We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but can use an upgrade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #102 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for New Years. It was a nice stay. The hotel front desk staff were very friendly. The only problem I had was when I went to the bar. The bartender was slow and kept skipping us to take our order. She could've been a little friendlier too. But other than that, the rooms were nice and comfortable. The rooms were a little old though but still not bad.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Hiren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I have also shared with our Outlets Manager of your concern with the Bartendar. I assure you this is not the norm. We hope you visit us again on your return visit to Houston Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

It is a perfect hotel in the Downtown area. The staff is very kind and helpful and the facilities are great. They have a good restaurant (the breakfast is not great though). You will experience no problems whatsoever in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback on our staff. If you would like to share additional feedback with our Executive Chef, you can e-mail him at Dax.Moreno@hilton.com for your experience with the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Conveniently situated for Downtown businesses, rather bland hotel providing adequate facilities but not much else. pleasant enough bar are in Atrium. Breakfast buffet average, limited fresh fruits. Steak restaurant OK again nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. If you would mind sharing additonal feedback with our Executive Chef, you can e-mail him at Dax.Moreno@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is in need of a major renovation. It's old and smelly. This is the second time I stayed there and in both stays my room was never serviced by housekeeping. The walls are paper thin.Both phones in the room didn't work. Had to use my cel phone if I need anything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for it. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I enjoy staying at this hotel every time I'm in the downtown area. The staff is very professional, friendly, and attentive. The hotel is also quiet and aesthetically pleasing. The hope to dine there at some point since the dining area looks appealing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. We strive to create a Rewarding Experience for all of our guest and on your visit, we did just that! Happy Holidays and see you on your return visit to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Location is good if you plan to work in the downtown. Its a walk away from most office buildings. Valet team is efficient but they park the cars a few blocks away. One cool services was that you can text them to bring the car 10-15 ahead, but if you don't make it to the front in 15 mins they can take the car back to the parking lot which again is a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dives-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our hotel survey. We are glad to hear that the new Valet text message system is working for your guest and is more efficient. We hope to see you on your return visit to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for either business or leisure trip. The hotel has a very nice, full service lobby including restaurant. The rooms are also very nicely furnished. Great walk-to location for downtown Houston destinations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We receive several reviews about our open Lobby Bar. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you on your return visit to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
1,955 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#131 of 517 in Houston
108 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $119 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing