We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the Business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Ranked #27 of 517 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I checked into this hotel on the Mondat and checked out on the Friday and words could not describe how excellent my stay was. From the Moment I checked in JOE the Front Desk Manager personally checked me in and gave me directions to several locations I would be visiting that week. Breakfast is a resonable price for the quality of the food, served by the excellent Teresa who couldnt do enough for me at breakfast. The evenings were spent in the hotel bar where the bar tender from England makes the best cosmos i've had in all my years of travelling. The happy hour runs from 5-7 and is a must for those wanting to unwind from a hard days work.
Parking is 10.00 a day which isnt too bad when you consider the JW Marriott over the road charges 20.00 a day so I have no compaints on that matter.
Will defintely visit again next month when I come to Houston.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasStantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2009

I recently stayed at this Courtyard for a business trip. The room was bigger than expected with a spacious bathroom. The hotel was clean and appeared to have been built and/or updated in the last few years. Not a lot of frills but the price for the room was right. For a business trip it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyonTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend with my girlfriend who was visiting. We chose it primarily for its location and the price we got (she is a Marriott employee and it was discounted). I didnt expect much from a Courtyard and primarliy just needed a place to lay our heaads. But it wound up that we spent most of our time in the room because it was so comfortable! We got a king room on the 12 floor with a great view. The Bathroom was HUGE with plenty of counterspace and a large tub. The wardrobe gave us plenty of space to keep bags and clothes, and the desk was big enough to set up my laptop to use with the free internet connection. There was even a couch and a coffee table to watch tv or read. The staff was wonderful and always greeted us with a smile, and the hotel is just across the street from the Galleria which was very convenient. My only complaint was the location of the A/C because the air only flowed in one corner and sometimes the bed area would get a little warm. That could also be a result of our particular room layout. Other than that i would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketsfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

This hotel has some negative comments with regards to its “corporate-style” and lack of charm. This is a Marriott, not a boutique hotel, and it’s got a comfortable, bland style that is just pleasant enough, and most importantly, it’s well kept and really clean and comfortable. I wish there were more towels, and hand lotion in the room, but overall, because it’s clean and has a good location, it’s a generally good hotel.
Some other down points: $10 /day for parking: I really hate getting charged for parking. Next, while there’s free wi-fi in the lobby and it’s free, there’s no wi-fi in the rooms. The upside there, is that they provide a cable for you to use for free, which is handy.
Breakfast isn’t included generally, and since I was visiting friends, I didn’t have it there. It’s about $12 and advertised as a buffet with omelet station. I went to local area restaurants for nice breakfasts and brunches that cost less than that, so maybe this is kind of steep. It wasn’t very busy in the dining room when I was there. I did come down and get the free tea, coffee, and newspapers they have in the tiny lobby (limited seating, if you want to surf via wi-fi on the Net).
The room is not really very big, but it’s comfortable enough, and the bathroom’s trimmed in granite. At least everything is well-spaced, the room flows well and it’s easy to get to your stuff in the wardrobe closet and make yourself a cup of coffee in the coffee nook. There’s a handy desk where you can surf the Net with the free cable. The swimming pool’s really small, just one lane for a lap or tow, but there’s a nice hot water spa, and a small gym with a couple of decent machines…. It’s pretty small, though, just a row of a couple of treadmills.
Good, safe, convenient location…. Not a whole lot of places to walk to, but you are really just a minute from the malls and the Galleria, so there are movie theaters, shopping, restaurants, spas, the Upper Kirby area, and places to hang out and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Comfy bed, clean room, good service...but: the room has the aesthetics of a corporate conference room -- lots of dark wood, flourescent lamps, etc. Oh, and Marriott? It's 2009 -- time to have *wireless* internet. Right now, as Mrs. E. sleeps, I'm sitting on a hard, very corporate desk chair to work on my computer; the network cable they supply is not long enough for me to sit on the sofa across the room, much less (if Mrs E were not sleeping) sit in bed and work on the computer, as is my, and her, preference.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essephreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

This is by far the best Courtyard hotel any one can ever choose to stay in. The staff there is unbelievably talented, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I heard, and actually read on here, about people complaining about the price being "too high for a Courtyard". Are you kidding me?? This is not like any other Courtyard you've ever seen first of all. It is nothing like those worn out urban ones you see across the street from a Day's Inn (yuck!). People need to get it together and understand this is the GALLERIA in Houston, and if you want top notch service, you have to pay for it, and guess what? YOU GET IT HERE!! I truly felt like royalty here. The bartender is from England and is very engaging and friendly. When I spoke with the manager to commend him on such a great staff, he gave me a simple smile and promised me every time I come back it will be more enjoyable than the time before. I can't wait to prove him right! Go to the Courtyard Galleria in Houston!! Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigchipwednesdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Nice hotel, but there was a cupboard where you expected a fridge to be...a hotel of this calibre should have a fridge. Room was otherwise clean, spacious had a couch and bed, modern. Not the best of views...directly onto parking. But well placed if you want to go shopping.
I did use the pool but if you have more than 2 people in the pool its so tiny you might as well forget about it. Not really for swimming, but I imagine in summer it must be refreshing to use it to relax.
Breakfast is generally not included in price. You are supposed to pay for parking, but helpful staff offered me this so for me this was an inexpensice trip as I had used marriot points to stay here. Free coffee in the mornings took a while so had to make do with decaf...but it tasted better than other coffees I had tasted so was content. Would stay again if got good deal and room with a fridge.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchconnection01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston by The Galleria

Address: 2900 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Houston
#54 Business Hotel in Houston
#60 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $107 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston by The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! The Courtyard Houston Galleria hotel has completed a full renovation! With stylish rooms and a new onsite Bistro, our hotel is a top choice among Houston Galleria hotels. Just one block from the Galleria Mall, our hotel offers rooms with plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Our King Rooms have pullout sofas and our Suites have convenient microwaves and mini-fridges. Our redesigned lobby is equipped with comfy seating and interactive GoBoard(R) with the latest news, traffic and weather. The highlight of our lobby is the brand-new Bistro where we're serving up healthy breakfast options and Starbucks coffee. Stop by in the evening for our delicious dinner menu and full bar. We're a great choice for meetings with flexible event space, custom catering options and A/V technology. Our outstanding service and new amenities truly set us apart from other Houston Galleria hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Houston by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Galleria
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing