We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 49 Houston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
401 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Decent B&B”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Overall we had a good experience. Sara's is in a quiet but convenient area. The owners & staff seemed very willing to please. Their breakfast spread was decent, bed was ok and the rooms were sound proofed better than I would have expected for a place like this. One thing we found strange was the cappuccino vending machine in the breakfast area. It just felt out of place. My wife put a few quarters in to get one but apparently they only use it for the coffee and hot water (which there was no charge for). Our room was nice. Although it looked much bigger online, the size was fine for us and it even had a fridge to our surprise. I read a review somewhere on here that the sink in their bathroom drained extremely slow & we had that same issue. Old house or not, that is not acceptable. It is just a minor gripe but one would expect those things to be taken care of. I let them know so that they could correct it for the next guest. As far as B&Bs go, it's a solid place & we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had its own bathroom but from what I could tell, the Paris room had a bathroom outside from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, you did email us about the slow draining sink after your stay. Ever so often we go around to all the sinks and showers and do maintenance. Some things do get away from us and that's why we count on our guests to let us know some things that we might not otherwise know. The coffee machine is a high end coffee press that most people love because of the convenience of getting coffee anytime of the day or night. It is also a vending machine, but we have it set for coffee and water only - it actually presses the coffee, which makes for a much better cup of coffee. All of the rooms have private bathrooms, except for the Paris, its private bath is across the hall. We thank you for all your comments and it truly does help us become a better operation. Please come back and stay anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    38
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
136
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. The staff were very personable and helpful. The house is beautiful; maintained in excellent, elegant condition. We frequent many bed and breakfasts around the U.S. and we really loved this place!!! Connie, the owner was delightful!

Room Tip: Get one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellesnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
You are so sweet to write such kind words, we really do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend of my nephew's wedding. My family had 1/2 of the B&B and every room I saw was wonderful. We stayed in the Tyler suite. This suite had access to the rooftop patio, which we loved! The view of the downtown skyline was awesome. Please note, there is no seating on the patio, which was fine with us. We took up a bottle of wine and sat on the roof. I do think it could be really special if there was a way to facilitate seating, but being a historic home owner myself, I totally understand the logistics of decking the roof. Regardless, it is one heck of a view. The breakfast was wonderful both mornings. The wonderful lady that cooked it was very patient with me attempting to make waffles. :) She made the best eggs! We all talked about how she did it. The quiche on Sunday was phenomenal! Overall, great experience and would love to take a nice romantic getaway again one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I remember you and your family here, I believe it was for a wedding event and you all were so much fun!!! It would be nice to have sitting areas up there - its a soft roof and then the elements get to the furniture also. Try the Austin Suite next time. Again we want to thank you and your family for staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We started our roundtrip through Texas and other Southern states with a two night stay at Sara's in Houston and what a great way to start! We read a lot of positive reviews, one of the reasons that we booked, but you never know if you get the same experience. But about Sara's I couldn't agree more. Everything was great: The room, the breakfast, the location (in a street with lots of trees and beautiful houses like Sara's, but close to I-10) and last but not least the hospitality of the owners and of lady who cooked breakfast. That's why we spent our last night (before heading home again) also at Sara's. The first two nights we had the Fort Worth room and the last night the Galveston. We liked the details that make the rooms personal and different from one another (the western look with even the wallpaper in the bathroom in Forth Worth and the seaside look in Galveston room). The beds were great and also the shower with good water pressure. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, we had a self check-in, very easy, they let us know that by mail, and it all worked perfectly (they live on the property so if needed you can call them). The house is very nice furnished, so you feel right at home. In the front room there's information about the restaurants in the neighborhood (enough in the Heights) and in the kitchen and breakfastroom in the back of the house, you can get brownies and coffee 24 hours a day. And then the breakfast, mmmmmmmm, what a delicious start of the day. There is all kinds of stuff, from fresh fruit and yoghurt, eggs, muffins, cakes, cereals, juice, milk, coffee of course and on Sunday we had breakfast burrito's. And if it's not there it will be prepared for you, eggs the way you wants it, waffles, pancakes, you name it. A very nice lady prepared this all, and she was also very interested in where we came from and where we were going and also helpful with things, just like the owners by the way. They helped us with several questions, and Connie helped us with the online check in on our last day for our flight back home, it was also very nice talking to them, they made you feel very much at home. So a lot of words to write our opinion but I don't know how to say all this in a short way. We will certainly return here when we are in Houston again!! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Look on their internet site to pick the rooms (photos), it gives a good impression and you can choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline07_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review of Sara's. It was our pleasure to have you stay here, and then come back to stay before you headed back to the Netherlands. Sounds like your visit to Texas was a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've stayed at Sara's 3 times now and have had great experiences all 3 times! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast is wonderful. It's our home away from home when we visit Houston!

Room Tip: The Dallas room on the 1st floor is spacious and you don't have to tote your suitcases up the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We couldn't ask for a better compliment since you have stayed three times. We appreciate your loyalty. Thank you so much and keep coming back. We love having your business. Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family from Japan stayed here for 6 nights. They loved the beautiful building, rooms, and breakfast and very kind lady who prepared breakfast. She was very helpful for me to check-in and out. You cannot find an accommodation like Sara's with the reasonable price. I definitely return back to Sara's for my future guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie201256003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. Are you the one's who were moving out of the Heights to an International location?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here one night with our eight year old. The owners could not have been more welcoming. A beautiful Victorian home that has Been updated and is very well maintained. Our Granbury room was pleasant with high quality sheet and linens. Our child's roll a way bed was comfortable. Terrific breakfast in the morning, lots of choice. Jeanie was friendly and helpful. All in all, great. I would especially recommend it for a romantic weekend or as a place to stay when visiting family in Houston Heights. Nice location.

Room Tip: A few rooms have a bathtub. Book early if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for giving us such a great review. It was a pleasure having you stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 941 Heights Blvd, Houston, TX 77008-6911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Bed & Breakfast Inn in the Houston Heights located 4 miles from Downtown Houston inside the loop. 11 Rooms and suites all with private en suite bathrooms (except for Paris room), Flat Screen LCD TV's, High Speed Internet, on-site parking, on bus route, jogging trail, free breakfast. Anytime Fitness is 3 blocks away and offers a special rate for guests. Close to everything. Owners live in separate cottage behind Inn. 24/7 Coffee and Tea and brownies. Book your next stay at Sara's! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara`s Bed And Breakfast Inn
Sara`s Bed & Breakfast Inn Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing