We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Houston Marriott Westchase
Ranked #120 of 511 Hotels in Houston
DC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with Great Staff!”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The hotel is very nice and the upscale rooms are typical for a Marriott, but they do need to step it up a bit. As a Platinum guest I got an upgrade to a suite, which was nice, but I could not control the air conditioner even though there was a dial on the wall. It blew cold air constantly into the living room and bedroom, which by the way included two flat screens, nice sofa, table, desk, bedroom closet with lights and a wet bar. But, I wasn’t really in the room that much so after freezing like it was a winter blizzard in the room I made a decision to move to a corner double room, which by the way had an air and heat dial on the all that worked.

In terms of food, there is a Starbucks in the lobby. They have hotel prices so if you are used to getting your regular Starbucks drink such as a three shot cappuccino get ready to pay about $5.50 with tip!

I made it up to the concierge lounge for breakfast. The place was packed and the lone server just could not keep up with the number of guest coming and going. The place looked a mess with crumbs and used dishes still on tables from guest who had eaten and left. I sat on the sofa along with another guest and we used the coffee table since the other tables were not yet clean. It was unclear why the attendance did not clean the tables a bit faster instead of replacing the cream and sugar for coffee.

The nice restaurant and bar in the lobby level served a great caesar salad with chicken. I don’t know why the woman who served me told me they ran out of chardonnay, but then explained they were updating the wine menu and offered me a pino gridio and only minutes later I ended up with a free glass of chardonnay because someone I was talking to in the restaurant ordered a glass of chardonnay from another waiter. I liked the chardonnay better!

The hotel has a nice fitness center that I didn’t use because I was too busy. Overall, the hotel is nice, but they need to let guest control the room temperature.

The staff went out of their way to handle any concerns!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    190
    105
    40
    24
See reviews for
87
48
32
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

In the right place, but the Marriott does not make the most of what it could be. There's nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just that it doesn't meet the same level of service as other (cheaper) hotels in it's peer group. Reception when checking in was surly at best, the room was dated but clean, the bar area was cosy with a great lady bartender, however I was left sitting waiting for someone to take my order whilst two service staff (one being a manager) decided to have a conversation for around 10 minutes. Eventually after I got up and reminded them of the order, they delivered it (after checking what it was I wanted for the third time). Basically this hotel is just not good enough for the money it charges. To add fuel to the fire, the Internet is $12.95 a day and the (small) bottle of water in the room is $1.50. Both of these should be included.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is located in the right business area if you are planning to meet various oil & gas companies then this hotel is the perfect one to stay. There are nice multi cuisine restaurants around this hotel and you can walk down the street in the evening and find you own choice such as Tex-Mex, Cajun, Australian, and Indian and this Marriott has got nice breakfast place and nice menu.
Rooms are very clean and I really liked the view from my window I can see a good view of Sam Houston.
The gust services desk was very pleasant in letting me know where to find the nearest pharmacy.
Overall it’s the best Business hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrajeev26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed at this hotel 3 nights for business. Everything was great except it was freezing cold in the lobby and in my room, even with AC set to off, something like over 90F outside and under 70F inside. Service was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Overall it is a great place to stay for business, just too cold for me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnBudgetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I gave this hotel a 5 for location because it was less than a mile from where I needed to be for work. However, it might not be the best for a lot of people, because it isn't great for downtown or the airports. The exterior and the lobby look great from the outside, an the room I was in was nice. Parking was very convenient and free unless you feel the need to valet. The room had plenty of space and a nice HDTV, which is handy if you have a lot of downtime. Something it had that few places have now is the ability to hook up a DVD player or an hdmi connected device in case you have kids. I much prefer that to pay per view. Overall, it was a great place to stay for 6 days and the next time I go to Houston, I'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgreenblatt, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the Houston Marriott Westchase. I will share these comments with my staff. I was thoroughly pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with your family. We look forward to having you return to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Good medium standard business hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms and public areas slightly dated. Very limited choice of in-house food/drink.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgreenblatt, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Thank you for comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I came to this hotel because my company uses it as a recommended hotel. Previously I has stayed at the nearby Hilton and was immediately happy that at this hotel there is a nice adjoining indoor/outdoor pool, nice jacuzzi, and a decent enough gym. On each of these fronts this beats the Hilton, and would say no real need for improvement. Important to have a good gym with all the food joys of Houston!

Rooms are comfortable and nice enough - a very formal style so make sure you like this- and the beds are comfortable; bathroom is absolutely fine. Excellent housekeeping and I was here a number of weeks, and each day the service and cleaning was excellent. Tried room service food and was surprised that it was very nice! However the hotel is based on a square where there are a number of good and diverse restaurants so you are not limited to just hotel food. The breakfast is good intitally but quickly the novelty wears off- should change especially the types of meats more often. The Sunday brunch can definitely improve, basically in terms of choice and ambience (live music would be nice for a sunday brunch). I think it was around 30 dollars and represents poor value, whereas the rest of the hotel - for example the room rates - are very good value. Very friendly staff always quick to help.

Two real irritations and chances to improve massively:

-Each morning for breakfast you have to get given a yellow breakfast token which is filled out by hand by staff for each day. This is a long, laborious process and it sounds pedantic, but this can slow down the morning and is a real irritation- especially being asked all the time for a yellow token. Also it must be easily avoidable by keeping a list of room numbers / names at the front.

-Internet connection is very slow and unreliable. This is a business hotel and many people may require to log on and do work, without an internet connection slowing them down. When the hotel gets most other things right, its a shame it lets itself down on something so simple.

Overall, comfortable, well positioned hotel with excellent service. Minor changes and I would recommend it to fellow business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elllloooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
#81 of 511 in Houston
735 reviews
Westchase
Residence Inn Houston Westchase on Westheimer
Westchase
Holiday Inn Hotel-Houston Westchase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westchase
Courtyard Houston Westchase
Courtyard Houston Westchase
#258 of 511 in Houston
124 reviews
Westchase
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Westchase
Westchase
Best Western Plus Westchase Mini-Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Westchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Westchase

Property: Houston Marriott Westchase
Address: 2900 Briarpark Dr, Houston, TX 77042-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Westchase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#100 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Westchase 4*
Number of rooms: 534
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the west end of Houston, TX at the Houston Marriott Westchase. Our hotel offers spacious, well-appointed rooms, a contemporary Texas-themed decor, high-speed Internet available throughout our AAA rated 3-diamond hotel. Other amenities include indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools, a fitness center, free parking, two restaurants and Starbucks(R) coffee house. The Westchase section of Houston is conveniently located near key Houston landmarks like Reliant Stadium, Rice University, The Uptown Galleria Area, and home to companies such as National Oil well Varco, Honeywell, and BMC Software. A few minutes from the hotel is the I-10 Energy Corridor, a business hotspot for Energy powerhouses like ExxonMobil, Shell, BP, Schlumberger and many others. Along with amazing rooms and service, we have 43,000 square feet of available meeting space for your next conference or event, including the Grand Pavilion Ballroom, which has seating for 1,725 guests. Book your stay at The Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Houston Marriott Westchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing