We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Internet Service in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #114 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've stayed here three times and one thing is consistent - terrible internet. It's especially true in the weirdly shaped "upgrade" rooms. If you want to to connect, you need to be close to the very noisy elevators. On the plus side, you do get a free cookie.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Colin_Lisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We are sorry to hear you had inconsistent service with our internet. We are currenlty addressing this issue and hope to have a resolution soon. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope on your return visit we can place you in a room with better connectivity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

A typical downtown hotel, but all the staff made the stay pleasant. Valet parking only, sobe prepared for that. It would be nice to have a parking sharing arrangement with the garage across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We are glad to hear our staff was engaging during your visit. We understand that Downtown parking is only valet at hotels and we try to provide the best and easiest service to our guest. We hope to see you on your return visit to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

first time in a Doubletree and not sure what the difference is between it and a Hilton. All the staff were top notch, always asking if everything was OK, breakfast choice quite good, and the restaurant also good. At less than $100 per night it was great value, panoramic windows - though not much of a view, though when the lightening was flashing it was well worth pulling the curtains back.

Location was good, 5 min walk to main street, i was surprised just how quiet this area was, 5 min or so tram ride down to museum district cost $1.25 each way. The walk late at night should be fine because you pass by the police station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricc099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! Everyone is surprised to know that DoubleTree is a Hilton property. We are glad to hear our staff was top notch during your stay with us. Some guest don't like the panaromic view rooms but I do! We hope to see you on your return visit to Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a professional staff. The rooms are a bit small but very up to date and clean. The bed was comfortable and the location is good. This is a good hotel for a couple or a business traveler. It does not appear to be family friendly as the walls are a bit thin and you have to use the pool across the street at the other Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliverTwist66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Kudos to the staff for meeting your expectations. We do also cater to familys with our pet friendly policy, passes to the pool at the Hilton and tour booking with our Concierge. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your return visit to Houston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Overall the Doubletree Downtown Houston is an excellent location and perhaps the best value in the city. The staff was friendly, warm, and eager to assist anytime they were in my proximity. Was impressed by the housecleaning staff as well even though I preferred not to have my room cleaned. I usually hang the "do not disturb" on the door for short stays when I am alone. No need to clean up for just myself. However, when I returned to my room and the housekeeper was at the room next door she spoke up and offered any services I needed. Even if just to exchange my towels, provide additional amenities, etc. She was pleasant, full of smiles, and seemed very happy. While I insisted that the room was fine and dind't require any services she wanted to make sure there was nothing I needed. Quite a different experience from a more budget location I was in the week before. Highly recommend if you are in need of a downtown Houston stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear the staff exceeded your expectations and that of the housekeeping attention to detail. Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you on your return visit to Houston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed here many times and have always been satisfied. It is convenient to both downtown and the Galleria area. It is a great meeting place for work or pleasure. Close to many restaurants and close access to the tunnels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Being located in a convienent location to shops and food is what makes a stay enjoyable! See you next time you are in Houston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Disappointing stay for a Hilton property. Had to hunt for working outlets for our laptops. No outlet in the lamp on the desk but each of the nightstand lamps had 2 outlets that didn't work. Room was a little tight for a handicap accessible room. Beware of the extra fees and taxes. Charged me for internet use for each of my laptops until I pointed out I was a Hhonors member. The complimentary shuttle to and from the Hobby Center was great. The floor to ceiling windows affording a view of either the parks or downtown as they advertised gave us a commanding view of a parking garage across the street.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, double check to find out what the view is showing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We will be happy to address the outlets in your recent guest room if you email me at toya.berry@hilton.com. Glad you enjoyed the shuttle service to and from the Hobby Center. Our location is perfect for the proximity to the Hobby Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,004 reviews
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 518 in Houston
497 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $116 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing