We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as Italian gets”

Sud Italia Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Sud Italia Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 8,696 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Houston is known for its diversity, and the benefits that diversity brings to the city's dining opportunities. So I don't say this lightly. Sud Italia will transport you to southern Italy with your first taste.
On a visit to Rice U with my son, we were scrambling to find a nice place to eat and as it was a Saturday night, Sud Italia was booked. We were able to sit at the small bar however, and that turned out to be a gift. Not only did we enjoy fantastic food (rice balls, seafood special, and ossobuco ravioli) and a fresh-off-the-boat wine list, but we were able to interact with an incredibly warm and inviting staff, including the hard working ever-present owner. You will love Sud Italia.

Thank Em1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanon68, Owner at Sud Italia Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

The pleasure was all ours! Thank you so much for stopping by and the kind words. We hope to see the entire family in here soon.
Shanon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

We were a party of 7. Everything from appetizers to salads to the main courses were excellent. Outdoor patio was great. Great place to dine with friends

Thank Bora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanon68, Owner at Sud Italia Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

It was a pleasure having everyone in! Thank you for sharing your dining experience and we hope to see you back very soon,
Shanon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We were out looking for a place to eat before going to our favorite neighborhood Blues club. We liked the looks of this place and boy were we right. The food was EXCELLENT and the atmosphere was wonderful. We had a very romantic dinner. I can't wait to go back. They also have lovely patio seating that I would love to experience. I think I remember that all of the wines on the menu are from Italy and that part may be written in Italian, which presented a little bit of a challenge. But we ended up with a nice wine and lots of room to explore on future visits.

Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanon68, Owner at Sud Italia Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Cheryl,
It was a pleasure having you both in. I am so glad that you enjoyed everything. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Shanon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017

I had the pleasure of dining here with some friends of mine from Italy and we were impressed with the authenticity of the food and the preparation and presentation of the dishes. There were selections from Puglia, Campania, and Sicilia, and the chef and waitstaff (also 'authentic' Italians) discussed the menu options with my friends in Italian. If you want to visit Italy but can't quite make the trip at the moment, then visit Sud Italia in Houston because they brought a piece of Italy here! Buon appetito a tutti!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JC043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanon68, Owner at Sud Italia Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are one of very few authentic Italian restaurants in Houston. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
shanon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

As a chef for 15 yrs I Though there shrimp salad was great or seafood salad. Their watermelons salad was good and their desserts were great too. Almost like Italy.... But a little Americanized....

Thank AUSAGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanon68, Owner at Sud Italia Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

It always makes our day when our guest appreciates what we do. Thank you so much for the kind words and we hope to see you back soon.
Shanon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sud Italia Ristorante also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sud Italia Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing