We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Ranked #69 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent service and a very comfortable, luxurious room. However, street noise was noticeable in our second floor room.
Restaurant and bar rates are high. Parking is at a premium for this location, too. Make sure you ask about extra costs like this when making your reservation.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a better choice because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quill78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very average rooms. Very average service. All at the cost of a five star hotel. Plus, keep in mind that you will need to add 40% to your overall room charges due to hidden fees. You have to pay for: parking, internet, all meals, business suites and just about anything else they can creatively charge you during your stay. My recommendation is save $180 per day and go elsewhere. Spend the money on your kids, or yourself.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 625MikeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you need to stay near the Galleria, this Hilton will do the trick. Pleasant atmosphere, super friendly staff, very comfortable rooms and beds and easy self parking options make this a great spot in the Galleria area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommygalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This Hilton surprised me, as I'd heard it was not that great. However, it is a pleasant hotel up to typical Hilton standards. It is a good choice if you'd like to be near the Galleria.

First, the location is excellent. It's very conveniently located just up the road from the Galleria mall. It is very easy to access the 610 freeway, and from there all of Houston's main freeways. Main local roads are close too -- the Post Oak Blvd. itself is a major north-south artery. There are good restaurants (try Yia Yia Mary's for Greek) and shopping venues in the area. It is a short drive to Memorial Park and Westheimer's shops and restaurants.

Being near the freeway comes at a price of course -- my room faced south and I could see and hear 610's buzz of cars. But the hotel is far enough away that it wasn't too bad. I imagine some rooms are quieter depending on exactly which direction they face. The scene from the front is prettier, as there are some nice trees/buildings, versus a more typical Houston scene of road chaos and electric towers off to the south.

The lobby is bright and spacious with plenty of seats in which to relax. I had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and it was standard hotel fare (better than some Hiltons I've been in). I didn't use the business center or gym.

My room was comfortable, although a bit awkwardly designed. It was long and narrow, and the bathroom was a bit small. However, the bed and furnishings were very comfortable.

The Hilton Americas downtown is a nicer, newer and much larger hotel. It is great for that location. But if you need to be by the Galleria, this is a decent choice. It's really a 3.5 star option, but its comfort and the friendly staff push it to a 4 rather than 3. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet or bright room if those things matter to you -- I suspect there are many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlySwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Very nice review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We definitely have many room types and layouts so if you come back again, be sure to let us know what you prefer (Rooms facing Post Oak, high floor are great!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very close to the Galleria and the various strip malls nearby. But otherwise it was hard to find anything of interest nearby. Rooms ok but the windows are thin. Traffic noise would be intrusive we're it not for the white noise from the ac. No fridge but the room had a coffee/tea maker. On my last day the wifi dropped out every few seconds which was exasperating.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank HPB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Post_Oak, Director of Sales at Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We have addressed the wifi issues you mentioned with our provider and hope the next time you return to the area you'll notice an improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for one night (99.00 + tax) . Hotel is nicely kept up. Checkin was fast. No fridge. Heater was a bit loud. Parking is $15.00 per night in the garage. (we were not aware of this). There are tons of shops (high- medium end) nearby in walking distance. Luckily, there was a Marshalls across from here where I picked up a nice belt. Galleria mall is 10 min away. Overall, decent place, would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkgnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had stayed for just one night there, and checking in was fast. The lobby looked a bit tired, and there was nothing special about it.

I got a room on the higher floor, facing the parking lot. The room was big with lots of space. Didn't find a fridge. The bed were comfortable, and the bathroom looked a bit dated.

Just an ordinary hilton hotel room, nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#27 of 517 in Houston
901 reviews
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria

Address: 2001 Post Oak Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Houston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#116 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $139 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Post Oak Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing