We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you need sleep, stay somewhere else!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
Ranked #177 of 504 Hotels in Houston
East Texas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you need sleep, stay somewhere else!!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Usually don't write bad reviews...I really hesistated trying this hotel chain but with weather & traffic issues in Houston, we stayed here so we could be close to M.D. Anderson. Place was clean enough & staff was okay, nothing spectacular or worth mentioning as our interaction was limited to calling down to ask them to deal with the stomping & kids in room above us. When you pay $600 for 3 nights, you anticipate having a good nights sleep in a spacious room. SOOO not so here! We booked a 2 bedroom suite with had a small kitchen in between. Picture shows a couch, unfortunately doesn't state that its the size of a loveseat. That was it for seating other than a chair at the desk. A/C units and vent fans were very loud especially when A/C was cycling on and off. Beds were hard and "pillow Top" was a thin pad over the mattress. Walls were of poor quality and very thin. You could hear every thing in the hall, room next door and morons up above us!!! When I stay at hotels that allow my dogs, I usually must read & sign an agreement that reminds me I am responsible for any misbehaviour on their part and may be asked to leaveshould they disturb other guests. There really SHOULD BE a policy like this for children at this hotel as they were allowed to run the halls and jump up & down on the floor above us. Can't fault hotel staff for trying, but poor construction meant poor sound proofing and I will not ever take another chance on this hotel chain again. (Might should add that my 2 60 lb boxers behave far better than the little heathens allowed to stay here).

Room Tip: If you want to get a good night sleep, stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank prefer_boxers2brats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry we did not get it right for you. We as a team do try hard to give our guests a good experience. You are so right, for the price you paid you do deserve a good nights sleep, however we do cater to families with children with medical needs and they react to meds differently. We do try our hardest to maintain the noise level in the hotel. We are in the process of upgrading our beds in the near future.
Once again, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. I am so sorry that you had a bad experience. I wish I had known about it at the time so that I could have made it right and I hope once you read this you will give me a call at the hotel so that I may invite you back as my personal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    89
    33
    14
    26
See reviews for
86
46
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma!
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel has a full kitchen in each suite. The decor is nice, and the people are great. The room and the lobby are very clean. I loved the free DVD rentals too. They are on the edge of a not so great area of Houston if you go to the east, but if you go west on Spanish trail, the area is good near the medical center, and Reliant Stadium is not too far. I'll be back here each time I'm in Houston. Great breakfast! I was told the hotel has new management within the last year or so. This may explain the upgraded service. The value was terrific. My AAA rate was under $70!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourNextGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time this must take out of your busy schedule and we are grateful. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the amenities and our facility. We hope you come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Best place to stay around Hospital. I love it! Kindly people Helpful ! Shuttle worked fine for me. I hope this trip goes as well as before.\

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Hotel is nice, clean, with AC/heater but area is terrible. Next to the hotel is area full of trucks. Next street looks like in Middle East - not like in US as there is mosque and every woman is properly covered there-scary place for not such people! Hotel is providing breakfast but it is cereals, coffee, juice, eggs, bread, pastry, jam, butter. No yogurth, no ham, no hard cheese, and no fruits (just couple of small apples) . If you stay for 1 night it is OK. If you are for 1 week you have to buy grocery. Rooms are with big fridge and freezers and dishwasher. Small cooker is there as well. Room is cleaned once per week. No one will make you bed unless you will ask for-it is disadvantage. Bed is too soft-but it is maybe advantage for somebody.

Room Tip: ask to get upper floor - safe reason
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience. We are an interior corridor hotel which is coveniently located on 288 near medical center, and Reliant which is a very diverse area. The area full of trucks noted in your review is Grocers Supply which is the largest wholesale grocery company in the Southwest United States. which employs over 10,000 individuals. In reguards to our breakfast , we have added yogurt and a bigger variety of fresh fruit. As for your room being cleaned 1 time per week we are an extended stay hotel , however we have changed our cleaning schedule to every other day and towel service in between. Once again thank you for review of our hotel and if you are ever in the area again I hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel multiple times a year (haven't gone since new management) and this stay, by far, was the nicest. Ms. Elizabeth, the newest manager, is very courteous, friendly and has a five star personality. Before her, our stays were okay but had a few problems with staff as well as the old manager. The staff now, along with Ms. Elizabeth made our stay easy. If we ever had a problem, it was fixed immediately and everyone was so nice, not acting like they were bugged by anything we asked, as we have felt before. I give Ms. Elizabeth and her staff five stars and recommend this hotel if you are ever staying in the houston area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktkoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for submitting your kind review. We are delighted that our accomadations are to your liking. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and I am more than happy to convey your kind words to our team. Thank you again for chosing Mainstay Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panhandle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Room was hot and never cooled down in bedroom. Never got TV to work on either TV, but did get DVD player in bedroom to finally work. Girl at front desk offered to come to our room & help us, but she was by herself & very busy. Printer in business area was out of order with no sign, but front desk printed our airline boarding passes for us after another wait in line. Room was clean, as usual. We have been staying at this hotel for years now when we have medical appointments. The shuttle service has always been wonderful to the medical center and the airport. Ed, the driver, is top notch and more than helpful. This trip, however, the shuttle service schedule had been changed and there was no flexibility with it--not Ed's fault--the management's fault. If you can't meet their schedule, you are out of luck and they don't post the shuttle schedule online either. CALL BEFORE YOU ARRIVE to see what the shuttle schedule is so you can make arrangements if you need to. Our taxi ride to Houston Hobby was $30 for 2 people. If you don't need a kitchen, stay at a nicer hotel that has medical shuttles and take a taxi--the price will be the same. Very disappointing stay after 3 years. Understaffed at morning checkout too--must be under new management, and they have a lot to learn about "customer service". We won't be back, but will miss Ed, the driver.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Ms. Hammer,

Thank you for your feedback, we apreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you accomadations were not up to your expectations. We have made changes to the room type in which you stayed to where it has its own A/C in the bedroom area so all areas in the room will be cool. We are currently in the process of changing cable providers due to the issues we were experiencing with the TV's. The Shuttle schedule has been changed due to houston being the 3rd largest city in the United States and traffic being unknown and also being the only hotel in the medical center who offers a shuttle to and from Hobby airport by changing the hours we are able to keep cost down and pass the savings to our guest by keeping our rates low and still providing this courtesy service. and great accomadations. Once again I would like to thank you for your input , we are continiously making changes in order to better accomadate our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We visited during the New year holiday period in 2011-2012, to site-see and attend a Texans game (we used the free shuttle to the game provided by the hotel). The hotel may be a little far from Houston proper but its perfect for Medical center guests. A car would still be needed to get to Houston's many spread out tourist attractions anyway, and this was a decent central location to get to several of them.
The amenities offered for such a cheap rate (3 nights $220 Total!) can't be beat.
There was a great kitchenette, large fridge, utensils, dishwasher, table, spacious room, very clean minus one recent gum stain on the rug, free wifi, buffet type breakfast in the morning, movie rentals (free for 1 night), and a snack shop among other amenities.
The room was quite large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean.
Overall this was a great experience, we had everything we needed at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank econsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
University Place
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park

Property: MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
Address: 3134 Old Spanish Trl, Houston, TX 77054-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#71 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park Hotel Houston
Houston Mainstay
Mainstay Suites Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing