We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression, rooms a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #89 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great first impression, rooms a little dated”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Everyone was terrific at this hotel. What an awesome location. I'd definitely stay here again. The next morning I did notice a few things that led me to suspect tht the place may be a bit older than I first thought. We got a great rate and had a nice walk to the Astros game. No regrets.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh_guy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We hope if you visit the Astros again, you chose us to stay with. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    363
    208
    105
    64
See reviews for
157
240
81
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2014

The hotel itself is nice enough, it's a good location downtown and has access to the tunnel system. I made my reservation through priceline and got a great deal. I arrived a little past midnight. The night clerk did not seem very interested in talking to us. She said they had no king beds only two fulls, which was fine. However, when we went to our room - it was occupied. Fortunately we realized it as we opened the door and avoided any awkward encounter with whoever was there.

The lady at the front desk was hardly apologetic about the situation but did give us a new room (this one did have a king size bed which was nice). The room was great. It's been about two weeks now and I was charged over 3 times over the amount I agreed to via priceline. Additionally, they charged me twice. I'm over $700 in the hole for what was supposed to be at $90 room. It's incredibly frustrating and I can't imagine how this happened. I'm hoping this issue can be resolved with double tree but as it stands I'm having to go through my credit card company.

Room Tip: get the triangle room it's way cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your feedback. Hearing directly from guests is important as it tells us what we are doing well and what we need to do to improve. I hope you will accept my most humble apology for the unfriendly service and for the other issues and frustrations you experienced. I will promptly take the steps necessary to correct the problems you have brought to my attention. I am confident that if you return to our hotel, you would have a much improved experience. If I can be of assistance in booking a future stay, please do not hesitate to contact me at toya.berry@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed here because of the proximity to our business meetings. While the location suited our needs fine, the room we had booked (king bed) turned into two doubles and there was no hot water (lukewarm at best) in our morning shower. The valet staff was great.

Room Tip: Check your bill - twice we stayed here and twice were overcharged from quoted rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am not certain why we would charge you twice or double of what you were quoted. Would you mind e-mailing me your confirmation information and I would be more than happy to investigate. Toya.berry@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is great !looks great ,the valet is a little much with the cost of the rooms but the service is GREAT and the staff is GREAT housekeeping GREAT food good hot when serve but a little prices. Staff is very helpful all over and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback of our staff and the hotel. We are glad to here we met your expecations and hope you keep us in mind if travel take you back to Downtown Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The staff at the front desk of this hotel was discourteous and rude and overall just could not be bothered. Particularly, the night staff. Waited over 7 hours for a rollaway bed because they "were just too busy". They were very rude to my 11 year old son when he asked for help-I had to get involved. The only thing that was excellent was the breakfast served at the restaurant and the staff there. I would not recommend this hotel, particularly if traveling with children.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We greatly apologize for the unnecessary frustrations you experienced. Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. We would love the chance to further discuss your stay. Please feel free to reach out to us at your earliest convenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Afghanistan
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I liked the upscale feel of luxury, but it came at a steep price. $30 to park overnight, and the breakfast was $14 for continental and $18 for buffet! Walls are thin and we could hear every word the guests next door said. No refrigerator in room. but the staff was friendly and location good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. On your return visit, we do offer complimentary microwaves and refrigerators to our guest. We are glad that the staff was a positive impact on your stay and hope you choose us if travel take you back to Houston Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2014

In making my reservation over the phone, I was offered a special $10 breakfast offer. I didn't take the offer, but called the front desk to inquire after arrival if the offer was still available and what type of breakfast did the offer consist of. The front desk personnel were both unaware of the offer and what would have been offered on the menu. Their reply was finally after checking, that it was only a reservation offer and they were unaware of what it consisted of! There was also an issue of being able to hear all nite someone's television!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your reservation booking experience with us. If there is a promotion that is offered from different booking channels from reservations, it is included in the rate. We currently have several different options that the DoubleTree Brand of Hotels offer with breakfast included and some are offered at properties and some are not. I apologize if we were not able to assist you with this. I will share with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#37 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#117 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#211 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing