We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay for a concert.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #110 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was clean, staff was attentive and price was good for a weekday stay in downtown Houston. There was no in room safe and décor was slightly dated. The breakfast buffet was exceptional and made up for the shortcomings of the room.

Room Tip: ask for downtown side view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We are delighted to hear that the staff was attentive to you and your guest needs. I have also shared your feedback on the decor of the hotel. Again, thank you and we hope you choose us for your next concert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this hotel because it is the only Hilton hotel downtown on my companies list. I think next time I will have to deal with the morning drive. I have noticed that the room was in serious disrepair. The bathroom door would not shut (didn't really matter since I was traveling alone but the latch was completely gone) none of the power outlets on the lamps worked, I had to unplug the alarm clock so I could charge my phone. But the thing that was just plain unacceptable, was the A/C. In Houston, even in April, you have to have a working A/C. The first night was hot, it would work for 10 minutes and then stop. I notified them the second day (today), and they guy just said "well it's working now".... Really that's all you have to say?? Completely unacceptable to me. Obviously its not, its been set on 64 for 4 hours and its still 74 degrees in the room. You could tell it wasn't working just by the terrible sound it was making (which also made it difficult to sleep). They have a new system for the valet where you can text your ticket number or scan a QR code and they will have your car waiting when you get down stairs. Pretty cool..... didn't work. If you are really in a hurry, just call down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator (and preferably one with a working A/C)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex_Fam08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I would first like to apologize for the service that was provided; as this is not the norm at our property. Would you mind sharing additional feedback with me on your room number and dates of stay so the Operational Managers can investigate? My email is: toya.berry@hilton.com. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice but they overcharge & you have to use valet parking $28 plus tipping if you need your car. It's worth it if you want a place close to the ballpark & have lots of money! Not worth the $170 for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatteKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Parking downtown is limited for all hotels and therefore the parking rates we charge are comparable to the downtown properties. We do offer a rate that has parking included if you visit our website for future travels.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here while attending the 2013 Dance Salad Festival and recieved an EXCELLENT rate in conjunction with the festival - $99 vs. $249 adversited per night... my four star rating is based on my lower rate. The hotel is convenient if you need or want to be in downtown Houston which I found to be very sterile. There are lots of tall office buildings so not alot going on after 5pm. The hotel itself is clean and I found it to be quite but another guest complained about a party in the hallway on his floor. My biggest complaint was the non-functional wifi. If I had not recently upgraded to a 4g enabled iPad, I would have been furious. It was very difficult to connect to the wifi and then it would drop you within 10 minutes or less and require a new logon. If you are wifi dependent, this hotel is NOT the place for you unless this problem has been fixed.

Room Tip: The poor service rating is due to the non-functional wifi. Value at my conference rate would have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuxTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We checked into the Doubletree Downtown Houston with a very quick and easy check-in, even though we were somewhat early. To make it even more pleasant, we were gifted with huge, warm, chocolate chip cookies! Our rooms were spacious and very comfortable, plenty of nice big towels. The location was great for seeing downtown attractions. We were able to walk to and from the Hobby Center where we attended a show. I'm sure we were back at the hotel before many had even gotten to their cars! No breakfast is included with the room, but there is a nice breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. Valet parking is mandatory because there is no self-parking nearby, and it is expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvsthingsgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! The DoubleTree Chocolate Chip and Walnut Cookie are mouth watering! Being with in walking distance of the Hobby Center is a plus. Valet parking downtown is all paid parking and valet only but across from the hotel is a self parking facility that is $10. It does not allow in and out priviliges but with our complimentary shuttle within Downtown, you should be fine!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

To start, we had to change rooms 3 times. The first room was filthy. The front desk was very helpful in moving us to another room. It appeared to be okay...until we turned off the lights to go to sleep. I heard a cough, and thought someone was in the room with us. I turned the lights back on to find that the walls are so thin, you can actually hear the person in the next room as if they were in your own. Therefore, we spent the entire night listening to our neighbor cough and his alarm going off over and over (and over and over). I cannot believe the walls are this thin. We could hear the conversation next door, and they were speaking in a normal tone. So, we moved...again. The bar was very nice, and the shuttle is great. The staff was very friendly, but overall, I cannot believe this hotel is rated so highly. The rooms offer nothing special, they aren't clean (none of the three rooms I saw were very clean, but the first was filthy), and there is absolutely no privacy or sleep quality. The friends traveling with us found their room had dirty sheets. When they called the front desk, they were told housekeeping had gone for the day, but they could come down to pick up new sheets. We were pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I assure you this is not the norm. I have shared your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping to address with the team. I will also inform my team at the front desk that if a guest contact them for in room amenities, they should have it delivered by our security officer on duty after hours.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The most annoying thing about this hotel (and Hilton in general) remains the no free wi-fi. (unless you are an upper-level Honors program member, which I am not) I also do not like that there are no in-room safes. With the expensive electronics most people travel with now days, this should be a given in any room. For this stay we were on the 14th floor, just 2 doors down from where the elevators are. Thank god I packed my ear plugs...the elevators "ding" constantly...why??? It's super annoying. Other than the lack of safe and mini-fridge, the room was ok, however you can see the age in the closet and shower. The sliding closet doors look and feel really old and just don't look like they go with the rest of the room. They are positioned in an odd place too...you almost have to step inside of the closet to maneuver out of the door sometimes. The bathroom is nice and spacious...except for the shower head. It's a really old looking crummy shower head. Makes no sense why these wouldn't have been replaced years ago. As always, my favorite part of the stay was the cookie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cripey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya B, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback. The WiFi is now complimentary in our business center and has been in the hotel lobby. We also have rates that can be booked with the WiFi included. I have also shared your feedback on your guest room condition with our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Engineering. If you don't mind sending me an email of the room number so he can address the shower head immediatly, it would be greatly appreciated. My email address is: toya.berry@hilton.com.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
2,079 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 517 in Houston
560 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#148 of 517 in Houston
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown

Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $129 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing