We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleased with speed of service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lux Cafe

Grand Lux Cafe
Ranked #68 of 8,114 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleased with speed of service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got to restaurant around 8 pm on a weeknight. It was crowded but no wait in large dining room. Menu same as other Grand Lux in chain. Waitress was very sweet and attentive. Our food came out quickly and was very good. The Asian nachos and beet goat cheese salad were especially nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dusty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    165
    53
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks, and I love their desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My sister go there for "girls' night' when we want a good drink. We have had some entrees, too, and they were all very good. My favorite place to sit is at a table in the bar, but that area is small. My favorite dessert is the chocolate creme broulee. It's a very popular spot and would be a nice place to take a date.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TakingBreaksFromWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After we waited for an hour to be seated, I just knew the food would be fantastic but when I received my shrimp scampi it was just okay. The shrimp was breaded and tasty but based on the Grand Lux in Dallas it seemed this Cafe took a step back. My girlfriend had the Mahi Mahi and she thought it was just ok also. I did order the blueberry dessert that took 30 minutes to bake and was happy about that. It tasted great with the lemon topping.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food and service were great like always. Expect to wait anytime you go there. Normally, its 10 minutes and up. Tons of options to eat. Be sure and order dessert!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Menu is very large, so you can find something to please everyone. I like their pizzas a lot. I enjoy coming to this place very much.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sooner_orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lux Cafe also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grand Lux Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing