We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and in need of upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Ranked #72 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    432
    224
    107
    68
See reviews for
237
202
90
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location, location, location. Beautiful hotel (could use a minor update...decor is stuck in 1995), clean, well appointed, and great location off of freeway and in Galleria! My room was very large and comfy and the vanity/sink area was updated and smart. The toilet/tub was a separate room (which was a nice touch), but it looked like it was imported from a 1975 Holiday Inn. Bad tile, bad colors, just sad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is average, needs updating and the security needs updating. There in lies our problem, we stayed in the hotel for two nights on second day at approximately 12:30 pm some man opened our room door. We asked if he was with housekeeping he did not respond at all and eased the door closed. We just assumed he was with housekeeping. We left our room came back a few hours later and noticed a cigar on our balcony floor, we do not smoke, then upon closer inspection we noticed our luggage had been rummaged through. We promptly notified security,security insisted we move to a upgraded room with a complementary dinner, we refused three times not wanting to move our belongings however security insisted for security purposes we move the another room. We waited for about a half hour, security took us to our new room witch was not upgraded and not complementary dinner. Security apologized saying his supervisor was not available to approve the upgrades or meal.

Room Tip: We got the hotel on Priceline for $67
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelshoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hilton is located conveniently for business or shopping in the Galleria area. The hotel rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The main public spaces are somewhat dated and are in need of renovation. The small breakfast fare at the top level for frequent guests is underwhelming. For breakfast the main restaurant on the ground floor is adequate but overpriced. The lobby is spacious yet "cold" in design and needs a "warming" facelift. The self-park garage is somewhat distant from the lobby and inconvenient. In general it is an adequate hotel that has comfortable rooms however needs a total facelift to make it more comparable to other properties of simliar class and price point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallastraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a quick, in-town getaway. The location is central to the Galleria, with great restaurants and shopping in close proximity. There was a wedding going on while we were there, so things were a bit more hectic than I'm guessing they usually are. But it wasn't too distracting. They have a quaint little bar just off the lobby. The prices are a little steep, but I guess that's to be expected at a hotel, especially one in this area of town.

Our room was very big and well appointed. The bed was comfy and relaxing. The only drawback was the TV, it seemed a little old (slow and unresponsive). Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location is great if you are working in the Post Oak area of Houston. It is within walking distance of restaurants, etc., and there are good sidewalks in the area for running. However, the hotel is circa 1980s, and while the rooms have been updated somewhat, they need more. A lot of the public areas of the hotel are somewhat worse for wear. If you want the best Hilton in Houston, though, go to the Hilton Americas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshuad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The check-in process was unbelievably smooth--as in, I didn't even set down my bag at the front desk. The staff was courteous and efficient. The room was attractive with nice touches and excellent sheets. Some of the design elements were a little quirky, like the sliding louvered door to the bathroom would have bothered someone who prefers privacy in the bathroom. Overall, a good hotel made very good by its staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#36 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria

Property: Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Address: 2001 Post Oak Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Houston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#116 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Post Oak Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing