We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodation at budget price in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
Ranked #168 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you don't want to spend the money staying in Downtown Houston and don't mind driving into town, then the MainStay Suites at Texas Medical Center are a very good option. The location is right off highway 288 and during non-rush hour traffic it takes 30 minutes from IAH airport and 10 minutes from downtown. If you want to avoid the congested highway you can also drive to downtown using normal roads. I did that one morning. The surrounding neighborhood has plenty of gas stations but no restaurants, so you will want to go somewhere else for dinner or bring your own food. The room was nice and very clean and in good shape. The breakfast is basic Choice Hotel level. While the surrounding neighborhood is not particularly nice it felt reasonably safe and so did the hotel . I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ab1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a very nice hotel close by where my daughter has been staying for the summer. She attends Texas Southern University. The hotel was very nice we got a double bed on the ground floor which I enjoyed. I stayed in Houston two nights, the first hotel was horrible I pre paid for two nights but refused to stay another night at american best inn, and left before check out. Then my daughter found MainStay Suites. I enjoyed everything luxury, enjoyed continental breakfast too. Cheryl was very nice and helpful. The only problem we encountered were roaches in the kitchen, and the patio door you can see through the side, the blinds need to be closer to the glass. I put a sheet across them and the front desk gave us bug spray to use hopefully they will exterminate to rid this problem. I still had a enjoyable stay. I go to Houston often since my daughter is in college and will stay at your hotel again.

Room Tip: Great hotel, I'm sure any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for three days, enjoyed this clean hotel with small living area and a full size fridge, a microwave, 2 burner stove and flat screen tv. We had a separate bedroom also with tv but not a flat screen. It did offer a large bath. The breakfast offered eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, juice and coffee. Coffee was also in the rooms. They have extensive DVR's to be viewed in your room.

The only negative is that the outside pool is very small and and there are no walkable restaurants. They do have a van to take you to the medical centers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandjlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been staying at the Main Stay Suites since 2011. For my first 2 years of cancer treatment at MDA I stayed at the hotel every three weeks. More recently, every other month. I have always found the rooms to be very clean, reasonably priced and the staff to be exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Because I was there so often I knew all of the staff, manager and even the owner Mr. Lee by name. All the employees and especially Talena, Ed and Mike treat visitors more like family and friends. It makes the place seem more like home than just a hotel room. There are many hotels to pick from near the Medical Center, but I don't think you can beat the Main Stay for the shuttle to/from Hobby, breakfast, rooms with a kitchen, price and exceptional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed at a number of hotels. When I found MainStay Suites, that's where I stayed. I highly recommend MainStay Suites. It is clean, comfortable, homey and the staff is friendly and helpful. Great stay every day. Joe

Room Tip: MainStay Suites you always have a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I travel to MD Anderson Medical Center several times a year and have stayed
in several hotels, expensive ones and inexpensive ones, and I think we have found a home away from home. We found this hotel to be very clean, Talena at the front desk was always so cheerful she brightened your day. Also The shuttle drivers Ed and Terrance were the best. The price is reasonable, amenities are great and the shuttle to and from Hobby airport is a major plus. They also provide shuttle service to and from MD Anderson. We found the staff to be very kind and accommodating, always willing to help. We will definitely be staying here on our visits to Houston.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the first time stay at a MainStay Suites. The halls were very hot and no airflow. Overall stay was nice and the staff was very polite and helpful. The shuttle driver Ed was a very pleasant man and was willing to assist in anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherin754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.7 mi away
SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Medical Center North
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks
1.5 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Houston Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park

Address: 3134 Old Spanish Trl, Houston, TX 77054-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#71 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $87 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park Hotel Houston
Houston Mainstay
Mainstay Suites Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing