We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent in everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezza Grille

Mezza Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mezza Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 7,889 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 12 years after the debut of one of the best restaurants in Houston, Mezza Grille continues to push the envelope of flavors, innovation & style. Chef-owner Mike Tibi's vision for upscale new American cuisine, in a relaxed atmosphere, continues to be a destination for Houston's foodie community! One taste and you'll know why our guests say Mezza Grille serves the tastiest menu at one of the best restaurants in Houston. Our expansive menu is the perfect fusion of steakhouse favorites, and New American cuisine. The creative use of extra virgin olive oil and Mediterranean herbs and spices gives a unique flavor profile to our fire-grilled prime beef ribeye, all-natural chicken, and fresh seafood dishes. Combine them with our fresh, organic produce selection, and you get dishes so rich and savory it's easy to forget you're eating healthy! Make sure you save room for one of our delicious desserts! They're to die for! Our promise to you: fresh, clean, healthy, delicious meals made with lots of love, best & freshest ingredients available in the market with absolutely NO MSG's or any preservatives. Join us today for Lunch, Dinner or Happy Hour & experience an exquisite fusion of flavor!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent in everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I like it alot and i did my engagement party there and the food was perfect and everybody was satisfied and loved it....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MMJJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    38
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent in everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent Kabbab, Tekka, kibbi, tabouli, baba ghanouge, hummus...Clean and cozy place....Prices a bit pricey for mediterranean food...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank whitecake2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was one of the best meals ever!! Tuna, salmon, ravioli, lamb chops ! All amazing! For dessert bread pudding! Run don't walk to cafe mezza!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank svandam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First thing you notice when you enter is the service quality. Everyone is working. They are fast and good. Then you notice the nice smell of a good restaurant.

Food was great. Try the Shrimp Campechana. Nice flavor blend of Grilled Shrimp and Sweets.

Only thing that can be better is ambience. And I don't mean that it's not good, but the great food and service you get don't relate to the mix of cafeteria - restaurant look you walk into.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fusion that almost works”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We went early (7pm) on a Saturday. Slow but it filled up. The thin pita chips are good and the dipping sauce is tasty but I would have liked it better if the herbs were not dried. I just mixed it up with the oil and it worked for me. We had fried calamari as an appetizer. It was greasy and a bit chewy. The cooked "Mediterranean salsa" with black olives and capers saved it. We split a mango stuffed chicken entree. It was plenty for 2 and very rich. The grilled veggies were, well, grilled veggies. The mango butter sauce was overkill rich and I just don't get escalloped potatoes on this plate. More butter and cream. The chicken was delicious. The wine special was cheap and tasty enough. I liked the idea of the entree so much that I am going to remake it at home and lighten it up. We would go here again because the menu is so interesting. It was friendly and the service was alright.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezza Grille also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mezza Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing