We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Ranked #72 of 489 Hotels in Houston
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was in town on business and chose this hotel due to its location downtown. I was very pleased. The staff were friendly and the concierge gave some great restaurant advice. The room was very comfortable. The halls were very nicely lit making it a comfortable return to the room in the evenings. The lobby bar was a nice place to have a drink and there seemed to be a good crowd there each night. The breakfast was o.k., could have been better for the price, in my opinion. I would recommend the Doubletree and would definitely stay there again the next time my business takes me to downtown Houston.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2g0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    318
    173
    84
    49
See reviews for
127
192
72
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Doubletree is a nice hotel in the downtown area. Rooms are nice and quiet considering it is downtown. The hotel has a small fitness room - two treadmills, three ellipticals & dumbells, was a wait for the treadmills in the AM and on the last day of my stay neither one was working. Great bar atmosphere & the restaurant has an excellent breakfast. Depending on your fitness - the convention center is not "walking" distance, but the hotel does have a shuttle to get tyou there.

Room Tip: Parking is valet only & expensive. If you are driving there is a parking garage a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The Doubletree downtown is in a fairly good location and the staff is wonderful. The shuttle drivers and valets were especially friendly and helpful during our 4 night stay. Our room was a good size with the usual amenities, but the carpet showed a lot of wear. The windows were filthy and needed cleaning, otherwise the view might have been nice. If I were to return to downtown Houston, I would likely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveformargaritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Went to the DoubleTree for an overnight stay for dinner and a play rather than making the drive back to the suburbs. The location is great and the room was nice. We stayed in a corner king on the 14th floor facing Dallas street and it was worth the extra cost to upgrade to the corner room. We visited the bar after the play and enjoyed that as well. I would also suggest the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant. The staff is very friendly and everyone has customer service in mind. The bed was comfy. The only downside is that the decor is a little dated. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: corner king is worth the upgrade for the view and size of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra0336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Hagen, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here for over a week on. Works visit. Room was pretty standard but clean anne well maintained. Service from mar and breakfast staff was goode. Rooms would benefit by having a fridge in the room. Otherwise, all fine and reasonable value fr money. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kruegs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a very good hotel. Pretty, large rooms. Friendliest staff and great customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyNNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have stayed multiple times here and it's like being home!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Villalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#30 of 489 in Houston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 489 in Houston
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#152 of 489 in Houston
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Property: Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown
Address: 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-4777
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#111 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Houston
Houston Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing