We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor patio, good GlutenFree choices, good food”
Review of Lucio’s Byob

Lucio’s Byob
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucio’s Byob is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #622 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lamar
Description: Life is to be enjoyed. If you want to go somewhere to appreciate your bottle of wine and be reminded of the simple pleasures of life, this is the place. At Lucio's you'll enjoy a comforting, yet upscale, dining atmosphere concentrating on seasonal and fresh local ingredients. Our primary focus at Lucio's is to provide quality New American cuisine that delights all of the senses. We feature a selection of prime cut meats, seafood and game, hand-selected daily by our executive chef to ensure excellence. We also offer seasonal daily features and a Chef's tasting menu which features three to five courses and can be tailored to fit the unique tastes of any party. Our versatile, high-end cuisine changes with seasonal menus so you'll be sure to have the freshest, best quality ingredients in our dishes. We look forward to serving you!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
498 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor patio, good GlutenFree choices, good food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We sat outside on a lovely evening and it was nice to have restaurant seating not right on a street. Felt secluded. We had very good service, brought our bottles of wine. I had the salmon appetizer which was wonderful - a bit large for an appetizer, but beautiful smoked salmon, some of which was wrapped around salmon mousse, topped with salmon roe. I gave some to my husband because it was a bit much for me since I had steak. Best dishes were the fish - my husband had gorgeous scallops on a sweet potato puree. We also had desserts which were good, if unexceptional. Service was excellent, and since my husband has celiac disease and has to eat gluten-free, part of the reason we had such knowledgable service was that our waiter's wife has celiac.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cold reds and lettuce stalks”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Moderate prices and mediocre food, unacceptable service, red wine only available chilled,, and lettuce hearts served in salads. Nobody is paying attention.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Strick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
568 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great place for before the show”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were seeing a show at Stages and asked to be served quickly and we were. Melvin took good care of us.

The calamari was awesome. NOT greasy, NOT heavy. Very light and tasty with two different sauces, neither of which was red for a change.

I had the pork and it was very tasty and a large portion. My wife had the duck and it was outstanding.

Too hot to sit outside but there is a very nice area when the weather is agreeable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikel12323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the filet mignon was very good”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My filet mignon was very good. The butternut squash was a little bland and there was very little of it. My friends said their crab cakes were bad & the arugula was also bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I'd give it another go, though”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I wasn't blown out of the water by this place, despite seeing it on "Best Of" for BYOB on Houston Press and recommended by Open Table. But it is nice to go to a BYOB place and not shelve out a bunch of money on booze. Note "Best of" said $5 corking fee, which is now $8 per bottle. I am not a fish eater, but the special (Cod) sounded so good that I decided to order it. Too bad they were out of it by 8pm (not a packed house). The waiter said they would not cook the flank steak to medium well, so I ended up with a pork chop, which WAS tasty. My friend said her scallops were bland. Oh, and service was slow. We were of the very few that sat outside and the waiters had inside tables, but they still didn't make it out often enough. Clean plates were coming out when dirtly dishes still on the table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristaDeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucio’s Byob also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucio’s Byob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing