We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience...can't wait to go back!”
Review of El Tiempo Cantina

El Tiempo Cantina
Ranked #143 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience...can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

On a recent work trip to Houston, the customer highly recommended 1308 Cantina. I had seen it the night before and kept on going. I went there for lunch and was kicking myself for having passed up the opportunity to eat there the previous evening! I had the Shrimp Enchilado Lunch Plate with the Marisco Cream Salsa. Our (wonderful) server recommended it...honestly, I think my eyes were glazed over from the pure enjoyment!!! LOL...that sounds silly but it's how much I enjoyed my meal there. I'll be back in Houston later this month and that'll be the first place I head when it's time to eat! Can't wait!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetaginTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston & Crested Butte
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unexpected bad experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Have been a fan of 1308 for years but the last few times there have been a disappointment. The food was unremarkable at best and service chaotic. The wine I ordered had "gone around the bend" some time ago, but they refused to take it off the bill.

Definitely this place is a scene. Perhaps it would be best just to stick with chips, beer and margaritas and go elsewhere for good Tex-Mex.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muggletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No better Fajitas or Tamales”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Order the parilla for the table. HUGE amount of food - scale back the number you order for. Few remaining to serve margaritas by the pitcher. Spicy Tamales - LOTS of stuffing.
Use Valet on Weekends parking is tight. Prices are great. $$

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RodeWearier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends for dinner and drinks.”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was visiting and taken here by locals. It's one of their favorite Mexican places and I see why! I had the Vegas Sampler which had large portions and was very tasty. Great value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaGuy16830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Really friendly staff, great food with huge portions, nicely dangerous margaritas!
All you could want from a neighborhood Mexican place. A definite favorite for many locals including us

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tiempo Cantina also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Tiempo Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing