We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Onion Creek Coffee House
Ranked #20 of 138 Coffee & Tea in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a group of five. Everyone ate something different and we all enjoyed our selections. From fried pickles to outstanding salads, four types of burgers and hot dogs, reuben sandwich, eight types of pizzas to select from, etc. Loved the look of the place as well. Who wouldn't give thumbs up for a John Belushi poster in his Animal House college sweater? Everything is reasonably priced.

Located in the Heights. They have several other restaurants owned by the same group with different menus that should be visited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stopped by the Onion Creek Coffee House for lunch. We both ordered sandwiches which were some of the best ones we have had. My salad was delicious and my ice tea was fresh. It's a nice a cozy restaurant with plenty of room for everyone with the outdoor patio. The service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RQuillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to sit out and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to hang out! We always enjoy going to Onion Creek... the food is always good, the sides are interesting and flavorful, and the beer selection is exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riflemanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Casual Patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our Anniversary weekend at this casual place after finding it by chance after shopping in Houston. We were just looking for a snack, but after seeing what was coming out of the kitchen, we ordered the Italian sasuage, goat cheese pizza and the Sabine salad. Both were actually BETTER than the fancy French food that we had at another restaurant on Sunday.

You order your meal and beverage at the bar. Beer selection is on the chalkboard up to the right of the bar. (Young, darkheaded bartender was our only server, so he got the average rating for service and I rounded up based on the rest of the experience).
Although it was pretty busy, we were able to have enjoyable conversation out on the patio and enjoyed watching the people and cars go by in this lively neighborhood. It isn't fast food, but we received our order before we had finished our beer, so we were pleased.

We were so impressed with Onion Creek, we tried another of the Creek family today. Cedar Creek, just a few minutes away, was bigger and our college age kids would like it as a place to watch football and the Sunday frozen mimosa special was great, but we weren't impressed with the turkey burger that we ordered.

We will definitely visit Onion Creek again and try out some of the other places on White Oak while we are at it. Fun area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ST L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local hangout.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Learned about this local spot with excellent local and regional beers on tap. Great hot dogs, burgers, and fried pickles to name a few food items.......and awesome potato salad! Lots of outdoor seating under the trees, which was very comfortable after a recent cool front. They also have inside air conditioned seating. Definitely a great place just to hang out with friends and drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onion Creek Coffee House also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Onion Creek Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing