We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel except breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
Ranked #165 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Hotel is nice, clean, with AC/heater but area is terrible. Next to the hotel is area full of trucks. Next street looks like in Middle East - not like in US as there is mosque and every woman is properly covered there-scary place for not such people! Hotel is providing breakfast but it is cereals, coffee, juice, eggs, bread, pastry, jam, butter. No yogurth, no ham, no hard cheese, and no fruits (just couple of small apples) . If you stay for 1 night it is OK. If you are for 1 week you have to buy grocery. Rooms are with big fridge and freezers and dishwasher. Small cooker is there as well. Room is cleaned once per week. No one will make you bed unless you will ask for-it is disadvantage. Bed is too soft-but it is maybe advantage for somebody.

Room Tip: ask to get upper floor - safe reason
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience. We are an interior corridor hotel which is coveniently located on 288 near medical center, and Reliant which is a very diverse area. The area full of trucks noted in your review is Grocers Supply which is the largest wholesale grocery company in the Southwest United States. which employs over 10,000 individuals. In reguards to our breakfast , we have added yogurt and a bigger variety of fresh fruit. As for your room being cleaned 1 time per week we are an extended stay hotel , however we have changed our cleaning schedule to every other day and towel service in between. Once again thank you for review of our hotel and if you are ever in the area again I hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel multiple times a year (haven't gone since new management) and this stay, by far, was the nicest. Ms. Elizabeth, the newest manager, is very courteous, friendly and has a five star personality. Before her, our stays were okay but had a few problems with staff as well as the old manager. The staff now, along with Ms. Elizabeth made our stay easy. If we ever had a problem, it was fixed immediately and everyone was so nice, not acting like they were bugged by anything we asked, as we have felt before. I give Ms. Elizabeth and her staff five stars and recommend this hotel if you are ever staying in the houston area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktkoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you so much for submitting your kind review. We are delighted that our accomadations are to your liking. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and I am more than happy to convey your kind words to our team. Thank you again for chosing Mainstay Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Room was hot and never cooled down in bedroom. Never got TV to work on either TV, but did get DVD player in bedroom to finally work. Girl at front desk offered to come to our room & help us, but she was by herself & very busy. Printer in business area was out of order with no sign, but front desk printed our airline boarding passes for us after another wait in line. Room was clean, as usual. We have been staying at this hotel for years now when we have medical appointments. The shuttle service has always been wonderful to the medical center and the airport. Ed, the driver, is top notch and more than helpful. This trip, however, the shuttle service schedule had been changed and there was no flexibility with it--not Ed's fault--the management's fault. If you can't meet their schedule, you are out of luck and they don't post the shuttle schedule online either. CALL BEFORE YOU ARRIVE to see what the shuttle schedule is so you can make arrangements if you need to. Our taxi ride to Houston Hobby was $30 for 2 people. If you don't need a kitchen, stay at a nicer hotel that has medical shuttles and take a taxi--the price will be the same. Very disappointing stay after 3 years. Understaffed at morning checkout too--must be under new management, and they have a lot to learn about "customer service". We won't be back, but will miss Ed, the driver.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmtx933, General Manager at MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Ms. Hammer,

Thank you for your feedback, we apreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I regret that you accomadations were not up to your expectations. We have made changes to the room type in which you stayed to where it has its own A/C in the bedroom area so all areas in the room will be cool. We are currently in the process of changing cable providers due to the issues we were experiencing with the TV's. The Shuttle schedule has been changed due to houston being the 3rd largest city in the United States and traffic being unknown and also being the only hotel in the medical center who offers a shuttle to and from Hobby airport by changing the hours we are able to keep cost down and pass the savings to our guest by keeping our rates low and still providing this courtesy service. and great accomadations. Once again I would like to thank you for your input , we are continiously making changes in order to better accomadate our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We visited during the New year holiday period in 2011-2012, to site-see and attend a Texans game (we used the free shuttle to the game provided by the hotel). The hotel may be a little far from Houston proper but its perfect for Medical center guests. A car would still be needed to get to Houston's many spread out tourist attractions anyway, and this was a decent central location to get to several of them.
The amenities offered for such a cheap rate (3 nights $220 Total!) can't be beat.
There was a great kitchenette, large fridge, utensils, dishwasher, table, spacious room, very clean minus one recent gum stain on the rug, free wifi, buffet type breakfast in the morning, movie rentals (free for 1 night), and a snack shop among other amenities.
The room was quite large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean.
Overall this was a great experience, we had everything we needed at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank econsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We've been staying here for more than 2 weeks. They only have 2 washers, 2 dryers, which isn't really enough -- yet, one of the washers has been out of order for more than a week so far! Last week they were out of orange juice at their breakfast for more than 4 days. The front desk has a hard time managing to have quarters to exchange for dollars to use in the washers.
They could sure use more variety for their breakfasts, seeing how most people are here for extended periods of time.
However, most of the workers are pleasant enough.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank del p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Hotel was clean--staff was friendly. Accommadations were average, nothing fancy. The kitchen was stocked better than expected. The continental breakfast was average at best. Probably would not stay again because a little over priced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papa-oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

If I could show everyone a picture of me and my family jumping for joy, I would. This is a wonderful property. The staff, especially DeAunia, is the epitomy of helpful. When I asked questions, they knew the answers. The room was clean at check-in and cleaned properly throughout our stay. (THANK GOD-NO BUGS) The business center is open all day,everyday and does not require a key to enter, which I loved. Breakfast is served daily, offering waffles, oatmeal, eggs, a meat product, etc. It is very good. The location could not be any better. It is five miles from Herman Park, which houses the zoo and great museums. I would definitely recommed this property to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking. If you are a smoker, do not worry; every room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabberwok97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park

Address: 3134 Old Spanish Trl, Houston, TX 77054-2215
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#71 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $78 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park Hotel Houston
Houston Mainstay
Mainstay Suites Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing