welcome you to contact me directly at philippe.larrieu@fourseasons.com so you can share with me the details of your experience.

Warm Regards,
Philippe Larrieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights during a trade show. Great staff -- courteous, pleasant, determined to do anything they can for you. Check out Phoenicia Foods across the street -- I gained three pounds as a result of 1 or 2 visits each day!

Room Tip: More open views to the SE & SW
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birderPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The exterior may fool you, but the Four Seasons is every bit the luxury experience you want! The beds are heavenly and the little touches at the fantastic pool - chair and towel service, fluffy robes, complimentary smoothie samples and blueberry ice cubes make it so worth every penny! Not to mention the premium service from the valet, complimentary car to downtown and front desk. I went for my birthday weekend and they even sent up free truffles for me!
The location is great and you can walk to Discovery Park, Phoenicia Foods and many other places. 100% recommend for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatorgrrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,498 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Address: 1300 Lamar St, Houston, TX 77010-3017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Houston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#10 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#18 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $280 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Houston 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown and just steps away from Houston's renowned cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Houston
Four Seasons Houston
Houston Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing