We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but could definitely be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #113 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is expensive, right in the heart of downtown Houston, and close to some business centers of the city. It was very easy staying here and having a meeting the next day across the street. However for the price I think the hotel could be better. The TV in my room was freezing constantly, and the internet was lagging. These aren't huge issues but for the price you would expect these things to be taken care of.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate guest feedback as it assist us with training and coaching our staff. We are sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectation and hope you will give us another chance at making it right on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Doubletree us a very good hotel in downtown Houston. The rooms were a good size, the staff is friendly and competent, and the location is good for downtown activities. The restaurant and bar are also very good. The food is good, the prices are reasonable for a hotel, and the staff was generally very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We appreciate your feedback on our hotel staff, outlets and rooms. We hope we are your first choice if travel takes you back to Downtown Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

There were several major and minor issues with my stay. Rooms are fine, and seemed average among Double Tree properties at which I have stayed. Service is terrible, especially for the experienced traveler. Valet took 45 minutes to retrieve our car even after calling in advance, causing us to be late to a wedding. The restaurant attempted to charge us extra without explaining the difference between "continental" and "full buffet" despite the offerings being fewer than I have seen at almost any other Hilton property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Matthew P,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected, and I apologize that we fell short of our standards. I have passed your comments along to the staff to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

When i arrived i asked for a luggage cart to be brought to me. After waiting almost 20 minutes and watching 4 or 5 people get carts, i grabbed all my stuff and walked in the front door. No one offered to help. When i got to my room, i discovered that it was a triangle, only too small to really fit anything in, in addition to being tired in terms of the paint and the curtains. At breakfast on saturday in your restaurant, the service could not have been any worse. Took forever to get served. When they did take the order they got it wrong. When they finally brought my toast, i was done with breakfast. And that was bad enough and then i had to ask for more coffee twice, of course when i had already asked for the check, then they put a pot of coffee on the table. oh, and i asked three different times over 2 days for change for a twenty and your crack staff couldn't even pull that off. all in all, you need to refund what i paid you and give me three times the points for putting up with that lame excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Paul T,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We always try to do whatever we can to make sure that our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected, and I apologize that we fell short of our standards. I have passed your comments along to the staff to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Worn-out place. Worst sleeping experience - bed sheets smelled cigarettes in a non-smoking hotel. Overall experience is rather low. Do not stay in a room with proximity to the elevator - you will hear annoying beeps not only when it stops at your floor, but on each floor it passes on the way up and down.I would not choose this place if it were not the conference venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that you were inconvenience during your stay and had lack of sleep. Our Director of Housekeeping has been in contact you with and assisted with the changing of your linens for both days during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Never had problems in 3 stays on business trips and prefer it over the other nearby large chain hotel because of the lower price and as a Hilton member, free wifi and bottled water. Access to tunnels in the early AM (though I couldn't get there through the tunnel because the Allen Center door was locked and security didn't answer intercom. I haven't tried the restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous12357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. The Downtown Tunnel system is opend from 6:30-5PM with most stores closing at 4PM. It is a great place to hang out when bad weather and or shopping for essentials. Please see our Concierge, Peter when you return. He has a ton of entertainment to share with you while you visit Downtown Houston.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was attending a Conference at your hotel and I have never had a problem before, but this time there was several of us that were bit by bugs in our rooms. The staff assured us that there were no bugs, but we were still being bit up. They changed the sheets, comforters and still got bit up. I don't think it was bed bugs, but I'm suspecting fleas, since you do allow dogs at the hotel. All the rooms on the right of the elevators on floor 15 needs to have bug people come out, since this is where most of the bites were coming from that section of the hotel and also the 20th floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We have been in contact with you on the bug issue and we have sent out the exterminator to check on the rooms that you were in. We apologize for the problem this may have caused you and assure you this is not the norm. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,025 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#7 of 518 in Houston
500 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#146 of 518 in Houston
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $113 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing