We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just OK”
Review of Mezza Grille

Mezza Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mezza Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 8,273 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: 12 years after the debut of one of the best restaurants in Houston, Mezza Grille continues to push the envelope of flavors, innovation & style. Chef-owner Mike Tibi's vision for upscale new American cuisine, in a relaxed atmosphere, continues to be a destination for Houston's foodie community! One taste and you'll know why our guests say Mezza Grille serves the tastiest menu at one of the best restaurants in Houston. Our expansive menu is the perfect fusion of steakhouse favorites, and New American cuisine. The creative use of extra virgin olive oil and Mediterranean herbs and spices gives a unique flavor profile to our fire-grilled prime beef ribeye, all-natural chicken, and fresh seafood dishes. Combine them with our fresh, organic produce selection, and you get dishes so rich and savory it's easy to forget you're eating healthy! Make sure you save room for one of our delicious desserts! They're to die for! Our promise to you: fresh, clean, healthy, delicious meals made with lots of love, best & freshest ingredients available in the market with absolutely NO MSG's or any preservatives. Join us today for Lunch, Dinner or Happy Hour & experience an exquisite fusion of flavor!
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was just OK”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We tried Cafe Mezza this past Saturday. I was very excited to go based on the reviews I had read. Frankly, I was pretty disappointed. I got the marinated chicken skewers, rice, and grilled veges. The chicken was definitely not marinated. It tasted like it was grilled, then had some bottled sauce brushed on it. The rice was good, and the grilled veges were seriously undercooked. My husband got the blackened fish with potatoes. The fish was room temp when we received it, and the overall flavor was very bland. The au gratin potatoes were probably the best thing we ate there - which isn't saying much. There are so many good restaurants in Houston, I see no reason to try Cafe Mezza again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wan2Travel960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    44
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food !”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My dad ordered the spicy lamb platter it wasn't traditional Mediterranean food But it was great.
Our server ( who seemed to be the one doing most of the work, except cooking) what absolutely amazing, phenomenal customer service.

Helpful?
1 Thank eeiimmaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Thanks to Cafe Mezza for a wonderful experience! We arrived late with a party of 14 (and separate checks as we were on a school trip), and the service and quality was TOP notch! Thanks so much, Cafe Mezza!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High-end Middle Eastern food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Since we live in Houston, we like to frequent this establishment because everything we have tried from their menu so far has been delicious.

This is a Middle Eastern restaurant, however they tried to give it some Texan flavor: similarly to chips and salsa that automatically are put on a table in any Tex-Mex establishment they put pieces of pita, deliciously fried in olive oil along with the dip consisting of olive oil and zattar (a Middle Eastern mixture of dry herbs).

We are far from completely exploring their menu so I'm going to write only on dishes that we tried (although I heard that their Mango Stuffed Chicken and Pesto Pasta with Chicken Apple Sausage are also delicious).

We love their Chicken Tortilla soup. It is thick, rich of flavor, but also pretty spicy (perhaps won't be the best choice for those who do not like spicy food).

If we don't want to eat heavy we usually order their Pecan Crusted Salomon salad, a dish full of goodness, like mixed greens, sun-dried tomatoes, avocado, red onions, roasted pecans along with pieces of perfectly grilled salmon with a nice crust.

When we're in mood for meat and hungry we like to order their Mixed Grill Platter that contains three skewers of various meats: Shish Tawook (grilled marinated peaces of chicken breast), Shish Kabob (pieces of grilled filet mignon) and Kufta Kabob (grilled marinated ground beef). It's hard to tell which of those is the best because all of them are equally delicious, although different. The saffron rice is also very good as well as grilled vegetables. This portion is big, so you have to be very hungry or ready to share it with your companion.

I just hope that they keep their high culinary level as it is now, and if they do - we continue being their loyal customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Augustinillo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our fav in SW Houston”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

There are many interesting places in the Galleria area that turn out to be more hype/presentation than delivery. but this place manages to present beautifully, do it all right and become great without pretending in the least. . Cafe Mezza has a creative and apealing menu that covers a lot of ground without being a burden to sort through. Great dishes that will appeal to vegetarians, while every meat dish seems as good as it could be. The tenderloin salad rules and is a hard habit to break once you try it. They always get the char and the red just right. All the salads are big and satisfying.

My wife had their lamb shanks dish which was served in a large bowl with an incredible broth on its own apart from the great plate of aromatic rice and grilled veggies. It's just the kind of dish that would cost too much in many places and then under deliver. Not here. So many dishes here will exceed your expectations and the rest meet them.

Prices are not cheap, but you really get what you pay for so in the end it's a value restaurant. Real food, done with charm and care for a fair price.

The ambience is classy, but not the least stifling. Easy. Not the place to drink or party hard, it gently guides you into a lovely, easy meal experience that you can and will want to share again and again.

Service has always been impeccable with an international staff that matches the menu in style. It's hard to believe that this place is not overwhelmed with business, but it is appreciated by a regular crowd nonetheless. Do it! Lets make sure to support one of the best restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SWSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezza Grille also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mezza Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing