We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Service Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Houston Marriott Westchase
Ranked #119 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Standard Marriott hotel. Rooms comfortable enough. The air con can't be switched off , so you wake up with dry eyes and either a hot or cold room.

Wifi is terrible. It kept dropping during my stay and only showed one bar on signal strength.

Nice breakfast buffet, staff in the restaurant are extremely friendly as are the bell staff. Front desk staff a bit surly.

A few tweaks and if could be a great hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dougal791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We care deeply about every guest’s feedback and appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. While we are certainly glad to know you enjoyed the friendly service of our associates and the breakfast buffet, it is regrettable that not every aspect of your stay was as positive. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have encountered with our Internet Service. Thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 544 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

My stay was satisfactory. Room temperature was fine and I had a sunny aspect. Room and bathroom pretty much standard. Bed usual good quality and what you expect in a Marriott. Staff very friendly. My colleagues reported problems with their air conditioning.
I would not want an inward facing room as you would need to keep the curtains closed all day.
Shuttle service to Galleria Mall in the morning only. At other times the No. 82 bus will take you to the Mall, Target and Walmart for $1.25. Supermarket within walking distance.
All in all I had a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Houston Marriott Westchase for you recent stay in the area. We’re delighted that you found your room comfortable and our staff friendly. It is always our desire to provide guests with an experience that meets or exceeds their expectations. The next time you are visiting Houston we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A two night business stay in this atrocious hotel, Where to start... I was in room 756 and the air conditioning had only one setting, ice-cold. The wifi was poor and kept dropping, room service on demand movies were 'unavailable'.. No explanation whatsoever.
The breakfast buffet was again below par, no juice, no pancakes, and slightly stale pastries...

My room was not serviced, after returning to the room at about 6pm, I called and was TOLD I must have had my 'do not disturb' sign on.. (I did not.) No apologies, no offer to service the room then, nothing. I left for the day next day, came back room STILL not serviced, I called and complained and a housekeeper appeared at the door, gave me a dirty look and handed me a load of clean towels and a bag of toiletries, did not attempt to service the room, or apologise.

A disgusting dirty poor hotel with a lazy management and front desk team, who quite simply could not have been less interested. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Tip, do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

It is truly disappointing to learn that your recent experience at our hotel did not reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. We sincerely apologize for all the difficulties encountered during your stay. Your review will be shared with our staff in order to re-emphasize our commitment to quality customer service. We hope that one day you will visit us again and we can provide the service and experience that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice hotel. Some of the gym equipment is old but functioning. Internet wifi is appalling do not pay for it. The gift shop where the coffee shop is closed most of the day. Nice rooms but very thin walls.

Room Tip: Avoid internal view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozcmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

While we're happy to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations, it was disappointing that not every aspect of your stay was as positive. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our management team as we are always looking to improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My initial welcome upon arrival in the evening was great, but this was to be undone the following morning. A good hotel which offered a pleasant and relaxing one night business stay. The rooms are of generous size clean and well appointed. Bathroom was very clean and they supplied very nice high quality toiletries. The hotel has a good size pool area, which offered adequate swimming and sunbathing options, there is also a small jet pool. The breakfast was good, and the gym has everything for a workout. I would have probably awarded this four out of five, but the front desk staff seemed more intent on chatting to each other than trying to help me with a query the following morning. Ht and miss service.

Room Tip: Chose a room over the pool, it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hearing from our guests, positive or otherwise, gives us the ability to continuously improve the experience for future guests and for this, we are grateful. Although we were happy to hear that your initial welcome, your room, and our amenities were all enjoyed during your stay, it was disappointing that your morning interactions affected your overall experience. We hope that next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back and providing the service and experience that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I checked in about two and a half hours ago and have already had to contact the front desk 4 times. None of the room specifications I gave when making the reservation have been honored. They have been resolved with the exception of one, but it took more of my time than it should have.
Moreover, the room - while acceptable at first glance - is replete with low-quality finishes. For instance, there are exposed extension cords, malfunctioning lamps and the appliances appear to have been abused terribly.
The next time I have to come to Houston for business (which is about every other week) I will not even consider this hotel

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank MarkESullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Please allow us to convey our sincerest apologies that your recent experience at our hotel was not as you had anticipated. It is clear from your review that we missed an opportunity to create the experience you had expected of us and we truly regret the inconveniences you encountered. Thank you for your comments; one day we hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week as my preferred (Sorrela) was fully booked.

Good things:
Friendly staff in reception
Friendly staff in restaurant and bar

Bad things:
Tired and old rooms where the electricity socket almost was pushed into the room when you tried to plug in the iron.
Dirty rooms where the linen didn’t seem completely fresh.
AirCon couldn’t be turned off and it didn’t see to make any difference if you put it up or down.
Grumpy and semi-rude “concierge” who was less than helpful (rental car keys was dropped of with him for us, and when asked where the car was he just answered “on the corner”… well it’s a big carpark, and he pointed in the wrong direction + it wasn’t on any corner!)

For just about $200 per night, this hotel is not a recommendation from me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestchase, General Manager at Houston Marriott Westchase, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

It is thoroughly disappointing to learn when a guests' stay does not live up to their expectations in all ways. We appreciate all your feedback as it allows us to focus on areas that can improve the experience for future guests. Please know that our management team is always available should any concern arise that cannot be resolved through the staff. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments and hope that we can welcome you back in the future to provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
#80 of 518 in Houston
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott Westchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Westchase

Address: 2900 Briarpark Dr, Houston, TX 77042-3704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Westchase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#100 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $98 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Houston Marriott Westchase 4*
Number of rooms: 534
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the west end of Houston, TX at the Houston Marriott Westchase. Our hotel offers spacious, well-appointed rooms, a contemporary Texas-themed decor, high-speed Internet available throughout our AAA rated 3-diamond hotel. Other amenities include indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools, a fitness center, free parking, two restaurants and Starbucks(R) coffee house. The Westchase section of Houston is conveniently located near key Houston landmarks like Reliant Stadium, Rice University, The Uptown Galleria Area, and home to companies such as National Oil well Varco, Honeywell, and BMC Software. A few minutes from the hotel is the I-10 Energy Corridor, a business hotspot for Energy powerhouses like ExxonMobil, Shell, BP, Schlumberger and many others. Along with amazing rooms and service, we have 43,000 square feet of available meeting space for your next conference or event, including the Grand Pavilion Ballroom, which has seating for 1,725 guests. Book your stay at The Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Houston Marriott Westchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Westchase Hotel Houston
Marriott Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing