We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, and shuttle service ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria
Ranked #62 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in the middle of great shopping even beyond the Galleria next door. Four ladies on a girls trip never had to venture further than a few blocks the entire weekend for great food and retail therapy.

Malle, the shuttle service driver, was courteous and very helpful driving us back and forth to dinners. The other staff was pleasant as well.

The hotel itself is updated in some places, like flat screen tvs, carpeting in rooms, and vanity area but less in other places, like the showers.

Overall a good value when booked through third party provider

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Hilton Post Oak many times and have never been disppointed. Right in the heart of the Galleria, River Oaks and on the Westheimer Shopping and Dining row this hotel fits the bill. Prices seem reasonable even when we upgrade to the executive floors for access to the breakfast and cocktail lounge on the 14th floor. Service is always friendly and efficient. The Galleria Mall and all the top end restaurants are no more than a half mile walk. Cannot beat the location. Give it a try. Parking is unlimited in and out and was only $12 a day. Valet is more but not necessary as your car is in the garage accessed through the lobby. If you drive just go by the front door, turn right down the narrow street and into the garage. No sweat.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room facing northwest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tidbitsm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we enjoy staying at this hotel because of the wonderful service, it's excellent location and low well it is maintained (very clean, clean rooms). we also upgrade to concierge because we feel there's excellent value for the lovely breakfast that is then included. the ballrooms facilities are fabulous for events. the higher floor the better the view.
also, the car service for the galleria area is extremely courteous and makes it very convenient if you are traveling with one car and two of you are going in different directions. although it isn't an easy walk to the galleria, the car service which is included makes it very easy to get around.

Room Tip: definitely, definitely worth the upgrade to concierge level as the breakfast is delightful - both go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sat6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while on business travel. The hotel is located just off the 610 freeway near the galleria but not as close as some of the other nearby hotels. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Galleria. The hotels is clean with attentive staff with a good restaurant and a nice bar where I was a able to grab a quick bite on the night I arrived.

I am a Hilton HHonors diamond member and I usually get upgraded to the executive level or a junior suite but I have not gotten to the executive level on both occasions I have stayed here. I did however get access to the executive lounge which is comfortable with large flat screen TVs and printers which were always accessible when I needed them. The food in the lounge was a bit less impressive than at other executive lounges I have been to but it was adequate.

The gym is nicely appointed with separate rooms for cardio machines and weights. It was never crowded while I was there and I did not have a problem finding machines. The pool was deserted during the times I went to the gym. This may be because there are very few children or people staying for leisure. The benefit is that the hotel is very quiet and condusive to getting work done. I had a good night's rest on each night I was there.

Self parking is very convenient with card key access to the garage. The daily rate is $14 which I think is fair for the area.

The one problem I had with my stay was the extremely slow internet speed. My wife had noticed that web pages took a very long time to load. I used a speed tester app and found that the download speed was only 400kbps. This is about 1/20 of standard home cable modem speed.

If you are coming to Houston for business near the Galleria area, this is a decent business hotel with all the services I would expect. If coming here for leisure or to shop, I might choose the nearby Westin or Royal Sonesta which look more upscale. I would come here again on business.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vangogh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Actually booked 2 nights thru Priceline, then was able to add one more night, once there thru Priceline for same rate.
Hotel is greaty located in the Galleria area, great for shopping, lots of eating options!
Room was on 3rd floor, views was pretty good, but a higher floor may have a gotten us a better view. Bed was comfortable, the bathroom configuration was a little different, you have the vanity area, then a separate room for the restroom and bathtub/shower.
Coffee machine in vanity area!
Did use the workout equipment, overall not a lot of choice but not too many people in there either, so was Ok.
Pool was quite big, did not get a chance to use it, bar there did not seem to be open, so not quite sure you could get drinks there!
Self parking is available around the corner, so don't feel obligated to use the valet parking, not free but much cheaper!
So, a very good hotel overall for the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franceflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice Hilton with a ton of ammenities. The staff was extremely nice and went out of their way to make you feel welcomed. From the outside the hotel doesn't look like much but it's a huge property. The room was very nice with a lot of space. The fitness room and pool were fair but adequate. The location is great if you're wanting to be near the Galleria but also near the convention center and many of the stadiums. I'd recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Most of the hotels in the Houston Galleria with more than a 3 star rating are well kept and well staffed. This was an easy one to lioke - very convenient location, large rooms, great valet parking staff. Only drawbacks though minor- is the Air Conditioner is quite loud as it works on and off to regulate temperature in the rooms. Also a good tip for the morning rush is if you are leaving at prime time ( 7:30- 8:15 am- give enough time and call ahead for your car- it is a large business hotel and its wise to allow extra time for this...Otherwise if price is right I will gladly return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
JW Marriott Houston
JW Marriott Houston
#24 of 518 in Houston
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria

Address: 2001 Post Oak Blvd, Houston, TX 77056-4401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Houston
#28 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#116 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $131 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Houston Post Oak by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Houston Post Oak Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing