We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Ranked #29 of 518 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ever feel like you have been taken for a ride. Three hundred dollars for this room Hotel is in walking distance of Galleria shopping which is fine rooms are clean but no room safe and the hotel itself badly needs updating. Full of sales people who look as tired as the hotel Will not be returning
Staff pleasant and well trained.
Overall not impressed should be half this price.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your negative experience at our property. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always try to ensure that each guest experience a personal and relaxing experience. We will look at in room safes for future renovations so that we are able to accomodate, if you do travel back please keep in mind we do have safety deposit boxes available at FD. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 427 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here in early May 2013 for 3 nights (Thurs - Sunday) and were very happy with the accommodations. Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Very comfortable bed and nice linens. Regular hotel room size bathroom with a good shower and upscale bath & body products. It must have high quality sound proofing as we never heard neighbors or overhead noise. It is very convenient to the Galleria area and in fact, is within walking distance to the Galleria Mall. Great staff offered directions when we looked perplexed as we were leaving the lobby area. Also has a small but nice quiet bar for a quick nightcap. Full service restaurant with good breakfasts offered as well. Parking is additional but very competitive for the area. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on a higher floor so you hear little if any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redtechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for the detail in your recent visit. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, prime location on weekends is always a plus. We hope to see you again on your future visits,
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott - Galleria is a great location for shopping and is convenient to other hotels restaurants and sights. We were near Texas Southern University too, which we needed. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating to my family. This is a great shopping and eating area! Due to a discrepancy with Hotel.Com booking, the Courtyard made our stay better by providing a Parking pass and some Complimentary breakfasts at the hotel. Well, we did save with the parking fee and breakfast, but of course, there are big garage fees now at hotels especially in Cities downtown areas. The hotels are hardly providing free parking spaces, I don't understand that!! The garages are taking over everywhere with their parking fees and the hotels get their share too. The parking rates are outrageous especially when you are staying at the hotel and have to pay to park and stay. Furthermore, you would rather look for a hotel with their own free parking garage!! More so, we had a great time in Houston and I would stay at the Courtyard Marriott-Galleria again!!

Room Tip: I think it is best to call the hotel Reservation Representative to inquire of room tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to compile a review. We appreciate the feedback good or bad and are glad to hear we will see you in the future. Wish you an amzing remainder of the year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a nice room. it was a pleasant stay on business. what made it special however, was that I was informed by a member of staff at check in, that with a silver elite Marriott card, I was entitled to free breakfast. I have never had that before in a Marriott with this card. What a nice touch and greatly appreciated. When I had breakfast, the staff there could not have been more attentive and friendly. Well done you. I think you should send your staff to some other USA Marriotts. Many could certainly do with an injection of Houstons friendly staff members attitude and the great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you s much for the feedback. We do appreciate our Elite members and are glad to hear your experience was service orientated. We look forward to your return!

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Basic rooms, staff over friendly it was like they were a robot, you walked in and out a minute apart they say hi but you can see there is no meaning. Galleria shopping centre around the Corner was disappointed just a shopping centre nothing special. The way is advertised is overstated

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Good afternoon, thank you so much for proviing the feedback, I am so sorry you felt like the service wasnt genuine. We thrive on feedback and making that personal connection and will learn form this experience. If I can be of further assistance please dont hesitate to reach out,

Sincerely,

Brian Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was very impressed with both the cleanliness of the hotel and how friendly and welcoming the staff was. I had a King size bed and it was extremely comfortable. The hotel is very convenient to the Galleria and lots of shops and restaurants. The only negative was the $16/day parking fee. I would have preferred this be included in the nightly rate, even if it were a bit higher. I feel it would come across as a better customer service move rather than me feeling like the room rate was a little misleading.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PT137341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide valuable information about your experience. We will look at those types of packages with parking for future visits. Hope you hae an amazing year and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night and was happy with location, general cleanliness and friendliness of the front desk staff. However I paid almost $290 including taxes for a barely 4 star hotel.

Swimming pool is merely a plunge pool! and gym is very small. Rooms are small but functional and provide room for work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dabbagmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words on the cleanliness and friendliness of the team! We are always looking to improve and your input on both the pool and excercise room are a great start. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston by The Galleria

Address: 2900 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Houston
#51 Best Value Hotel in Houston
#54 Business Hotel in Houston
#73 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $92 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston by The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! The Courtyard Houston Galleria hotel has completed a full renovation! With stylish rooms and a new onsite Bistro, our hotel is a top choice among Houston Galleria hotels. Just one block from the Galleria Mall, our hotel offers rooms with plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Our King Rooms have pullout sofas and our Suites have convenient microwaves and mini-fridges. Our redesigned lobby is equipped with comfy seating and interactive GoBoard(R) with the latest news, traffic and weather. The highlight of our lobby is the brand-new Bistro where we're serving up healthy breakfast options and Starbucks coffee. Stop by in the evening for our delicious dinner menu and full bar. We're a great choice for meetings with flexible event space, custom catering options and A/V technology. Our outstanding service and new amenities truly set us apart from other Houston Galleria hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Houston by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Galleria
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing