We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Houston by The Galleria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Ranked #128 of 500 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night for a quick birthday getaway. Our room was very clean and roomy. The staff was very inviting and all had smiles on their faces. Great location to activities in and around the Houston area. breakfast buffet the next morning was great. The only negative for us was the price of the in room new release movies...16.99 a movie. Not complaining, just stating the fact because we got a movie anyway which was charged to our room. Other than that this in my opinion is very nice place to stay for the value......Daron


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive review! We value your feedback! I'm so pleased to hear that you found us to be clean and friendly! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    126
    44
    13
    7
See reviews for
62
43
39
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days on a recent trip to Houston. It is close to the Galleria, just a short walk away. There are a few restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff were very friendly and efficient and were only to happy to call a taxi or give directions.

The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean. We had a view on the 14th floor but really - there's not much to see.

The bed was way too soft for me, not supportive at all. For those in need of good support best check their options before booking. I had to sleep without a pillow to provide my back enough support.

A few times during our stay the bathroom products were not replenished which made things a little difficult since I depended on them on a daily basis. After eventually querying this there was no further problem.

Breakfast is ample with many choices: a wonderful array of fresh fruit to cereals, ready to serve hot food and an egg/waffle station. The coffee could be much better; now I realise for Americans it was probably just fine but visitors from anywhere else in the world wouldn't think so. I could not get to the Galleria soon enough to visit the Nordstrom cafe right outside on the lowest level!

Parking was easy albeit with a fee which was more than I expected.

The gym is very small, a little too small for this size of hotel. On a few mornings before 6 am there was no running machine available. There are only 3. On a couple of occasions I had to miss out as on repeated checks there was still no availability. There is no space to wait without seeming rude.

All in all this is a good place to stay and I can recommend it. I'm not sure I would stay there again given the unsupportive bed and small gym.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juzjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value your opinion! I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and our hotel clean. I'm sorry to hear that you had a few issues. The bed is usually the area you spend the most time in while on a trip, so we do have new mattresses and various support options. For your future reference as well, we do work with area gyms that are larger than ours. Please consider us for your future trips to Houston as we would be happy to ensure you get better back support during your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

AI traveled here multiple times this year and as expected, this is was a standard Courtyard experience. Hotel layout was similar to the layout of other Courtyard's across the US. Staff was friendly, good coffee and tasty restaurants within walking distance. Downfalls: ~$15 parking per day, small gym, no in-room safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWGators22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please let us know if you have feedback on how we can rise above a standard experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

my husband and i really enjoyed staying at the courtyard for the weekend. room was very clean, nice and good sized, and had a great view of the galleria and surrounding area. the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

they have their own parking deck that's fairly nice, but really tight! big vehicles had a hard

the only downside is that the property could really use an update in the lobby and guest bathrooms. the bedrooms seem to be up to date, but the bathrooms really need it. despite this everything is extremely clean and well kept. we really enjoyed our stay, but think its geared more for families or business during the week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troymoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it and found our hotel to be clean. As we've just reached our 5 year anniversary, we have plans for a complete renovation in 2014! Thank again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugon-les-Lacs, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was clean, generously sized and the beds comfortable. The layout around the reception, bar and restaurant area was open and great for checking when friends might arrive to meet you. The business centre was fully automated and available 24/7, which was great. My only complaint about the business centre was that the computers were incredibly slow. However, they did work and they didn't crash, which is a lot more than can be said for most hotel business centers. The room, although well appointed, was a bit odd in that there was no mini-bar. I had put a credit card down, so I was a bit surprised at this - though not upset because it meant there were no chocoloate bars or cola to tempt me in the middle of the night. The choice of films was pretty good; I finally got to watch James Bond Skyfall in English. The hotel proved convenient, not just for downtown Houston, but also for the 'Energy Corridor', were I was holding meetings, and for a quick trip out of Houston to San Antonio, the Alamo, New Brunfells, and Gruene, Texas. The staff at the hotel were very polite, though not over polite as is sometimes the case in the US (okay, so I am a grumpy Scots Irishman). The buffet, though slightly smaller than I might have expected for this hotel, was nevertheless very good. One small complaint about the breakfast is that the poor 'egg maker' was overwhelmed and there was way too big a cue of people waiting for fried eggs. However, the coffee was served quickly and there were plenty of scrambled eggs available if you didn't want to wait for the eggs. I thought the spa was a bit on the bleak side, though not badly equiped. There was no Sauna, which is probably common for US hotels, but as a European I really need a Sauna after working out and before dipping in the pool, particularly an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Houston by the Galleria during your recent trip to the US. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff accommodating. I'm sorry to hear that you found our business center computers slow and that the line for our chef was too long. We do take each of our guests comments very seriously and will be updating our computers this year! We also have scheduled a second chef during busier times. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great service.Courteous and friendly staff were attentive and responsive. Rooms were great, clean and quiet. On site amenities were nice and well staffed. Restaurant downstairs has great burgers, quesadillas and good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chunnicutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here with a cheerleading group. Convenient location with access to the Galleria and many eating places. I had a suite and it was comfortable. They served our group a breakfast in a room for our group that was nice since we had a bunch of cheerleaders.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjkaye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharagerber, Manager at Courtyard Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! It was such a pleasure hosting your group again this year! I'm so pelased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
Homewood Suites Houston near the Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston by The Galleria

Property: Courtyard Houston by The Galleria
Address: 2900 Sage Rd, Houston, TX 77056-6007
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Houston
#54 Business Hotel in Houston
#73 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston by The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! The Courtyard Houston Galleria hotel has completed a full renovation! With stylish rooms and a new onsite Bistro, our hotel is a top choice among Houston Galleria hotels. Just one block from the Galleria Mall, our hotel offers rooms with plush Marriott bedding, free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Our King Rooms have pullout sofas and our Suites have convenient microwaves and mini-fridges. Our redesigned lobby is equipped with comfy seating and interactive GoBoard(R) with the latest news, traffic and weather. The highlight of our lobby is the brand-new Bistro where we're serving up healthy breakfast options and Starbucks coffee. Stop by in the evening for our delicious dinner menu and full bar. We're a great choice for meetings with flexible event space, custom catering options and A/V technology. Our outstanding service and new amenities truly set us apart from other Houston Galleria hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Houston by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Galleria
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing