We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment!!”

Space Center Houston
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.95*
and up
NASA's Space Center Houston and City Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$97.17*
and up
NASA Space Center and Houston Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$115.00*
and up
NASA Space Center and Kemah Boardwalk Tour
Ranked #4 of 300 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Space Center Houston is one of Houston’s top attractions, the Official Visitor Center of NASA Johnson Space Center, Houston’s first and only Smithsonian Affiliate and a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence awardee. The center features more than 400 space artifacts as well as numerous permanent and traveling exhibits, attractions and theaters related to the exciting future and remarkable past of America’s human space-flight program – all for one admission price. The experience is designed to engage adults and children alike. Known around the world as the home of NASA Mission Control, International Space Station Mission Control and astronaut training, guests are taken behind the scenes to see NASA Johnson Space Center. Space Center Houston is open every day except Christmas day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
grand prairie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We paid $46.00 for 2 adult ticktets & entered the main building. It was set up for kids, with a few adult exhibits. Took the open air tram ride, so we could see the "buildings" that did this or that. No going inside. We were allowed in 1 building that wasn't of much importance as I saw piles of old computers...... wires....... & office chairs grouped together, with a few employees working. Back onto the tram to see a rocket outside & a space craft inside a hot warehouse! End of tour, & back to the main entrance that had a multi level playscape(like McDonalds), some hands on computers, rock climbing, 4 virtual reality rides-that cost $4.00 & $6.00 extra per person- some animals, space suits on display, & a few other things to see. HIGHLY OVERPRICED. I would NOT recommend this place at all.........

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,441
    1,901
    875
    239
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Children's playground”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The space center was a bog disappointment to us. It seems to focus only to children. The theater plays for kids or climbing track are not aimed for the adults. Actually the only interesting thing was the tour around the facilities where you could get glimpses of the old space travel and NASA. But it was too short and there could have been much more information and things to see and focus to the future. This is purely focused to the families with smallish kids and adult people with genuine interest to space travel should go somwhere else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old School Space”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Houston Space Center was pretty neat. We went earlier in the day, and got on the very first Tram Ride out. There is 2, one takes you to the Old Mission Control and the other to a NASA training/experimental area. Personally, I would just stick to the Tram that takes you to Classic Mission Control, the other one was somewhat boring and on both of the Trams, you end up at Rocket Park with a Saturn V rocket. Rocket park has the HUGE Saturn V rocket and a display of all the Apollo missions inside which is pretty cool.
Also, do NOT purchase the Audio tour. I do like Audio Tours myself, but save yourself the 5 bucks of getting one (Unless you are a REAL NASA and space person) The astronauts talk about their experiences which was kind of neat but most have quite a monotone voice and the tracks run WAY too long. On a few tracks, I had NO clue what they were talking about (A lot of space station jargon and they would randomly veer off about their missions).
Inside the main building is mainly kid stuff (Angry Birds Space station and some sort of stage for shows during the day) but the Main Gallery with the Moon Rocks and Astronaut equipment is REALLY the heart and soul of this place. If you skip that gallery, you wasted your time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Meandering_Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“should have gotten there earlier”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We got there with only 4 hours to spend so we missed some attractions. The kids loved it, but my son thought we was going to get to try out the equipment at the training facility. It was educational and enjoyable, with lots of interactive activities for the family. The kids loved the angry birds area, and the Chomp exhibit. We were all in awe of the size of the rocket in the hanger, and took about 100 pictures during our visit. Plan on 6 or 7 hours if you like to try out all the attractions. Buying tickets online is cheaper, or look for coupons if you are buying at the site. It was only $3 more to upgrade your ticket to a membership, but we were leaving the next day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Space Center 2013”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived very early, as they open at 9:00 am. It is recommended that you hit the Trans rides first as the line to take rides can be well over 30 minutes( and the majority of the time, you will have to wait outside for the tran rides. Even though we did not have any kids with us, it still took us about 7 hours for look at everything. If you get cold easily, take a light jacket as it is really cold throughout the building and especially in the theaters. Stollers are allowed in the building, but beware, it gets very very crowded. They also have a n assortment of little restuarants in the building with lots of tables and chairs to accommodate everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Center Houston also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Space Center Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing