We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B, good hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 47 Houston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, good hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here one night with our eight year old. The owners could not have been more welcoming. A beautiful Victorian home that has Been updated and is very well maintained. Our Granbury room was pleasant with high quality sheet and linens. Our child's roll a way bed was comfortable. Terrific breakfast in the morning, lots of choice. Jeanie was friendly and helpful. All in all, great. I would especially recommend it for a romantic weekend or as a place to stay when visiting family in Houston Heights. Nice location.

Room Tip: A few rooms have a bathtub. Book early if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for giving us such a great review. It was a pleasure having you stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    38
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
62
133
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Quaint well-appointed Bed & Breakfast in the quiet suburbs to the west of Downtown. Beautifully kept; a cool oasis in the recent very hot weather. Lovely continental breakfast and coffee on tap throughout the day - surprisingly good from a machine. No.50 bus stop outside the hotel which takes just 15 mins to get to Downtown for $1.25. Frequent service and until late, hop off en route for some good restaurant choices, eg Chatters. Walking distance to other nice eating places, eg Zelkos. Not cheap but a little luxury to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely words about Sara's, an Urban Bed & Breakfast. We appreciate you staying here. We seem to get only the best people that stay here and feel very fortunate.
Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Recently i went to my niece's wedding in Texas from New Jersey. She suggested Sara"s in the heights close to her home. Well besides being clean and feeling like i never left home the staff-(Gene) was so great at breakfast making the best waffles i ever ate! Really didn't want to leave -it was also located near a neat antique shop which provided a nice walk after breakfast-brought home a relic and stories of a great relaxing trip thanks to Saras. Hope to return.

Room Tip: My sisters had different rooms but all of us had nothing but great rooms-no matter which one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Wow, great comments and compliments. I remember you and your sisters. It was a pleasure having you here, please return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you are looking for turn of the century charm and location Sara's is the place to stay. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. There were many personal touches that made the stay memorable. The breakfast offerings were complete and satisfying. There is 24/7 coffee on demand along with wonderful brownies. I highly recommend Sara's over any chain hotel or motel.

Room Tip: book early and review the pictures on the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENNETH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous comments and compliments. Especiall the one "I highly recommend Sara's over any chain hotel or motel." Comments like this keeps us in business, 26 years this August. Keep staying @ Sara's.

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Sara's B&B is a lovely Victorian ideally located in the Houston Heights, right on the Boulevard. The rooms are beautifully appointed. On-site parking and the central location make it a great pied-a-terre for a romantic weekend in the city. A large breakfast room beckons with a wealth of options in the AM - fresh fruit, bread, muffins, ceral, juice, coffee, etc. But skip the room and take your plate to the veranda out front!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pusdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie M, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are happy that you liked you stay here at Sara's. We try extremely hard to make it comfortable and inviting for everyone. It's an exceptional location! If you have suggestions on how we could of made your stay better, please email us - we always like to hear from seasoned travelers like yourself. Thanks again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed in the Paris room for 2 nights. If I hadn't seen other guests, I would have believed I had the entire house to myself. The room is small with the bathroom across the hall. Neither was a concern while booking or staying here. The real treat is having Jeanie, who does the breakfast, fuss over you. Just like home but better.

Room Tip: As a splurge, next time I'm booking the suite with a balcony and a claw footed bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellustinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Staying in the Paris room, our smallest and only room with bath accross the hall, is not the ideal room, but hearing your comments made us feel better. It is such a cute room, but we always want guests to have a nicer room. So glad you were happy with the room and your experience. Please come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were in Houston to attend the baptism of my great-niece and stayed at Sara's. The inn is in a really great historic area of town and was walking distance to the church. As a matter of fact, it is also less than a mile to some really wonderful restaurants. We stayed in the Granbury Room and found it very comfortable. Since we were there for the weekend, we also took advantage of the full breakfast. The food was very good and the people there are warm and friendly and made you feel like they were very happy to have you there. We will stay there again on our next trip and try a different room--we were able to look around and each one is very different.

Room Tip: The rooms further away from the top of the staircase seem to be quieter. The Austin Suite has a fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pameladerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbydon, Owner at Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind and generous comments. We love to have people here like you. So happy you were able to see other rooms and decide on a room for your next stay. Please come and stay again.

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#21 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 941 Heights Blvd, Houston, TX 77008-6911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Bed & Breakfast Inn in the Houston Heights located 4 miles from Downtown Houston inside the loop. 11 Rooms and suites all with private en suite bathrooms (except for Paris room), Flat Screen LCD TV's, High Speed Internet, on-site parking, on bus route, jogging trail, free breakfast. Anytime Fitness is 3 blocks away and offers a special rate for guests. Close to everything. Owners live in separate cottage behind Inn. 24/7 Coffee and Tea and brownies. Book your next stay at Sara's! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Sara's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara`s Bed And Breakfast Inn
Sara`s Bed & Breakfast Inn Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing