We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to galleria ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Ranked #30 of 517 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff are friendly and attentive, the hotel is close to shopping and restaurants in the area. The downside the hotel is more dated than the newer courtyards I've stayed at in the past but it was clean and comfortable after a long day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank espears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for the review. Thank you also for the nice comments about the front desk staff. They are great. We pride ourselves on being a clean and friendly hotel even though we have not converted to the new bistro yet. Our hotel still does look very new even without the new renovated bistro. We are so happy you stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 470 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's a block away from the Galleria and that's the only thing I like about this hotel.. Self-parking is $16.00. That's very expensive! The room was not very clean. They rooms have refrigerator but no microwave despite the fact that their vending machine little market offers microwaveable selections. There's rows of restaurants close by though. They have an indoor pool that is open 24 hours. The fitness room has one elliptical, one stationary bike, two treadmills, a bench and free weights and that's about it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the microwave. We do have a microwave in our lobby for all of our guests to use. We do charge for parking but every hotel in the area charges for parking and we are priced right in line with the other hotels. We apologize for the inconvenience this brought you during your stay. I am glad to hear the location was perfect for your needs during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The location is Fabulous. 1 block from the Galleria .Terry and the Breakfast Crew could not be more attentive. Many International Guests that were serviced well with bilingual staff. Parking is 16 dollars but you can take your car in and out. Very clean and well laid out room. Great overall Hospitality.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. I can't wait to share your nice comments about the breakfast staff. They are awesome. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine, and Jessica and Matthew at the front desk are wonderful. The other front desk workers appear to prefer chatting amongst themselves to working. The restaurant is only open Monday through Thursday. There is no food service AT ALL Friday through Sunday. There are no microwave ovens in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWorkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for the review of our property. We apologize for the lack of food service on the weekends. We don't have a strong demand for it on the weekends with many of our guests wanting to go out to the local restaurants. We will definitely keep looking into if there is a need for the food service on the weekends. Thank you for the comments regarding the front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Recently I booked and paid for in advance-a 2 night stay at this Marriott Property through Hoteldotcom. I was unable to make it the first night but showed up for the second night only to find my reservation had been cancelled. According to hotel and Marriot customer service, it was policy to charge and cancel my reservation. I fully expected to have to pay for the no show but when I asked for my room (already paid for!) the following night, I was told that I would have to pay $20 more than I originally paid for the same room. If the room was available, my original cost should have been honored. I have been a Rewards member for many years and have stayed in countless hotels during that time. Losing a long term customer for the opportunity to screw me out of $20 bucks is foolish!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

I'm really sorry to hear that you were unble to make the trip to Houston on your originally booked nights. Unfortunately when booking through a third party, you sometimes need to pay in advance. This payment is often very low but unfortunately non-refundable. When you did not show up to the hotel to check into your reservation, it was then cancelled. Because you did not book the reservation through us or pay us for your room, we were unable to refund your money. The hotel did not benefit from this in anyway as you did not pay us for your room. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel that we were taking advantage of you as that was never our intention. You should be able to speak to the company you booked it through to get a refund for the second night if you also paid us. We will be happy to assist in anyway we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Close to everything, restaurants, shopping centers, bars, nail salon, hair salons, massage spas. Everything. Great price for the location!! The front desk staff is very attentive, and fixed our toilet issue quickly! Would stay at this hotel again if I come back to houston. Only in town for the pats game!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, value, and found our staff to be so great! I hope that pats game will bring you back to Houston because we would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I realize you could say that about all Courtyards. But this is not a small property, and the gym is way too small relative to the size of the number of bedrooms. Some more room definitely needs to be created for that.

As far as the Bistro, well, it will arrive there eventually. Not everybody can be first with that!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayKay6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with our gym. I'm really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy it. I would agree with you that with two treadmills, an elliptical, bike, free weights and bench we do have a small gym. We are going to cut into our offices so that we can expand our gym area when we are renovated. Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Sheraton Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston by The Galleria

Address: 2900 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Houston
#54 Business Hotel in Houston
#60 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $111 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston by The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! The Courtyard Houston Galleria hotel has completed a full renovation! With stylish rooms and a new onsite Bistro, our hotel is a top choice among Houston Galleria hotels. Just one block from the Galleria Mall, our hotel offers rooms with plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Our King Rooms have pullout sofas and our Suites have convenient microwaves and mini-fridges. Our redesigned lobby is equipped with comfy seating and interactive GoBoard(R) with the latest news, traffic and weather. The highlight of our lobby is the brand-new Bistro where we're serving up healthy breakfast options and Starbucks coffee. Stop by in the evening for our delicious dinner menu and full bar. We're a great choice for meetings with flexible event space, custom catering options and A/V technology. Our outstanding service and new amenities truly set us apart from other Houston Galleria hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Houston by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Galleria
Houston Courtyard
Houston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing