We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Houston Downtown - Very helpful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #88 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Sugar Land, United States
2 reviews
“Doubletree Houston Downtown - Very helpful Staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for 1 night with significant other for Valentine's day with a romance stay package. The front desk staff was very helpful to deliver a surprise to the room prior to arrival. However the bubblies that were included in the package was delivered really late; we understand they must be overwhelmed by requests but the delay by 2.5 hours toned down the excitement of having the complete surprise for him. Boyfriend works in a hotel too, so agree very much with his comment that the room and bathroom were a little bit outdated and has that feeling from the 80's except for the flat screen TV and alarm clock (no iPod connection), however they are clean and fresh. Room sound insulation is not as good as expected; we can still hear television from the room next door late in the evening. The bubblies came without the pre-requested chocolate covered strawberries; however the room service person was gracious enough to get one strawberry tray for us from her stash in the cart outside. Breakfast was very good; lots of choices and the servers were also very courteous and proactive in understanding our needs. Overall was an average to good stay; I put in very good due to the fact that the staff really tried to make things work for us and we're grateful for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ronny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We hope to see you next year if Valentine's Day take you back to Houston Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    358
    200
    103
    64
See reviews for
154
238
80
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The walls are paper thin. Had a noise violation because I was talking to my friend in my room. I could hear the next door occupant talking on the phone and I could hear the person on the other end of the phone the next day. Not a fun hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
288 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Checked in Saturday 2/8/2014 for a half marathon the next day.
THE GOOD
Ouside LOOKS elegant
Check In
In/Out valet options.
The hotel was the next block over on race day.
You are given chocolate chip walnut cookies upon arrival
The view of the surrounding buildings

THE BAD ;
There is ONLY valet parking at this hotel $28(weekday) but we paid the $18(weekend rate) but when we drove up we were just stared at and only when I got out to check in and I asked the desk agent she told me they wait until you check in."Well hello how much effort does it takes to say that instead of just looking at us. We have stayed at hotels with valet(as an option) but they at least greeted us.
The rooms seemed dated other than the flat screen tv, not what was expected after that GRAND entrance into the hotel.
You can hear hallway noise very clear and it was the staff.
NO FREE WIFI
No fridge or microwave in room
We stayed in room 1521 and you could clearly hear people getting ice.

The Bar-The Restaurant

We had not eaten all day so decided to try the food at the onsite restaurant. Well we were looking at the menu place outside the restaurant but it was closed during the time and we could not wait. The bar attendant by the name of Andrea came up to us and explain they have the same lunch menu as the restaurant so we agreed to eat there. Although Andrea was very nice and seemed to be working alone,I would not recommend food from the bar or restaurant.
First, crumbs were in the seat and I switched chairs. I never saw anyone clean them or tables, but I guess because poor Andrea was working alone.
Second, It took about 25 minutes for 2 orders of wings(BURNT per my family members) at $11.50 each and cheese quesadilla in which I was still charged $12.50 for chicken quesadillas.(RIDICULOUS)

This is where conveinence can cost you.I later went back for the order for the 3 of us in the room.Club sandwich with fries $11.50 shrimp cocktail(DO NOT ORDER) 4 tiny shrimp and VERY large cucumber slices $11.00(TOTALLY NOT WORTH IT)...1 soft drink $1.85....$9 spinach dip in which you got food poisoned the day of your marathon PRICELESS.

At least after I got food poisoning and became very ill the tall valet did offer assistance as well as the desk staff. I am unsure if I will return or recommend.

If you are traveling during the week I saw a Zero's sandwich shop and a Jason's Deli only a few steps from this hotel. I would not RISK the food from the bar/restaurant

Room Tip: DO NOT GET ROOM 1521 you can hear the ice machine when in use
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We would like to apologize for the unwelcoming valet staff and the spinach dip. If you would like to share additional feedback with us, please e-mail me at toya.berry@hilton.com. We would like to address the challenges you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked at last minute to attend a family funeral. Was allowed to check in early and out late with no questions asked. Hotel has beautiful rooms and good views. I recommend upgrading to a corner room and a high floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slangseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. If travel takes you to Downtown Houston again, please keep us in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night. Check-in was efficient. Location was in downtown Houston but was deserted on weekend night. The room was large and well furnished. Only negative was the absence of a room safe. Didn't check out the restaurants or bar or see if there was a fitness centre.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. If you are an HHonors Member, please e-mail therefore I can update your profile to reflect your room perference. We are also glad to hear the check-in was efficient. We do have complimentary safe access at the front office if you return. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The room is comfortable, room service is good, the hotel is a very good option for business trips.
The hotel restaurant is Ok. The location is good, very close to many big companies offices, but there are not many things to do near the hotel if you don't have a car.
The only thing I didn't like about my room was the fact that It wasn't possible to open the windows.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lucianagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We do offer a complimentary shuttle with in the Downtown area if you choose to venture off on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Valets, shuttle drivers, concierge, waitstaff, bartenders, housekeepers, room service -- all very accommodating. Food particularly good, and lots of storage in room. Hotel staff knowledgeable of downtown Houston. A great value. Room SO comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JanWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear our staff went on and beyoned to make your stay and rewarding experience. We hope to see you on your return visit to Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#36 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#101 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#219 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing