We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my lofty expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel ZaZa Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Houston
Ranked #5 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded my lofty expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Finally got a chance to return to Hotel ZaZa and it may actually be better than last time. The level of service is still exceptional.
Even on a June weekend with big weddings at the hotel, the staff was attentive to our every need and even anticipated some.
The Fantastico suite lives up to its name in delivering spacious, delightful and indulgent living. The suite is large enough to live in but warm and inviting for a romantic stay.
Food is again delicious to the point of being sinful.
We cannot wait to return and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Our favorite is a NASA themed suite named Houston we have a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tf403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
tf403!

Thank you for the awesome review! I am so happy to read that you had an amazing time at Hotel ZaZa! The various Concept & Fantastico Suites are definitely worth reserving! The Monarch is always whipping up a delish dish or cocktail; I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal at the restaurant.

Please touch base when your travels return you to H-town, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    325
    97
    62
    34
See reviews for
230
547
97
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked a romantic birthday celebration at Hotel ZaZa in Houston and it was AWESOME. The staff was suburb !!! I explained that this was for my husband and I wanted to make it extra special and everyone went out of their way !! Mary at the front desk was GREAT letting me into the room early to decorate and Gideon our server at the Monarch restaurant was so WONDERFUL !! She had took my table decorations and had everything ready when we came down to dinner. It was the best dinner and finest service I have ever had. Thank you ZaZa.

Room Tip: see about upgrades, they are very willing to accommodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellye1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Kellye1963!

Thank you for the fantastic feedback! I am pleased to read that you had a delightful birthday celebration at Hotel ZaZa recently! I will definitely commend Mary & Gideon for providing superb service to you during your stay at the hotel.

Dive back into the world of ZaZa soon for another eclectic getaway! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We rented four rooms at ZaZa. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious with ample electric outlets. The bathroom was well designed: large walk-in shower. The beds were very comfortable. The balcony was very nice, though the view of building tops was less than spectacular -- that's Houston. The food in the restaurant was the best I've had in a hotel, though the selection is not huge. The spa is a luxurious experience with masseuse and sauna. The pool is nice. There's a pool bar. The pool water was way too cold in June. The best thing about Zaza is the location. Within walking distance are Miller Outdoor Theater, the Houston Zoo, Rice University, the Houston Museum of Natural Science, The Health Museum, the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, the Contemporary Arts Museum of Houston, the Holocaust Museum Houston, the Children's Museum of Houston, Houston Japanese Garden...and a lot more. The street car which passes next to Zaza will take you into downtown. If you need a car, Zaza will provide a hotel owned bus or cab. It's 15 minutes to Minute-maid Park. Finally, there were no bedbugs in our rooms. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o517375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
o517375!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am happy you find Hotel ZaZa to be the "perfect hotel" in Houston! ZaZa is happy to transport guests complimentarily within a five-mile radius of the hotel by way of the Magic Carpet Ride shuttle service. In regards to ZaSpa, I am pleased to read that you had a luxurious experience during your visit!

In regards to location, Hotel ZaZa is situated in the beautiful Houston Museum District! The area is definitely worth exploring while in Houston!

All in all, thank you again for the great review, o517375! Please touch base when you would like to dive back into the world of ZaZa, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great staff! Awesome boutique hotel with personality. I booked a room for my Mom since she was having surgery in the med center and they made her feel special and went over and above to make her stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Anthony!

Thank you for the great feedback! I am happy to read that your mom had a comfortable stay at Hotel ZaZa. Guest satisfaction is key at the Z.

Please touch base when you would like to z-scape back to ZaZa, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed one night before a work interview. The hotel has a very modern, eclectic decoration, with art that some people might not be a fan of. My room was well appointed, quiet, spacious with a nice and big balcony overlooking the museum area.
No complaints about concierge service, attentive, always there to answer questions, and the shuttle service to the medical centers you can rely upon.
Again as other reviewers have noted, most of the museums, Hermann Park with the zoo, golf course and science museum, Rice, and the medical center all are adjacent to Hotel Zaza. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in a "different" hotel with all the amenities of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
jmjvega!

Thank you for the great review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit at Hotel ZaZa last year! The complimentary Magic Carpet Ride shuttle service is an excellent transporation option; I am glad you found it reliable during your stay at the hotel!

Please touch base when your travels return you to H-town, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Last month i went to the Hotel to the Latino Learning Center Event, that was my first time on Zaza and i was very impressed with the Valet Parking service. The valet parking guys were very kind to us, there was one named William who opened us the door and help us to go out from the car. I personally rate this service as 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Marcela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Sandra Marcela R!

Thank you for the great feedback! I am pleased to read that you received five-star service from the valet team during your visit at Hotel ZaZa! I will make sure William is commended for a job well done!

Please touch base when you would like to z-scape back to ZaZa, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a school reunion and were pleasantly surprised how much we liked the hotel. Many of the events were in the hotel, with frequent shuttles back and forth to the Texas Medical Center near-by for many events there also. This is a beautiful hotel with a young, fresh atmosphere. Staff were very attentive, and very helpful getting us to our off-site dinner when our van was missed. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Kay from Scottsdale!

Thank you for the awesome feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the ZaZa! Events at the Z are always a treat to experience. Whenever your plans return you to Houston, please touch base! I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZaZa Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Houston

Property: Hotel ZaZa Houston
Address: 5701 Main St, Houston, TX 77005-1824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel including Monarch Bistro, pool, fitness center, and ZaSpa with a pet-friendly policy located in Museum District Houston. Known for sophisticated service and modern interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing