We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buggy suspects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #110 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great location- very comfortable beds and groovy decor. Everything seems well maintained and clean however on the downside- my husband swears he was bitten. Bed bugs were the suspected culprit. Who knows. After that I was itchy too- I kept telling myself it was the hard water.
At 4 AM someone was trolling the hallway screaming for Jessie to come back. Sounds like many negatives but in fact if it were not for the itching it was a pleasant stay. We have an issue with valet parking but I guess that is a big city for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgoldman, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Good afternoon.
First, I would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel.
However, I was quite distressed to read that you have suspicions about bed bugs. In this day and age, we take that kind of thing very seriously and I would like to investigate immediately. Would you please contact me at saundra.goldman@hilton.com with the date of your stay and room number or last name? I will want to have the room inspected immediately and I will be sure to follow up with you to let you know our findings.
Sincerely,
Saundra Goldman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

I like this hotel. It is well located, in a downtown, next to the highway. Our rooms was very spacious, very comfortable and quiet. I like hotel's design and big windows. Complimentary biscuit at check-in is a great idea. It was very tasty. Very good experience from start to end. I recommend this hotel highly. Tip: You can find cheaper parking on the other side of the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ke1con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This Doubletree was terrific. The room was very spacious. We unexpectedly had another guest stay in our room so we had to put a rollaway in and it still seemed spacious. Everything very, very clean. Loved the complimentary transportation. The breakfast menu was a very good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueInUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The Sweet Dream bed by Serta as advertised is very comfortable. Together will down feather pillows and duvets you will have a sweetdream sleep. The restaurants are average. Recommended for business traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnderTheSheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at the hotel while in town for a Cubs-Astros baseball game. Service was very good. Rooms were very clean and modern. Quiet accommodations for a downtown hotel located near the interstate. About the only drawback was the only free Wi-Fi was in the lobby.

GREAT value compared to other downtown hotels!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viloniacubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stay at this DT often for business, not for anything special about the hotel or rooms, but for the location. On this trip, my room was not clean when I opened the door so the hotel "upgraded" me to a handicap accessible room (I think that's what it was). Bathroom was strange configuration with zero vanity space and no electrical outlet near a mirror - needs serious redesign work. First time I've stayed in one of these rooms here. If offered this upgrade, JUST SAY NO.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyoffourdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Terrific location for "downtown" activities. We were in town for annual Houston Art Car parade. The parade went in front of the hotel. The lobby is spacious. The check-in staff was friendly and truely interested in our stay. We booked our stay on PriceLine.com, for $56 + taxes. One desk clerk didn't do what he told us he would, and 2 days later, another clerk had to finish what the first one didn't do at check-in. Minor inconvenience. Rooms were very nice. The hotel is solid as a rock. We went to the gift shop on Sunday morning, and were told that they had already sold their (only) 3 copies of the Houston Tribune. Parking was extra, and valet only. No self park. :-( Elevators were fast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 518 in Houston
2,007 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 518 in Houston
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#145 of 518 in Houston
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $116 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing