We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Houston staple”
Review of Beaver's

Beaver's
Ranked #628 of 8,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Washington Ave./ Memorial Park
Covington, la
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“A Houston staple”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is one place I must visit when I am in Houston. The smoked meats are amazing, I love their slaw, and the cocktails are incredible. I also suggest ordering the fried pickles

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mfbowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Won't be my first pick...but, I'd give it another shot.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My review is based on a experience spilt right down the middle of perfect and aweful......some areas deserve a 5 star rating while others get just 1....so 3 stars overall it is!!!

Went here Friday early evening, beat the dinner rush. Server was friendly when arround, but mostly unattentive. Beers not too cold. Fried pickles are thick spears that have too much pickle and not enough batter, and also they have no regular ranch, just some weird scallion ranch like stuff thats not so great.Expensive for what you get!

On the positive side, the outdoor seating area is fun, the menu has some unique choices and the Beaver Burger I ordered was phenomenal. They have ground bacon inside the beef so its automatically a "bacon burger". I order crispy onions on top of mine, and it was delicious.

Overall, I would go back if friends chose this place, would probably not pick it on my own

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A fun evening, good restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went here with my parents and enjoyed the night out. The food is tasty but entirely unhealthy! We recommend this for an evening out with friends, as the bar offers many drink options. Be warned, this place is busy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandEseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A Must try for Great service, food and drinks!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I was visiting Houston and had heard about Beaver's from friends and coworkers....they said I must try it....so glad I did! This will definately be one of my regular restaurants to eat at when in Houston! Their drinks are unique and delicious,the foodies tasty and fresh and the service is the best. Kudos to our waiter, his name was Riley so when you go, ask for him....he gets the job done and has a fantastic personality!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I ordered the shrimp po-boy and it was so covered up with so many crispy onions I was highly disappointed that it was hard to locate the advertised "overflowing with cornmeal fried Gulf shrimp". For $15 it was far overpriced compared to much superior examples of Gulf coast po-boys found throughout Houston.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beaver's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing