We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sweet stay in Houston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ZaZa Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Houston
Ranked #5 of 499 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sweet stay in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

This is my first time as a guest of Hotel ZaZa. The staff is friendly and professional at this pleasant boutique hotel near Rice University. The design is very progressive and extremely interesting. Pop art and fashion design are at home here. The property is definitely a sweet stay with fun space, ample room amenities and talented staff. Add it to you priority list of places to spend the night and enjoy a fun sleep-over.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dwgcontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for the excellent feedback! I am happy to read that your first ZaZa stay was a pleasant experience! With summer around the corner, ZaZa Houston has a lot of coolio experiences to offer! Take a dip in the ZaZa pool, indulge at ZaSpa, or dine in the fabulous Monarch Restaurant; whatever "sweet" escape you desire...stay ZaZa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    307
    89
    61
    33
See reviews for
214
507
90
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Ultra-hip, ultra-cool. And full of I hate to say it, jerks. Think spring break in Vegas and you'll have a good idea.

Great location!! Seemed like hotel catered to club crowd. Bed was super comfy, check in was a breeze! Nice and quiet, great pool!! Room was very clean and included a turn-down service. Parking is valet only and pricey!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eeg1977ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
ULTRA-AWESOME! I am glad you enjoyed the comforts of the hotel! Please let me know when your travels return you to Dallas, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were booked in to the Zaza prior to a wedding.
The location,room and general ambience were excellent and the staff were well trained and friendly.
Our room was on the 5th. floor and the view from the balcony was great.
We had one dinner and two breakfasts in the dining room. The breakfasts were very good but dinner was a little disappointing in that the service was slow and the main course was cold.
The wine however was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for the candid feedback! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your room and the view! I do apologize for the less than satisfactory service you received at dinner; that is definitely not the ZaZa standard! Please contact me regarding your experience at the hotel, as I would like to receive more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Goth decor, lush window coverings, wan fashion models: this is a trendy spot, the sort of hotel where the vampires in "True Blood" might stay. It is a nice alternative to the corporate hallways replicated in every Sheraton, Hilton, etc.

I was impressed with the service. I forgot my Ipad charger and the staff went of its way to get me one. And if they didn't find one, they were ready to shuttle me to an electronics store.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic feedback! I am happy to read that you found ZaZa Houston to be a "refreshing alternative" with superb service. Love it! Please let me know when your travels return you to H-town, as I would love to create another signature ZaZa experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous stay at the ZaZa. Great funky hotel in good location. Lovely pool area with cool vibe at the weekends. We booked a standard room, which wasn't huge but was certainly well decorated and very comfortable. Excellent staff, special thanks to Spencer for taking care of us. This is what a hotel should be!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeyL0ND0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Fabulous stay! Love it! The pool area is definitely a fantastic spot for unwinding or having a blast. I will make sure Spencer of the Monarch Restaurant is commended for his stellar service to you during your stay at ZaZa Houston! Please let me know when your travels return you to good ol' H-town in the US of A, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Loved it. Completely wonderful from beginning to end. Loved every minute of the experience.

Room Tip: Get a balcony suite. The views are AMAZING!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnichols27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Houston, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
WOW! I am happy to read that your ZaZa experience was wonderful from start to completion, and that you enjoyed every minute of your stay! The balcony suites are definitely one of the many gems of ZaZa Houston. Please let me know when your travels return you to Houston, as i would love to create another signature ZaZa experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a stay at Hotel ZaZa Houston, where we were attending an event at Rice University. As it turned out, ZaZa was perfectly located for us, being less than a mile from the university. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood (known as the Museum District) and the Museum of Fine Arts is right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel is stylishly decorated and very nicely appointed. Our room (balcony double) was large and well maintained. There is a beautiful pool area on the second floor which has cabanas, bar and food service, and ample seating areas for relaxing and socializing aside from the standard pool loungers. The spa is also located on this floor of the Hotel, but I cannot comment on the services there as I could not get an available appointment that fit into our schedule.

The food at the Monarch (the hotel restaurant) was very good, however our waiter at dinner was the only hotel employee we came across with a sub-par, dismissive attitude. We ordered room service breakfast twice. The first time the meal was made and delivered perfectly to our specifications. The second breakfast was not up to par, but every reasonable effort was made to correct the issues promptly. When I brought the errors to the attention of management we were issued a credit for the meal without hesitation.

Aside from the aforementioned surly waiter, all ZaZa staff members were extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Main Street side of the hotel can get a bit noisy if there is an event going on at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 499 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZaZa Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Houston

Property: Hotel ZaZa Houston
Address: 5701 Main St, Houston, TX 77005-1824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 499 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel including Monarch Bistro, pool, fitness center, and ZaSpa with a pet-friendly policy located in Museum District Houston. Known for sophisticated service and modern interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing